I agree with all of my colleagues. I would only add that if the at-fault driver offers you the policy limits AND you do not have coverage in excess of that amount, it would be unethical for any attorney to take 1/3 of the recovery.
If you do have higher coverage than the at-fault driver, you need to hire experienced counsel so that you do not jeopardize your right to those funds.
If you just signed the release 2 weeks ago, it would be a miracle if your attorney even received the check, especially with the weather. Once he receives the check, it MUST clear his bank (3-5 business - not calendar days) BEFORE he is ALLOWED to write you a check. If there are any liens or subrogation interests, they could take weeks or months to resolve.
You are paying your attorney. Why not talk to him?
No worries. The simple answer to your question is NO. The statute of limitations is 2 years in Illinois. Simply give the paperwork to the insurance you had at the time and they will dismiss the action.
First, make them prove-up their damages.
There are only 2 ways to retain your driving privileges: 1.) Enter into a monthly repayment plan or 2.) File Bankruptcy. Consider the amount if you side-swiped a Bentley or worse still, caused a semi to jackknife, rendering much of the contents unsaleable. It could be hundreds of thousands of dollars.
The smart thing here is to get insurance and make monthly payments. An attorney may be able to reduce the amount you owe but it will probably...
1. You are WRONG.
2. If your attorney files a Motion for Hearing in an undisputed case, the adjustor will assign counsel and you will have guaranteed yourself SEVERAL extra months because the defense attorney only gets paid UNTIL the case settles. HE has less than NO incentive to settle. You may even buy into depositions which could cost you thousands.
3 You hired an attorney and you will be paying him/her a fee. Why not seek their advice, including WHY they recommend the course they do?
1. Corvel is NOT an insurance company or a TPA. They support nurse case management, ONLY. You will NEVER get an offer from them.
2. Has your attorney sent a comprehensive demand? We don't wit for offers. We demand a sum of money and provide an explanation for the demand.
3. If you were not released by your treating physician, you should be demanding the additional TTD.
You need a traffic or criminal defense attorney to address the ticket. You need to ask the police what they need to release the cars. They may be the source of an ongoing investigation. What are you or your buddy doing with 3 salvage vehicles and what was your buddy doing with the cars? That is what the police may want to know.
Selling these cars without disclosing that they are salvage vehicles can be charged as a Felony.
I agree with my colleagues but would add that if you did not sign any documents, your case is NOT SETTLED. Anything that your attorney did AFTER you told him to stop working on your behalf CAN be undone. Simply send a copy of the dated correspondence firing your attorney to whatever entity is involved and advise that any action taken after that date was without your consent.
Please tell us whether there was IL jurisdiction over your WC claim. In other words, were you injured in Illinois,...