Kevin Lawrence Dixler’s Reviews

Kevin Lawrence Dixler

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Resolute

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Immigration laws are really tricky and almost impossible to understand them all, even if you try to self educate yourself in this field, we, as potential permanent or temporary Immigrant, don't have the required experience.
    Thinking that I could overcome immigration issues myself took way far away from what I was intending and made my case over complicated, which put my family and I in a very uncomfortable position.
    Mr. Dixler accepted to take my case about two years ago.
    When he was fully aware of the case, he made it clear to me that it would be complicated, which was proven right.
    I had all the issues an immigrant can face, plus I was abroad and trying to get back here and lead my life with my wife decently , but the Immigration and their officials didn't have the same plan for me nor my family.
    Mr. Dixler fought each time and always found a way to defend me and counter attack, it took very long and it's still taking time, as I'm writing this, but during this period of time he proved some qualities that I really appreciate, such as determination, patience and composure.
    He is in fact knowledgeable of the law, he is part of a famous immigration association and also has a rich blog on the web, which I found myself.
    There was a little latency when he first took my case but his response got much quicker as he got more familiar with my case .
    In my case he needed to be paid in advance before starting a new application, which is understandable, the advantage is that he accepts many ways of payments, which made it easier from a foreign country.
    He kept me informed of the progress of my case instantly as he was updated, which is really good because he understands our frustration and impatience at times.
    I went for an overall rating of excellent because he deserves it at the end, I would recommend him to any person seeking immigration to the US or to stay legally in the US.
    I also recommend strongly as my experience permit to take a lawyer at the first second guessing because the consequences of no action can be life devastating and I know what I am talking about.
    Do Not Hesitate to hire an immigration attorney, that would be my advice and Mr. Dixler would be an excellent choice.

  2. Solved my case when many could'nt

    Posted by Hector, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came across Mr. Dixler’s practice about 8 months ago. After actively seeking immigration representation for the last 10 years only finding scammer lawyers and false promises, I had become cynical about the whole system. After putting up with my last lawyer who I can summarize as unenergetic and ineffective, he usually had 10 minutes to discuss my case and after that would become irritable and his hints to get me to leave his office would begin. A friend urged me to look elsewhere and after a practical emotional breakdown, I decided I had to seek answers from another source.
    Mr. Dixler eats breathes and sleeps immigration law. This is not just a job for him.He has contacts. He reads articles. Goes to immigration conferences. IN 30 MINUTES HE FOUND AN IMPORTANT DOCUMENT MY PREVIOUS LAWYER FAILED FIND IN 5 MONTHS!!! After that moment I knew Mr. Dixler was the real deal. He is not afraid to spend 3 hours looking at every possible road. His first consultation is not free but be aware from experience that bargain first consultation lawyers produce BARGAIN results! In the end I can say his fees were very reasonable.
    I encourage you to invest in this important matter with him. I tell you this. I contacted about 10 lawyers on a Saturday through email. Mr. Dixler was the first to get back to me on a Sunday. Very dedicated and responsive. If it was not for him I would still be undocumented. In 6 months I received my work permit. In less than a year I am a PERMANENT RESIDENT. He changed my life and I cannot thank him and his assistant enough. Thanks to you too Gazella!! This positive review is the least I can do.
    I learned this the hard way with my previous lawyers ; A Bar Diploma on the wall does not equal competence. If you are currently questioning your current legal representation, please Call Kevin!

  3. Helped us quickly & efficiently!

    Posted by Liz, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After 3 years of wrangling with Immigration issues, we contacted Mr. Dixler to assist us in obtaining my husband's visa. I was heavily pregnant at the time, and we were extremely worried that my husband was about to be deported due to his visa being denied. He was told he would have to leave the USA within 90 days or risk permanent deportation.

    Mr. Dixler was able to delay that decision, and then sent in an entirely new application on our behalf. He and his paralegal were efficient and knowledgeable, and were able to give us a very concise list of documents we would require. What took me 3 years of hard work took them less than 6 months from beginning to end! I wish we had met Mr. Dixler years ago, it would have saved us a LOT of time, money, and stress!! We received our interview with the USCIS only 4 months after meeting Kevin, and the final decision to give my husband a permanent resident visa was made 6 weeks later.

    We cannot express enough how grateful we are to have met Mr. Dixler, and we would highly recommend him to anyone with Immigration worries. He really knows his stuff, and could quote you specific laws and cases regarding immigration. Although he occasionally talked a lot, it didn't bother us because we knew he was working his hardest to get our visa. If you need to cut through all the legal red-tape involved in obtaining a visa, you can't go wrong with Kevin Dixler.

  4. VERY GREAT LAWYER!

    Posted by David, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kevin helped us with a case where they said that our daughter was too old at the time of her adjustment of status(referred to as aged-out) and that she would have to return to her country. After speaking with Kevin Dixler we decided to hire him to take the case on. Kevin immediately dove in with both feet! He found several other similar cases with one in particular being fairly recent. He showed us that the term aged-out should only be considered and used against the time that our daughter entered the country and not at the time of her actual interview. With all of the work and proof that Kevin supplied our daughter was granted her permanent residence. It is boldness along with true hard work that all of this is possible and it really sets the standard for others going through similar situations. We are eternally greatful!

