Howard Jay Wise’s Reviews

Howard Jay Wise

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Criminal Lawyer You Can Hire

    Posted by Alex, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Wise is the hardest fighting lawyer in the courtroom! His advice was honest and solid. I had an aggrivated battery, Mr. Wise took it to trial and I was found NOT GUILTY!!!! You can not get a better lawyer then him.

  2. Wonderful and responsive Attorney

    Posted by Ruth, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son was arrested for a residential burglary. I live out of state and called Mr Wise. From the momwnr I called and retained Mr Wise I knew my aon was in good hands. Mr Wise kept me informed throughout the case. My son says that Mr Wise impeached all the witnesses! My son was found not guilty! I highly recomment him.

  3. Great Attorney

    Posted by Mike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Best in the Business! I hired Mr. Wise to defend me on mu DUI case. Not only did Mr. Wise beat my case he beat the suspension as well. He is a great attorney and it showed in the courtroom. I recommend him to anyone!

  4. Bad attorney and extremely rude

    Posted by Rollin, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I paid Howard a lot of money to represent me. He was selling me dreams. The judge found me guilty, so i asked Howard if he could ask the judge to let me turn myself in at a later date so I can notify my job on whats going on, he tells the judge if I could turn myself in at a later date because we want to see what happen in probation court, so the judge asked what was i on probation for, Howard told him for the same offense. I asked Howard was he with me or against me. The judge sentence me to 200days county time and i lost my job. Thats not all...I paid him in advance for everything, so i had to see him again in front of my probation judge, the probation judge was about to give me 2years on my next court date, I told Howard to do something, he kept saying he aint going to do this and that, so i fired him, the public defender got me what Howard told me he couldnt get Hes very rude, and he do what he wants to do, once he has all your money. biggest mistake i ever mad hiring him!

    1. Howard Jay Wise

      Howard Jay Wise

      Lawyer Comment:

      I represented Rollin on a Driving While License Suspended/Revoked case and a violation of probation. At trial the arresting officer testified that he personally witnessed the defendant driving and at the time his license was revoked. The officer never mentioned in his police reports that my client was driving. I asked the officer this at trial and he admitted he never put that in any police report. The Judge still found him credible and found my client Guilty. He was already on probation for the same offense. Rollin asked me to try to prevent the judge from revoking his bond. I asked the judge several times if he would consider not revoking his bond and continue the case for sentencing to get his affairs in order as there was mandatory jail time for this matter. The case took a lot longer than usual and I never asked him for any additional fee. I then went to handle his probation matter on two different occasions. On the second appearance I set the case for hearing on a certain date in the future. Somehow, the case was set on a different date than we agreed on in court. I could not appear on that date as I was engaged in a trial. I notified the State and asked that it be set to the date that we agreed on previously. Somehow the probation matter was resolved on that date while I was not present. I appeared on each and every court date and gave my client the best defense possible. I am sorry he was not satisfied with the representation but if I had to do it all over again, I would not change a thing in the way I defended him. I'm sorry he lost his job and wish him the best of luck in the future. This type of case is tough to win as all the State has to prove is that a person was driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle and that person's driver's license was either suspended or revoked. My client did not want to accept any plea bargain so I had to try the case.

      Please read the rest of my reviews that will show my perfect rating (all excellent).

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  5. Very Reassuring

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Wise was very reassuring and positive to work with. This was the first time I've ever been in trouble with the law/been in a court room and Mr. Wise showed great professionalism and knowledge of the subject. The fact that he had experience and had won cases in the past that were very similar to mine was especially reassuring. Being new to a court room he could see I was a nervous wreck. He gave me hints, tips, and jokes to put me at ease. He helped prove my innocence and was great about showing me where/how to get my expungement started.

  6. "The One"

    Posted by Christopher, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you are looking for a lawyer who is trustworthy, knowledgeable, understanding, passionate, honest, and much more. Howard j Wise is "The One"! He help me and my fiance. Thanks to him we still have a clean record! I can't see myself working with any other attorney. He is the best! Believe me he can HELP you out!- Christopher A.

  7. Driving Violations

    Posted by Lynne, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We've had 2 different problems of family members and in both cases Mr. Wise helped them get their licenses back. He takes away that panicky feeling when you have to go to court. He treated us with kindness and respect.

  8. BEST DUI ATTORNEY AROUND

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I got a DUI... Mr. Wise not only kept me calm through the whole process, he got me the best results possible. He not only beat my suspension, he beat the case!!! Mr. Wise was very knowledgeable about he law. I couldn't have asked for a better attorney. I would reccomend him to all my friends and family.

  9. TWO TIME DUI LOSER

    Posted by Jeron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Howard is an excellent attorney, he actually got me completely off on a DUI. Not only did I blow in the breathalyzer and was well over the limit, I also had a previous dui. Shamefully one year later I was stopped again, and Howard has taken my case without persecution. The case is currently pending but I'm very confident that he's doing all he can. He's very smart, knows the law well, and his prices are very fair. I would definitely recommend Howard to any of my friends or family members.

  10. I am impressed by Mr Wise's outcomes on my cases

    Posted by Pat, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Wise.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Wise has assisted me on three charges over the past few years. Although all of the cases were for minor offences, I was extremely happy with all three outcomes. I was particularly impressed by the fact that Mr Wise was dealing with a murder case concurrently with one of my trials, but he found the time to do a thorough job on my defense. I also feel his past experience as a States Attorney helped in achieving positive outcomes.

    Now, I know it is not fashionable to talk about legal costs when discussing an attorney. However, if you live in the real world like me, you need to take cost into consideration when planning your legal defense. With Mr Wise, you know your costs up front, so it is easy to budget accordingly. I also felt, that considering his experience and the results he achieved, I got a bargain.

    Personally, I found him amicable and pleasant to talk to. I have recommended him to friends and coworkers in the past, and the ones who were smart enough to listen were pleased with their results.

    I recommended Mr Wise for Traffic and Criminal defense. And, if you get results like mine, I think he appreciates a "Thank You" card for his efforts.