Stephen Laurence Hoffman’s Reviews

Stephen Laurence Hoffman

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ethical and Honest Representation

    Posted by Amy, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.

    After being rear-ended in a construction zone by a semi-truck, I knew had a strong case. However, after working in the legal profession myself for more than a decade, I was selective with finding proper representation. While everyone wants “a good lawyer,” what drove my search was a bit different. I refused to support the all-too-common aggressive shark; I instead wanted to retain an attorney whose motives I believed in. I wanted to hire someone whose ethics and values resonated with my own – someone whose contingent fee I would feel good about supporting when the case was closed. Meet Stephen Hoffman.

    I found Stephen through reviews such as these. He piqued my interest with his vast social reputation. I appreciated his tech-savvy nature, and his clients’ reviews were all positive to boot. Stephen made it to round two, because of his commitment to advancing the profession via his work with the Chicago Bar Association Solo and Small Practitioner Committee. An attorney who commits time to bettering the profession would likely have high standards for his own practice. But what was the deciding factor to choose Stephen as my counsel? His character. Stephen is a down-to-earth, honest, humble, and caring attorney – rare traits in this field.

    Throughout the case, I was confident having Stephen by my side. He kept me well-informed, emailed often, and even drove to my office to meet. When hiring an attorney, you have a choice, and I am honored to say that I chose Stephen Hoffman – a lawyer whose ethics and personality not only earned my business, but also should be the standard in attorney-client relationships.

  2. One helluva attorney.

    Posted by Timothy, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.

    For those that do not know me I work as an aircraft mechanic everything was great until May 30th when I fell at work while stepping from a stand into the plane. The exact same task I have done many times over but this time I slipped and twisted my knee on the way down. After a very unpleasant ambulance ride from O’Hare to the hospital and writing statements for the company about how I slipped on the wet stand (it was drizzling that night) I was finally able to partake in the world of prescribed pain pills. While at my crash pad in the city I started looking for a workers comp lawyer I talked with about a dozen but one stood out. On May 31st around 815 AM I received a call from the company handling my workers comp claim for my employer, they wanted a statement over the phone and the fact that I was on narcotic pain pills didn’t bother them. I wasn’t sure of what I was doing or saying while on the drugs. At this point I realized I needed professional help to look out for my best interests. I informed the caller that I retained an Attorney and referred them to Stephen Hoffman.

    It turned out to be one of the best decisions I could make. Over the next 10 months I had 2 surgeries and many months of rehab. When I was scheduled for a surgery and the surgery clinic said the workers comp failed to approve the surgery I called Stephen Hoffman (he actually answers his own phone) after I explained the problem he said he will take care of it. 30 minutes later the clinic received approval for the surgery. When my paychecks got delayed, a call to Stephen Hoffman and the checks got straightened out. Each Time I called him he made time for me and on the rare occasion when I got his voice mail he called me back within a short time. If I asked for more then what I was entitled to he was straight forward and never misled or gave false hope. At the end of it all he got me a very fair settlement.

    I never dreamt I would need a workers comp lawyer until I fell and tore up my knee, Hopefully you will never need a workers comp lawyer But if you do you will be dam glad to have Stephen Hoffman looking out for your best interests.

  3. Compassionate & will fight to get you what you deserve!

    Posted by Carrie, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I recently experienced a serious medication error caused by a pharmacy and become ill. I didn’t know what my options were, so I turned to the internet and came across Stephen Hoffman’s name. From the first phone call, Stephen immediately put my mind to ease and assured me that I done the right thing in contacting him. He was sympathetic to what I had experienced and made sure I was in the loop regarding everything that was going on with my case. Stephen fought my case and in the end was able to surpass my expectations on the settlement he negotiated on my behalf. Should I or anyone I know or love ever find themselves in need of a personal injury lawyer, I would not hesitate to send them to Stephen Hoffman. ”

  4. Awesome Lawyer

    Posted by Joanne, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you are looking for a lawyer that is fast, reliable, and keeps you informed Mr. Hoffman is the man you need to contact. He handled my case fast and professional!

  5. He got the job done.

    Posted by T.Marie, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I worked with Stephen for a worker's comp case. I didn't realize I was entitled to a settlement (the insurance company doesn't tell you that. I hired Stephen just hoping not to get screwed over on temporary disability and wound up with a big enough settlement check to get back on my feet.

  6. Great Attorney.

    Posted by Sean,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.

    Spoke with Mr. Hoffman on 1/18/13 . Very knowledgeable and honest. Would recommend
    him without hesitation .

  7. Stephen Hoffman - Highly recommended for your workers compensation claim!

    Posted by Jessica, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was involved in an automobile collision that was not my fault. It was complicated by the fact that I was traveling between places of work for my employer so I was not even sure whether this was going to be a negligence automobile collision personal injury case or a workers' compensation case or both or neither. I was hurt and confused.

    When I contacted Stephen Hoffman, he immediately explained all the possibilities, the pros and cons, the procedures, and was genuinely concerned for my well being as well.

    While this process could have been stressful and confusing, Stephen really made it a pleasure, staying in touch with me regularly and getting the case settled much quicker than I ever expected.

    He is a thorough, personable lawyer who takes the time to get to know his clients, listens to their questions and concerns, and keeps them informed. I was amazed at how well he knew my case and how frequently I heard from him via email or phone with updates, explanations, and news.

    While I hope to never need a personal injury lawyer or workers' compensation lawyer again, I would absolutely recommend Stephen L. Hoffman and Law Office of Stephen L. Hoffman LLC to anyone who needs an injury attorney. He is wonderful to deal with, professional, a great advocate, and someone who gets results for his clients. I was thrilled with how my case turned out and he documented everything he did; he is completely transparent, ethical and trustworthy.

    I cannot recommend Stephen enough!

  8. Rich Sr.

    Posted by Richard, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I did not know my rights on work related injuries and Mr. Hoffman was was very knowledgeable in this field. I was in mgmt. and thought I had to keep my injury to myself so the company will stay profitable. As a result I caused more damage to myself, but Mr. Hoffman was able to back track my injury and I got the medical and financial help I was entitled to. Thank you Mr. Hoffman, I recommend him to everyone who needs an excellent attorney.

  9. Stephen came through twice for me!

    Posted by Jim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen was very responsive and helpful when I was in a bicycle accident. A car door opened and sent me flying into the street. The insurance company refused to pay for my chiropractor. Stephen was able to get them to pay my medical bills and a larger settlement than I expected. A year later I contacted him about a landlord unfairly withholding part of my deposit. Stephen got my deposit back for me and wouldn't take a fee. I'd recommend him to everyone.

  10. A great lawyer...highly recommended

    Posted by S.B., a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Stephen Hoffman is a terrific attorney. He has fought for me, and continues to fight for me. He keeps me informed every step of the way, as my cases evolves. He responds to my phone calls in a timely manner, and keeps me posted via phone and emails.

Call now and find out your options without obligation or cost!

773-944-9737