Thomas T. Field’s Reviews

Thomas T. Field

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Elite Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tom Field is thorough and responsive, and he has very good judgment. All three characteristics are necessary to best serve clients. Further, I think Tom’s straightforward mentality is beneficial to all parties and helps avoid unnecessary time delays. Tom is well respected by colleagues and his professional demeanor is greatly appreciated.

  2. Thomas Field Giving Lawyers a Good Name

    Posted by FS,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.

    I have known Mr Thomas Field for over 3 years. He has represented me in my legal matters in this time. Mr Field has done an utmost professional job in his representation of me as his client. Mr Field had the foresight to see how my case was progressing and where it would eventually have its finality. Mr Field is brilliant, confident, honest in and out of the courtroom. In the courtroom his style is classic, elegant, and focused. His education and his experience are truly what gives lawyers a good name. His firm is lucky to have him. Anyone who hires him for legal matters will be in good hands.

  3. Awesome Lawyer!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Professional, honest, huge help.
    Best lawyer ever!!!
    Mr. Field has a great working team, very efficient.
    Mr. Field is setting up a good model for the lawyers.
    I really trust him, and his great team.

  4. The divorce attorney you want

    Posted by Tony, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tom Field as well as Jessica Winkler Boike are strong divorce attorneys who helped me accomplish my goals in a reasonable time. They are expensive but worth hiring. They are approachable, responsible and pleasant. They work for a big firm with a lot of support located right next to the court house.
    I recommend them highly.

  5. Great advice, deep understanding

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Tom understood what I was trying to accomplish and the complications of my situation. He provided great guidance to get me where I needed and achieved the desired resolution in an efficient manner. If you're looking for a family lawyer who understands the complications of financial interdependence of two separating people and who does not take an overly contentious approach, you cannot do better than Tom.

  6. You get what you pay for.

    Posted by Adam, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I do not like lawyers. However, my situation required a lawyer and I was fortunate to find Tom Field to represent me in my case. Why and How did I choose him?? I found him on the Internet and sent out a few emails initially, telling myself that the first one to respond to my email would be worth the initial consultation. He responded first and said that he could help me. We met, I hired him as my lawyer, and I have been completely satisfied with his overall performance.

    He is a professional, has a good team working with him, is timely and is very responsive to really any question or issue that arose throughout the process.

    My case has been resolved recently, and although the process is quite stressful, I would strongly compel you to seek out excellent counsel to help you through the process. Having an excellent lawyer in your corner is the true difference in outcome. Tom is an excellent lawyer, no question.

    He knows all too well that I think he charges too much and has tolerated my rants about cost throughout the process. However, it does hold true in this situation that you really get what you pay for. He is expensive (I'm sure that there are both cheaper and more expensive lawyers), but worth the cost, since I can now look back at the case and the process. I should point out as well though that you are getting his team working in your corner (good job Monica Banasiuk!!). You realize that there are issues that arise unexpectedly, and must be dealt with. Unfortunately, these issues will cost everyone time and money in order to resolve.

    So, overall, I am very pleased with Tom and his team of professionals. They worked with me on my case until resolution. They are excellent and I would highly recommend them.

    I still don't like lawyers! (but, Tom's your guy if you need a good one.)

    Good luck.

    AR//

  7. Terrific Domestic Relations Attorney and Team

    Posted by Michele, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    We hired Tom and his team to enforce a Separation Agreement that was written 30 years ago. The issue was whether the life insurance company was required to distribute the policy to my mother-in-law or her ex-husband's second wife. Tom and his team, Matt Elster, and other members of his firm, were absolutely terrific. They prepared a really good brief on the interpretation of the Agreement, which, unfortunately, was badly written. They kept us informed, answered our questions, and ultimately won so that the proceeds from the policy were distributed to my mother-in-law. I practice the same type of law as Tom and Matt, in another jurisdiction, and I was impressed on how they handled this case. I would refer them to anyone needing legal assistance on domestic relations issues. I really can't say enough good things about this firm.

  8. The best divorce lawyer in Chicago

    Posted by Milan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Thomas is the best divorce lawyer in Chicago. I had three lawyers before Thomas and they screwed up my case so badly that I thought it would be impossible to fix it. For example my passport was taken away from me as I was considered a flight risk. Many people told me that they never heard of this in a divorce case. The previous lawyer quit on me just two months before the trial so I was forced to find replacement. Thank God previous lawyer quit on me since that allowed me to find Thomas. With him, for the first time, I felt that my lawyer is working for my interest and not for the other side. Thomas's firm is the most professional firm I encountered in this endeavor. All the questions were answered promptly and completely. Even though there was very short time left until trial and most of the preparatory work like depositions etc was not done, Thomas and his assistants managed to finish all on time and the trial was held successfully. The case ended up in settlement after all, but not before we went through a full day of trial. I am divorced now and I am satisfied with the result Thomas accomplished. Thomas's firm is not cheap, but believe me, they are worth every penny one pays. It took me 1.5 years to divorce, but had I have Thomas from beginning, I am sure the divorce would finish in six months top.

  9. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Molly, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tom is a great attorney and I am so thankful to have worked with him. I knew I wanted to hire him immediately after our initial consultation. Tom listened to my emotional rant, but was then able to rationally guide me back to the legal matters at hand (which was something I desperately needed at the time). Throughout the process, Tom was incredibly focused on my best interests, but was also willing to listen to my concerns when they arose. I found he and his team to be organized, responsive, professional and dedicated throughout my entire case. I would highly recommend Tom to anyone going through this life transition. Getting a divorce is not enjoyable in any way, but Tom and his team made the process much smoother for me! Thank you again!!

  10. One in a Million!

    Posted by SG, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Field.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Custody matter.

    Tom Field is at the top of his game and gave me the best results a father could hope for. During one of the most stressful periods in my life, Tom modified Joint Custody to SOLE custody when many other attorneys said it was impossible and couldn't be done. When I first met Tom, I was running late and Tom passed up dinner at home to give me a consultation. He gives a new meaning to dedication, and he took time past business hours to listen to my case. Tom was thorough, creative, realistic in his advice, and his strategies are brilliant, most definitely above average. He consistently demonstrated superior knowledge and expertise. The whole process took 6 months, just like he said it would and Tom kept me calm in all situations that arose. Tom is your knight in shining armor and I recommend him to any dispute in Family Law. You will get the best results possible and I hold Thomas Field in the highest regard. Thank you Tom!