James M. Quigley’s Reviews

James M. Quigley

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. James was my attorney for a divorce.

    Posted by Adam, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    James was very responsive to emails and calls from me about my case. The advise I got from James was dead on. I would recommend him for any family law case, he knows his stuff inside and out.

  2. Grateful for Mr. Quigley

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My divorce was the most emotionally tolling event of my life, and for my family. When I decided to file for divorce, I experienced just about every emotion in the books; from anger and sadness, to sudden waves of anxiety. I was uncomfortable not only with the forthcoming legal proceedings, but where my life would be moving forward. My friend, who is also a recent divorceé, referred me to her attorneys, Mr. James Quigley and Ms. Shana Vitek, so I decided to schedule a consultation.

    The minute I stepped foot in their office, I was greeted by the warm smile and inviting personality of their assistant, Melissa. Merely upon Mr. Quigley and Ms. Vitek's entrance to my consultation, my feelings of discomfort were put to ease. Both exuded an amazing sense of confidence and assured me that they would take care of me.

    Mr. Quigley and his team are outstanding, period. My case was very complex. My husband and I were married for 16 years. I had my teaching degree, but we decided it best for our family for me to stay home and take care of our two kids, while my husband worked. My husband owned multiple businesses and many investment properties. Mr. Quigley did an excellent job of sorting through the convolution, and his solid understanding, in turn, allowed him to sort those issues out for my understanding as well. In addition to our messy property issues, Mr. Quigley did a phenomenal job working through a parenting schedule for our boys, and really kept their best interest at the forefront. I ended up with a substantial monthly amount permanently in maintenance, a 50% portion of our property and joint custody of our children.

    Not only is Mr. Quigley's team all extremely knowledgable, each is personable, comforting and most importantly real and reasonable; even his law clerk, Jordan Rosenberg. They also do a nice job of keeping their fees and costs low and reasonable.

    Although I realize that divorce is a loss for everyone, I truly believe that Mr. Quigley and his team negotiated and crafted an MSA and JPA that I felt comfortable with to move forward with my life and leave my divorce behind. Do not delay in calling Mr. Quigley, I am forever grateful.

  3. Unsatisfied Divorce Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I followed James' advice and ended up paying thousands more in maintinace "for life" than I should to my ex. Far more in child support than I should have. He had little understanding of complex financial matters concerning my business. I had to go back to court for a visitation issue and hired a different attorney. When my new attorney looked at my case he confirmed what my gut told me, that I was paying too much. I ended up getting my support lowered by $6000 a month. I look back and blame myself for not following my gut and getting another attorney right away. Avoid making the same mistake I did. It was a costly one. Take a few minutes(hours) and research attorneys.

    1. James M. Quigley

      James M. Quigley

      Lawyer Comment:

      I welcome this individual to identify him/herself so that I could actually know what the real facts of the case were. Without this person identifying him/herself, and the facts not fitting the facts of any of my clients, along with the fact that this individual refers to maintenance as "maintinace" I assume this to likely be someone other than one of my clients. Regardless, he/she raises some good points. First, you should definitely research attorneys and in doing so, look online, but also talk to lawyers and even judges if you are able, in order to get the true reputation of an attorney and his/her Firm. As this individual refers to him/herself as a business owner, choosing me and my Firm would have been wise on his/her part as we are the only Family Law Firm in Chicago that has its own business department with lawyers that handle all facets of business/corporate law. Second, maintenance (unless expressly negotiated away) and child support are always modifiable. Thus, if a business owner, or other individual with a support or maintenance obligation, has a substantial reduction in income, that would warrant a review and possible modification. As a business owner, you would want to consider the possibility of using maintenance, because of its tax benefits, as a means of buying out the other spouse's marital interest in the business, particularly in a long term marriage where the maintenance would likely be permanent, or as this individual referred to it as "for life." A $6000 per month reduction in child support clearly suggests this individual's business is fledgling and helps explain his/her dissatisfaction and needing to blame someone for his/her business failure. Should you wish to learn more about me and my law firm, please visit www.beermannlaw.com or feel free to contact me directly at 312-621-9700 with any questions you may have if you are contemplating divorce.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Sherita Jackson review of James M. Quigley

    Posted by Sherita, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have and will continue to recommend Mr. Quigley to anyone in need of a divorce attorney. Mr. Quigley was professional, knowledgeable throughout a very difficult divorce. Mr. Quigley was sensitive to my case as it related to my children and their well being emotionally and financially throughout the process. I found Mr. Quigley to be reasonable and also aggressive towards hostile parties involved in the divorce never wavering from requiring everyone to do what was right and fair. I would also add I never found the fees Mr. Quigley charged were questionable or unfair.