  5. Respectful and Knowledgeable Attorney. One of the best Attorney's in Chicago.

    Posted by Franklin F. Sanchez, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Dixler is an outstanding immigration lawyer. I would recommend him to anyone. My case was very complex, and we had a lot at stake. We followed Mr. Dixler's advice and guidance, and now I am a proud citizen of this nation.

    USCIS made several mistakes while processing my “Removal of Conditional Status Application", form I-751. Unfortunately, these issues did not surface until I applied for naturalization, form N-400, several years later. Due to their lack of understanding of the immigration law and inefficiency, I was wrongly accused of misrepresentation. Consequently, USCIS challenged my previously approved permanent resident status indicating that it "must be terminated".

    Following Mr. Dixler's lead, we sued USCIS and were looking forward to bringing up the case to the Federal Courts. We wanted to create a precedent. However, after receiving the lawsuit, USCIS decided to reopen my naturalization case, and within a few weeks approved my naturalization application. Unfortunately, we were not able to set a precedent since USCIS settled after being presented with the case. Our case did not reach the courts.

    Mr. Dixler is a brilliant attorney with an outstanding understanding of the immigration law. He is diligent, promptly returns phone calls, and provides regular updates.

    My wife and I can’t thank you enough, Mr. Dixler.

  6. Great Immigration Lawyer

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Kevin to file the I-130 and I-485 for my fiance. Both Kevin and his legal assistant were very informative and helpful from the beginning of the process, when we prepared to file the documents, up until my wife was approved. Any questions or concerns were explained in a way we both could understand. Kevin was recommended to me from a friend who used him several years ago. I am writing this review today to recommend Kevin to anyone who is thinking of hiring a Immigration Lawyer.

  7. Profesional, Knowledgeable, Caring, Respected by his colleagues.

    Posted by V & M, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Highly recomended, very skillful, we had an extreme and complicated case but yet with his help today we are U.S. cityzens. I admired his knowledge, boldness, passion and tenacity.Very grateful. ,THANK YOU Mr Dixler!!!!!!!

  8. Exceptional lawyer

    Posted by Natalia B., a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found about Mr. Dixler in 2009, when our application was denied by USCIS and the date of Court for the removal procedings was set.
    While I was navigating the internet, trying to find a professional lawyer I was astonished by lots of positive reviews and by his impressive experience ( 15 years old practice in immigration).
    When we choose ,our attorney, we made appointments with 3 different lawyers. Two of them assured us that we will winn our case if we will hire them. Mr. Dixler instead, was honest with us and explained us our situation, the pluses and the minuses. His fee was a little bit more expensive than others, but it definetly worth it. Thanks to Mr. Dixler, a few days ago we won our case at the Immigration Court..
    I highly recomend Mr.Dixler due to his Professionalism, Knowledge, Helpfullness and Sklilfulnes.
    Thank you Mr. Dixler and Gazala Momin.

  9. Happy with our results

    Posted by Robert, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Dixler and staff are caring, competent,and thorough from start to finish. During the initial consultation steps and proceedures were effectively explained. From there office staff directed us on a daily basis by phone and E-mail to help us gather what was needed.

    Mr. Dixler demonstrated knowledgeable skills in getting us thru the process with excellent results. In our situation we lived in a third world country where getting things done is time consuming and somewhat difficult. We waited for many months, but all along the way office staff and Mr. Dixler gave us good communication. As we drew near to our final visit to the embassy Mr Dixler was on the phone walking us thru steps and preparing us for sucess. I have recommended Mr. Dixler to 2 of my friends who require his service and they also have made positive remarks to me regarding their progress.

  10. Avoid him....

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Dixler.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Charged a big fee for consultation. Kept on bragging about his contacts and how he can speed up the process. Explained things and laws which were not even related to my immigration case. Talks too much and says things which are irrelevant, just to kill time.

    Services are expensive and the impression I got was that he was totally greedy and concerned about money. He kept on talking about the possible contract if I hired his services and how it would be configured again if a particular amount was reached.

    There are other immigration attorney's who don't charge anything for consultation, have more affordable fees and are straight forward and won't waste your time or their's.

    I made a mistake and consulted him, after that I didn't make a blunder of hiring his services.

    1. Kevin Lawrence Dixler

      Kevin Dixler

      Lawyer Comment:

      I regret this person's perception. Our $150 appointment fee seems reasonable for the time and effort. It is applied to the fee that we charge. I have always believed our fee structure to be reasonable. I have practiced immigration law for eighteen years, so I appreciate what can happen. The USCIS and it's officials make the decisions. Attorneys present the applicant in the most favorable way possible based on the law.

      We provide advice, make recommendations, and take the time to discuss how the process works at appointments. I regret this perception, I hope that others with more experience perceive my time and efforts more favorably.

      Posted over 3 years ago. Flag