Stephen Laurence Hoffman’s Reviews

Stephen Laurence Hoffman

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. THE PERFECT ATTORNEY

    Posted by Erasmo,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.

    After interviewing several attorneys, Mr. Hoffman stood out from the rest. I came across him in reviews such as those on Avvo, Yelp, and Thumbtack. I didn't think I had a good case, but he assured me I had a very good case and he exceeded my expectations. Mr. Hoffman was always available to answer any questions or concerns I had. He kept communication simple and understanding. Mr. Hoffman also did an excellent job in getting the maximum amount of money from the insurance company as well as paying for all hospital bills. He answered every call and replied to my emails in a timely manner. He kept me informed every step of the way. Mr. Hoffman became more of a friend than my attorney. I would definitely recommend Mr. Hoffman to all family and friends.

  2. Stephen L Hoffman Review

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.

    Stephen set us at ease from the start and did a good job of relating to our situation. We had never gone to an injury lawyer before but he was excellent at explaining the process in simple non-legal terms as far as how things would likely work out. He went above and beyond and even did some detective work regarding our case. And he turned out to be correct and was able to do an amazing job to help us get back on our feet after a very scary incident.

    From start to finish, he kept us in the loop and was very clear on what we needed to do and when, and was ultimately able to get us the maximum value based on our situation. We would absolutely recommend Stephen to anyone in need of an injury lawyer.

  3. Excellent experience, proud client

    Posted by Chris, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I never thought I would find myself in the kind of situation that would require the services of an attorney with personal injury expertise. Sure enough, last year I found Stephen Hoffman based on his positive ratings on Avvo and contacted him while I was laid up with a broken ankle after having done some unscheduled ice dancing on a Chicago sidewalk.

    I couldn't have found a better attorney! Every step of the way, Stephen kept me in the loop; hearing my concerns, giving me honest feedback and using past experience to chart where he thought we stood in the short and long term of our case and any resolutions. Throughout the process, I felt like a partner and active participant in my case. It was a hugely positive experience. In my specific situation, Stephen was able to successfully negotiate a settlement, negotiate with Blue Cross (my health insurance), and avoid court. I was tremendously happy with his results. Stephen and I tended to communicate most easily by email; I enjoyed that method and it saved me a lot of time.

    In my experience, SLR is a tremendously sharp, compassionate, intelligent, and hardworking attorney. Plus, he's got an awesome sense of humor. I would definitely hire him again or recommend him to friends and family.

  4. Stephen Hoffman is an outstanding attorney!

    Posted by Denise Muirhead, a Slip and Fall client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Slip and Fall Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen went above and beyond in my case. He was always available to answer any questions I had regarding my case and even other things that I had legal questions about that weren't regarding my case he was handling. He made sure that the insurance company paid all my medical bills from my fall because of their clients negligence. You will not find a better, more caring and kind person. If you need any legal help you can't go wrong by choosing Stephen. I would give him an A+++ for his services!

  5. Winning and "Unwinnable" case

    Posted by Ian, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I received a very bad electrical shock at work while working with an improperly installed/maintained crane at work last year. Though my symptoms after this incident were immediate and severe, they were not typical issues associated with electrical injuries. Due to this my employer claimed that my injury was not work related and refused to cover anything associated with my injury, including the initial doctor visit.
    I was then told that it was unlikely I would receive anything from workman’s compensation by an attorney friend of mine who practices in a different state. At this point I didn’t expect much, but did my research and found Mr. Stephen Hoffman who agreed to look into my case.
    Upon speaking with Mr. Hoffman he presented me my options and gave me a realistic assessment of my situation from a legal perspective. Although several people including Mr. Hoffman had told me it would be very difficult to win my case, he agreed to pursue it. I’m sure this was because he understood my situation, believed my story, and thought it was the right thing to do.
    Mr. Hoffman took on my “unwinnable” case with the clear understanding that it was unlikely that the time he put in on it would provide any payoff in the end. Even still Mr. Hoffman spent the next several months arguing on my behalf with my employer and their insurance provider, and in the end was able to win a settlement that covered the medical bills and time I lost related to this injury.
    In the grand scheme of things my case was relatively small in dollars and severity, but Stephen Hoffman pursued it with the same vigor you’d expect with the largest of cases and won for me when I’d been assured by several attorneys that it was “nearly impossible to prove” my case.
    Thank you Stephen for your time, your efforts, and the respectful treatment you gave me and my case from start to finish.
    Very Best Regards,
    Ian

  6. Ethical and Honest Representation

    Posted by Amy, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.

