James M. Quigley’s Reviews

James M. Quigley

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Neverending Divorce

    Posted by Lauren, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My brother started divorce proceedings four years ago. As this progressed, I became more involved in the actual logistics of the case and how it developed. He had four different lawyers representing him during that time, who could not help him through this process. Luckily we found Mr. Quigley's law firm. We were immediately impressed with the professionalism and empathy that he showed. He was very clear in his communication and kept us informed as to the plan of action and any changes or developments as things progressed. His team was also professional, and very personable. They worked with us to get everything done in a timely, cost efficient manner. We felt well prepared and confident that we knew everything that was going on. I cannot recommend Mr. Quigley and his team strongly enough--My brother is now divorced!!!!!

  2. Would not recommend James Quigley

    Posted by Divorce Client, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    He was highly recommended by a friend. He was very friendly in initial consult. I felt comfortable hiring him. However the problems began in the negotiations with the other attorney where there was a complete lack of attention to detail. Not being knowledgeable in legal matters I followed his advise. The case was settled as most are. Now I find that I have to hire another attorney to fix the JPA's many errors. I became obvious to me now that the JPA was an expensive but bad cut and past job. There were even things that Mr. Quigley/staff put in that benefited my ex.

  3. Divorce/Child Custody

    Posted by Dawn R., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    At the time I filed my divorce, I had been employed in the legal arena for 15+ years, so I had an expectation of my how attorney would behave, communicate and interact. The first attorney I engaged was of the mindset "you scratch my back, I'll scratch yours" which is sometimes otherwise known as "the boys' club". As soon as this became evident to me I sought out a new attorney as I was not looking to partake in this type of behavior which I knew would not serve the best interests of my children or myself, either financially or emotionally.

    At this time I engaged Attorney Quigley, who handled the remainder of my divorce proceeding. I met Attorney Quigley initially for an hour consultation. He was timely, very professional and inquisitive about the facts of my current situation, including my minor children (then ages 6 and 4) and whether they had their own attorney. At the time they did not, and Attorney Quigley insisted that engaging an attorney for them was critical. Attorney Quigley's understanding of custody issues and his recommendation to engage an attorney for the children was instrumental in keeping the divorce proceeding moving forward.

    Throughout the entire process Attorney Quigley was proactive (not reactive), professional, timely, actively listened to my concerns, receptive to my ideas and solutions, especially with regard to parenting issues, and advised of both realistic and legal ramifications.

    Subsequent to the conclusion of my divorce, I have referred several friends and co-workers to Attorney Quigley and will continue to do so.

  4. Great lawyer!

    Posted by Brandon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Extremely lucky to have an incredibly talented lawyer in my case. Extremely knowledgeable and worked to get me the best possible outcome imaginable.

  5. Extremely competent

    Posted by Marla, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Two miracles happened last week. George Clooney got engaged and James Quigley was able to get me divorced. James and his partner Shana Vitek did in two months what no attorney could do in three years. I have been separated for three years. My ex-husband changed legal teams three times. The final team was cut throat and out to "squash" me as my ex-husband told me. It was then that I hired James to advocate for me. He was extremely compassionate to my cause. He was able to get me an excellent settlement within two months. I highly recommend him.

  6. James was my attorney for a divorce.

    Posted by Adam, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    James was very responsive to emails and calls from me about my case. The advise I got from James was dead on. I would recommend him for any family law case, he knows his stuff inside and out.

  7. Grateful for Mr. Quigley

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My divorce was the most emotionally tolling event of my life, and for my family. When I decided to file for divorce, I experienced just about every emotion in the books; from anger and sadness, to sudden waves of anxiety. I was uncomfortable not only with the forthcoming legal proceedings, but where my life would be moving forward. My friend, who is also a recent divorceé, referred me to her attorneys, Mr. James Quigley and Ms. Shana Vitek, so I decided to schedule a consultation.

    The minute I stepped foot in their office, I was greeted by the warm smile and inviting personality of their assistant, Melissa. Merely upon Mr. Quigley and Ms. Vitek's entrance to my consultation, my feelings of discomfort were put to ease. Both exuded an amazing sense of confidence and assured me that they would take care of me.

    Mr. Quigley and his team are outstanding, period. My case was very complex. My husband and I were married for 16 years. I had my teaching degree, but we decided it best for our family for me to stay home and take care of our two kids, while my husband worked. My husband owned multiple businesses and many investment properties. Mr. Quigley did an excellent job of sorting through the convolution, and his solid understanding, in turn, allowed him to sort those issues out for my understanding as well. In addition to our messy property issues, Mr. Quigley did a phenomenal job working through a parenting schedule for our boys, and really kept their best interest at the forefront. I ended up with a substantial monthly amount permanently in maintenance, a 50% portion of our property and joint custody of our children.

    Not only is Mr. Quigley's team all extremely knowledgable, each is personable, comforting and most importantly real and reasonable; even his law clerk, Jordan Rosenberg. They also do a nice job of keeping their fees and costs low and reasonable.

    Although I realize that divorce is a loss for everyone, I truly believe that Mr. Quigley and his team negotiated and crafted an MSA and JPA that I felt comfortable with to move forward with my life and leave my divorce behind. Do not delay in calling Mr. Quigley, I am forever grateful.

  8. Sherita Jackson review of James M. Quigley

    Posted by Sherita, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have and will continue to recommend Mr. Quigley to anyone in need of a divorce attorney. Mr. Quigley was professional, knowledgeable throughout a very difficult divorce. Mr. Quigley was sensitive to my case as it related to my children and their well being emotionally and financially throughout the process. I found Mr. Quigley to be reasonable and also aggressive towards hostile parties involved in the divorce never wavering from requiring everyone to do what was right and fair. I would also add I never found the fees Mr. Quigley charged were questionable or unfair.

  9. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by esdeleon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted James when I was almost in the end of my final custody trial (it was already a 3.5 yrs child custody and divorce battle). I was informed that my case was not looking good for me including the custody evaluation report. My case was unfavorable for me because of the false accusations and restraining orders against me from my ex. The true was that that those accusations were lies and the evaluation report was done according to those lies. I knew that I had been doing the right thing all the time and it was not fair the way that everything was against me. When I received the bad news that I would lose the custody of my son in the final trial, I contacted James for advice. After my first meeting with James, he gave me hope and he decided to take my case even though it was little time left for final trial. James and Jared were able to help me with the lawyer’s transition. When James took over my case, James and Jared came with strategy. It took James and Jared one year to turn my case around. The end result of my long/nasty custody battle (4.5 yrs. total) is that I didn’t have a final trial and the best is that my ex gave up and let me keep my son. It is priceless what they did especially when they helped a father who deserved to keep his son despite of all the false accusations against me. I have a new beginning and I’m extremely grateful that I contacted James.
    I highly recommend James and Jared.

  10. Divorce Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have a real "war of the roses" situation that requires court appearances every so often for the past 3 years and James command of the courts and knowledge have helped our case stay the course. He and Shana really get that it is about the kids and the big picture of getting on with life. The resourcefulness of James and the team has helped immensely in a very difficult emotionally charged situation. I would highly recommend this firm.

Call for free phone consultation>Direct line: 312-985-6958. Msgs returned w/in 24hrs.

312-621-9700