Robert James Callahan’s Reviews

Robert James Callahan

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. the best lawyer ever!

    Posted by cynthia, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired robert callahan to handle my case 7/9/14. I went to court for a speeding ticket i was driving 27 over the limit. My case was a misdemeanor and i was looking at over a thousand dollars in fines and possibly 6 months of jail time. But thanks to robert all i have now very small fine i have to pay in a month.. he was very helpful he told the judge my situation and he got the judge to reduce my fine. He is good at what he does i recommend him to anyone looking for a good lawyer. He was the best.

  2. Defending Me On Class X Drug Case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I have used Robert Callahan for a legal situation that kind of brought my world crashing down around me. While it is still going to trial, I am sure I am in capable hands with Bob, and I would trust no other attorney with my life. I have referred countless others to him with invariably amazing results over the years. I consider him a friend and a real man of Chicago. If you have a serious case and you can afford his services (if you can't get a loan) he will take care of you.

  3. Excellent representation, competent and confident.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a fairly serious legal issue but was fortunate to be put in touch
    with Mr. Callahan. He is highly skilled, extremely competent and very
    attentive. I am what you would consider a high maintenance client who
    needed to be intimately involved in my case. Mr. Callahan always
    returned my calls, was proactive and committed to helping in win my
    case. He exudes extreme confidence and was always willing to go the
    extra mile. He even visited me in jail late at night, how many other
    attorneys would do that. Never underestimate the power of a good
    attorney. The state knows who the good attorneys are and they are far
    less likely to pursue a marginal case if they know who they are up
    against. For me, my felony case was dropped, I considered it a miracle.
    Don't risk your future, go with the best you will be happy you did.

  4. Best Chicago Criminal Defense Attorney Around

    Posted by John, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had some experience with criminal defense attorneys in the past and I wish that I had found Attorney Callahan sooner. Me and my roommate spend the day drinking and watching football. We decided to go out and my roommate drove. We got pulled over, the cops arrested my roommate and searched me, there were enough drugs in the car that I was arrested and charged with a class x felony. I was looking for criminal defense attorneys in Chicago and I found Mr. Callahan online. I got in touch with him really quickly. I told him what happened and it seemed like Mr. Callahan started to handle it while we were still on the phone. He explained what could happen to me because of these charges but I felt like he was on top of it. I think all of his experience as an attorney working criminal defense in Chicago helped settle my nerves. I mean, he and his staff had answers to pretty much all of my questions. My case went to trial but Mr. Callahan really showed up and performed. I was found not guilty! I know it wasn't magic, he was just good. I needed serious help and this guy did it.

  5. Great Experience

    Posted by Ashley B., a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have nothing but great things to say about Robert Callahan and his defense law firm. This is the best experience I have ever had with any
    defense attorney, he was very professional and knows everything about this business. If you're thinking about using him, please don't hesitate to
    call because you won't regret it.

  6. Callahan is one of the best Criminal Defense Attorneys in Chicago!

    Posted by Gwen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Well respected, hardworking and honest are a few of the words I would use to describe Robert Callahan. He is a criminal defense attorney in Chicago that actually cares about his clients and the outcome of their case. Criminal Defense Attorneys at Callahan and Associates treated me with respect and was extremely responsive to my requests. I highly recommend Robert Callahan to anyone in "criminal trouble" with the law. http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=&ie=UTF8&q=chicago+defense+lawyer&fb=1&gl=us&hq=defense+lawyer&hnear=Chicago,+IL&cid=10405630393995354548&z=14

  7. Outstanding Trial Lawyer

    Posted by Patrick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Callahan advised me on how to proceed immediately upon contact.
    matter was resolved exactly as promised.
    I was surprised that he won my case based on the technicality of Supreme Court ruling 504.

    I will use Mr. Callahan if i need to.

  8. Class X Case Dismissed

    Posted by Greg, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had legal representation before, however, I have never had a lawyer as concerned and personal as Callahan. He allways returned my calls, and he made sure that I was aware of what was going on with my case. Not only did he review the case he also invited me to his office to see if I could be of any help. Before the motion hearing that we had he made me aware of the consequences that I faced if things didn't go well, that I had a good chance of beating the case and why. I was most impressed with his enthusiasm when he said before the hearing " let me calm down cause I'm kind of hyper right now". He had a fire inside of him that made me feel that what ever the result of this case was he did his best.

  9. Chicago Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by John, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have used Chicago Criminal Defense Lawyer Mr. Callahan for myself and family 3 times. He can answer all your criminal legal questions in plain English. He even handles his own phone calls most of the time, so he is easy to get a hold of. I had the Chicago Police lie against me and accuse me of drug possession. Mr. Callahan presented my criminal case to a judge who threw out the case at the first court appearance. Robert Callahan is a truly professional criminal lawyer who is good at what he does and not too expensive.‎

  10. Thank you Callahan & Associates

    Posted by Marc, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Callahan.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My name is Marc A. Scott. Recently I was arrested and charged with a felony amount of marijauna. Unfortunatly i'm also on parole and without a doubt I thought i was sure to be returning to prison. Had it not been for a well seasoned, well respected counselor with connections, my situation would have been a very dark outcome. Again, i'd like to thank you for your expertise... In short, my case was resolved and the judge granted me an immediate release with time served. Again, thank you Robert J.Callahan & Associates.