    After being rear-ended in a construction zone by a semi-truck, I knew had a strong case. However, after working in the legal profession myself for more than a decade, I was selective with finding proper representation. While everyone wants “a good lawyer,” what drove my search was a bit different. I refused to support the all-too-common aggressive shark; I instead wanted to retain an attorney whose motives I believed in. I wanted to hire someone whose ethics and values resonated with my own – someone whose contingent fee I would feel good about supporting when the case was closed. Meet Stephen Hoffman.

    I found Stephen through reviews such as these. He piqued my interest with his vast social reputation. I appreciated his tech-savvy nature, and his clients’ reviews were all positive to boot. Stephen made it to round two, because of his commitment to advancing the profession via his work with the Chicago Bar Association Solo and Small Practitioner Committee. An attorney who commits time to bettering the profession would likely have high standards for his own practice. But what was the deciding factor to choose Stephen as my counsel? His character. Stephen is a down-to-earth, honest, humble, and caring attorney – rare traits in this field.

    Throughout the case, I was confident having Stephen by my side. He kept me well-informed, emailed often, and even drove to my office to meet. When hiring an attorney, you have a choice, and I am honored to say that I chose Stephen Hoffman – a lawyer whose ethics and personality not only earned my business, but also should be the standard in attorney-client relationships.

  7. One helluva attorney.

    Posted by Timothy, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.

    For those that do not know me I work as an aircraft mechanic everything was great until May 30th when I fell at work while stepping from a stand into the plane. The exact same task I have done many times over but this time I slipped and twisted my knee on the way down. After a very unpleasant ambulance ride from O’Hare to the hospital and writing statements for the company about how I slipped on the wet stand (it was drizzling that night) I was finally able to partake in the world of prescribed pain pills. While at my crash pad in the city I started looking for a workers comp lawyer I talked with about a dozen but one stood out. On May 31st around 815 AM I received a call from the company handling my workers comp claim for my employer, they wanted a statement over the phone and the fact that I was on narcotic pain pills didn’t bother them. I wasn’t sure of what I was doing or saying while on the drugs. At this point I realized I needed professional help to look out for my best interests. I informed the caller that I retained an Attorney and referred them to Stephen Hoffman.

    It turned out to be one of the best decisions I could make. Over the next 10 months I had 2 surgeries and many months of rehab. When I was scheduled for a surgery and the surgery clinic said the workers comp failed to approve the surgery I called Stephen Hoffman (he actually answers his own phone) after I explained the problem he said he will take care of it. 30 minutes later the clinic received approval for the surgery. When my paychecks got delayed, a call to Stephen Hoffman and the checks got straightened out. Each Time I called him he made time for me and on the rare occasion when I got his voice mail he called me back within a short time. If I asked for more then what I was entitled to he was straight forward and never misled or gave false hope. At the end of it all he got me a very fair settlement.

    I never dreamt I would need a workers comp lawyer until I fell and tore up my knee, Hopefully you will never need a workers comp lawyer But if you do you will be dam glad to have Stephen Hoffman looking out for your best interests.

  8. Compassionate & will fight to get you what you deserve!

    Posted by Carrie, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I recently experienced a serious medication error caused by a pharmacy and become ill. I didn’t know what my options were, so I turned to the internet and came across Stephen Hoffman’s name. From the first phone call, Stephen immediately put my mind to ease and assured me that I done the right thing in contacting him. He was sympathetic to what I had experienced and made sure I was in the loop regarding everything that was going on with my case. Stephen fought my case and in the end was able to surpass my expectations on the settlement he negotiated on my behalf. Should I or anyone I know or love ever find themselves in need of a personal injury lawyer, I would not hesitate to send them to Stephen Hoffman. ”

  9. Awesome Lawyer

    Posted by Joanne, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you are looking for a lawyer that is fast, reliable, and keeps you informed Mr. Hoffman is the man you need to contact. He handled my case fast and professional!

  10. He got the job done.

    Posted by T.Marie, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hoffman.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I worked with Stephen for a worker's comp case. I didn't realize I was entitled to a settlement (the insurance company doesn't tell you that. I hired Stephen just hoping not to get screwed over on temporary disability and wound up with a big enough settlement check to get back on my feet.

Call now and find out your options without obligation or cost!

773-944-9737