  5. Would Not Recommend

    Posted by michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    Said lots of great things about winning my case but it was all just blowing smoke. Once hired he dropped the ball and I ended up with a hastily thrown together agreement(which was cut and pasted from some other mothers file, and had many benefits for a mother in it). I am still trying to rectify this a year later costing thousands ($16k so far) to fix. Also soaked me for many needless fees. Don't hire!

    1. James M. Quigley

      James M. Quigley

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, this review is clearly not from an identifiable client and therefore I cannot respond to a fictitious review, which may have been written by a client's unhappy ex-spouse or professional competitor. I invite anyone reading any of these reviews, including all of the positive reviews, to speak with me directly regarding my handling of family law cases, attorneys fees or any other question regarding a possible case. I can be reached at 312-621-9700.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  6. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by esdeleon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted James when I was almost in the end of my final custody trial (it was already a 3.5 yrs child custody and divorce battle). I was informed that my case was not looking good for me including the custody evaluation report. My case was unfavorable for me because of the false accusations and restraining orders against me from my ex. The true was that that those accusations were lies and the evaluation report was done according to those lies. I knew that I had been doing the right thing all the time and it was not fair the way that everything was against me. When I received the bad news that I would lose the custody of my son in the final trial, I contacted James for advice. After my first meeting with James, he gave me hope and he decided to take my case even though it was little time left for final trial. James and Jared were able to help me with the lawyer’s transition. When James took over my case, James and Jared came with strategy. It took James and Jared one year to turn my case around. The end result of my long/nasty custody battle (4.5 yrs. total) is that I didn’t have a final trial and the best is that my ex gave up and let me keep my son. It is priceless what they did especially when they helped a father who deserved to keep his son despite of all the false accusations against me. I have a new beginning and I’m extremely grateful that I contacted James.
    I highly recommend James and Jared.

  7. Divorce Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have a real "war of the roses" situation that requires court appearances every so often for the past 3 years and James command of the courts and knowledge have helped our case stay the course. He and Shana really get that it is about the kids and the big picture of getting on with life. The resourcefulness of James and the team has helped immensely in a very difficult emotionally charged situation. I would highly recommend this firm.

  8. Highly Recommend!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am lucky to have found such a knowledgeable and helpful attorney in James Quigley. Just from my initial consultation with him a few years ago, I knew he was not your typical lawyer. I was happy and impressed with the results he was able to obtain for me when he represented me in my child support matter, so when I found myself in need of legal assistance once again, but now in a personal injury matter, I felt confident he would stir me in the right direction, which he did. He referred me to an attorney within his Firm to assist me in the personal injury case, which resulted in a great settlement and yet another great experience with James and his Firm. There is no question, that he is someone I will continue to highly recommend for any legal needs as my experience with James Quigley and his Firm in both my family and personal injury matters were both great, despite the circumstances surrounding both of the cases. I will continue to highly recommend his services!

  9. I would NOT hire again

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Simple capitulated to opposing lawyer. Didn’t fight for me. Didn’t care about me or my case. I will have to hire another attorney to fix this mess.

    1. James M. Quigley

      James M. Quigley

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, Mary did not accept my advice and recommendations and instead wanted to proceed to trial, but did not want to pay the costs associated with a contested trial. As a result I had no choice other than to withdraw my representation of Mary. I wished her well and learned subsequently that she hired a new lawyer.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  10. Review for J. Quigley, and the Beerman/Swerdlove firm

    Posted by Harry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Quigley.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I walked into Mr. Quigley's office only 4 months ago, and today I am divorced. His office has been with me all the way, even though problems plagued our progress.
    My divorce was not standard, it was an international divorce involving a spose in foreign country, and still we prevailed.
    Mr. Quigley has my respect and excellent feedback for taking care of my situation.
    Of particular mention are the people from the firm, all of them are very professional, and personable, especially Mr. Jason Hurst, Justino Mirabelli, and Shanna Vitech, who I had pleasant contact with during this ordeal.
    I highly recommend Beerman/Swerdlove for everyone looking to be free from an irreconcileable marriage, looking for a new start.
    Thank you Mr. Quigley for everything.I am very grateful for this site, and the results.

Call for free phone consultation>Direct line: 312-985-6958. Msgs returned w/in 24hrs.

312-621-4373