John William Callahan’s Reviews

John William Callahan

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. unreliable and untruthful.

    Posted by Barry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired john callahan . Big mistake, he will promise everything and sell you out later, you will end up hiring a reliable attorney and be out the expensive retainer and start the process all over again. You will waste alot of time and money dealing with this attorney.

  2. Excellent Representation in Cook County

    Posted by William, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a case that I had put off for the longest time, and the odds were definitely not in my favor. I went into Mr. Callahan's office with the intention of gaining advice as to how I should handle my case. I knew that with Cook County, the outcome can generally be unpredictable depending on the case details, but I didn't see the light at the end of the tunnel.

    After sitting down with Mr. Callahan and going over the specific details of my case, I could finally feel that this issue of mine could manageably be solved.

    With the assistance and expertise of Mr. Callahan, we appeared together at the Third District Cook County Courthouse, and it was the first time that I was not taken into custody and booked, that had happened every single time that I had appeared at that courthouse.

    After one appearance in the courtroom, Mr. Callahan was able to securely resolve my issue, and after a few days of Sheriff's Work Alternate Program, my outstanding case was put away, finally.

    If you have a case that has been outstanding and you don't have hope. Or, you have a new case and don't feel that a Public Defender will protect your rights well enough, Mr. John Callahan is the answer. I had lost all hope, and Mr. Callahan helped me find it.

  3. Very happy with results

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was very happy with the work that was done by Mr. Callahan. He handled the case with professionalism and made me feel very comfortable with what was expected of me during the case and the court proceeding. Because I live in Florida, he called me on many occasions to update me on where we were.

  4. Knowledgeable, competent, and honest

    Posted by Alex, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    From the first moment we contacted John Callahan we felt comfortable in our decision of retaining him for our case. His skill was apparent as he guided us along. His concern and understanding of our situation made it easy to talk to him. We received the outcome we had hoped for so long and John made that possible for us. He is honest and trustworthy. We give him the highest recommendation.

  5. DUI case

    Posted by Robert, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr.Callahan went above and beyond to help me,with my case.He worked VERY hard for certainly a possitve outcome in my case.I applaud Mr.Callahan and his efforts to be patient with me on his fee.and was ALWAYS available to answer any of my questions or concerns....he is a down to earth guy,and a straight shooter....I reccomend him HIGHLY...and would certainly hire him again .....Thank You....Robert

  6. Full Reinstatement!

    Posted by Chris A., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After having 2 DUI's within 9 months back in 1998, I was able to finally be in a position to hire Mr. Callahan as my lawyer. He fell nothing short of professionalism, knowledge, preparation, courtesy, and respect. I would and will (if I am in the unfortunate position of knowing anyone who gets a DUI) recommend Mr. Callahan hands down, without a seconds thought. Thank you again to John and his staff!

  7. Seamless service

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I was involved in a car accident where another vehicle jumped on my lane and I could not avoid it. The police issued me a citation since it looked that I was at fault, it was the first time for me in a court and I did not now how to handle it.
    I was put in contact with John Callahan and he managed my case seamlessly to a full dismissal, I couldn't ask for a better outcome.

  8. Get John's help if you have a legal problem!

    Posted by Julie, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I recommend John Callahan if you have a legal problem. He handled mine so well that all of my anxiety was gone. He was very professional, knowledgeable, and caring, and totally handled the problem so I did not have to worry about any court proceedings. My problem was a minor legal one, but after he did such a good job, I would trust him again even if I had a major legal issue.

  9. Mr. Callahan - Best to have him on your side

    Posted by Vinny, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Sometimes one makes poor choices such as driving under influence. When you don't know which way to go, a good lawyer not only reassures you but also comes through in the court. I was impressed by how thorough John is in assisting his clients. I hope I never have to avail his services (for obvious reasons including having learned my lesson), but if I or any of my friends do, he is the one I would highly recommend.

  10. Driver's License Reinstatement

    Posted by Steven, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Callahan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I personally recommend Mr Callahan to any one who needs help getting full reinstatement of driver's license due to a DUI conviction.I had my Virginia license cancelled due to a DUI conviction in Illinois 25 years ago.Mr Callahan represented me in a professional manner and was dedicated to clearing my record in Illinois.On April 5,2012 my record was cleared in Illinois and I was granted full reinstatement.I am thankful for Mr Callahan's hard work and dedication in helping me win my case.On April 16,2012 I got my Virginia driver's license back.I can say from experience that Mr Callahan would be an excellent attorney to have represent you.