Jay Timothy O'Brien’s Reviews

Jay Timothy O'Brien

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Pleased Customer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.

    Just wanted to take a few minutes and let people know about my experience with the Law Offices of Jay O'Brien. I recently went through a nasty divorce. Is there ever a good one? I hired a different lawyer at first because she was one of the cheaper quotes I received. Cheaper is not always better as I found out. Actually with all of the court continuances because she wasn't prepared ended up costing me hundreds of dollars each time she stepped in the court room to get another date on the docket.
    Finally I had enough and searched for other lawyers in my area and I came across this site and read some of the reviews and decided to call for an appointment. I'm glad I did. I knew that after being married for several years and having children under the age of 18, that I was going to have to pay something to the Ex. Jay was able to help me get a fair deal and actually brought things to the table that my first lawyer didn't even think about. I would highly recommend his office. I'm glad I came across this site and called.

  2. I highly recommend Jay O'Brien

    Posted by Sher, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay 6-12 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I highly recommend Jay O'Brien and his staff. A friend of mine had used Jay for her divorce and was very pleased so I gave his office a call when I found myself in the same situation. I wasn' in the best health or frame of mind when I went into his office. I had just lost both parents and now had to deal with a divorce. He was so compassionate to my situation. Whenever I had to speak to him, he would always start out the conversation with, "How are you feeling". He truly cares about people. A huge burden was lifted off my shoulders knowing that I didn' have to worry about the divorce because it was in his hands. He made me feel as if I was talking to a friend rather than an attorney. My case ended in my favor and I was very pleased with the outcome. I noticed when I was in the court room that he was highly respected by his peers. I can't say enough but how much this man has helped me and my family. I couldn't have come this far without his help. If you find yourself in a situation that you need legal advise, I would call his office and make an appointment to see him. You will not be disappointed.

  3. I was grossly disappointed!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was so disappointed by my relationship with Mr. O'Brien. He is very disrespectful and not reliable when it comes to his word. He was very frustrated with my case, as I was, and because of some things that HE did not follow through on as a professional, it cost me quite a bit of money. After contacting other agencies I was informed that my attorney did not follow through with necessary paperwork, again, costing me. Instead of trying to make things right due to mistakes HE made, he blamed me and was very verbal in his frustration of my case instead of doing what is needed to conclude the madness. My ex-husband’s attorney got the best of him and he let it happened, at my cost, while bills continued to be emailed to me. He never even offered to make things right when there were areas I did the research but in court, things were not presented accurately, as a result, I lost and it cost me, but yet the demand for money is consistently coming. When I communicated my concerns and issues, I received very disrespectful communication with nothing but a threat regarding billing and pointing out my shortcomings and downfalls. I had a much better relationship with his associates and secretaries. THEY were responsive and kept me informed.

  4. CLASS ACT

    Posted by Carrie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jay handled my divorce in 2008. He is extremely bright, very knowledgeable of the laws, and the complex court system. He doesn't leave a stone un-turned. He was gentle, when my emotions took over, but firm when needed. He saw it through all the way to the end, and showed up for every appointment and court date as scheduled. He came beyond prepared, even supplying a document that my soon-to-be x 's attorney did not have. Jay ate that other attorney for breakfast, had a relationship with the judge that was clearly mutual respect both ways. If you need an attorney, look no further than Jay O Brien. I am in need of help with custody, and I am going back to Jay for legal representation.

  5. I highly recommend Jay O'Brien

    Posted by Jay, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    My name is Jay R. Luchsinger. I am a trial attorney with over 20 years experience. I have tried scores of complex construction and industrial accident cases (representing plaintiffs) over the years. So I have a little knowledge about what constitutes effective courtroom lawyering. I say this because I want to highly recommend Jay O'Brien. I went through a highly contested divorce in 2011 and into 2012. My ex is also a lawyer. I did not know Jay before I retained him. After asking around to fellow litigators for a recommendation, Jay's name came up several times. Boy am I glad I found him. He did a great job. He was agressive, knowledgeable, courtroom savvy, responsive and effective. It was also obvious that he was known and respected by the court. I cannot recommend Jay more highly.

  6. A class act.

    Posted by Geoffrey, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    .This is the type of lawyer you would advise your mother to hire. Jay has always show himself to be a caring person first. This is in addition to being an outstanding professional. All can be best summed up with his advice to me, "it is a question of quality of life". How many other lawyers would ever sum up difficult life questions and even a greater legal questions with the absolute key ideas and terms that a layman could easily understand? He is never out for the money. He is out to help his clients. He has always displayed the characteristics that make a great lawyer and even a greater person.

  7. 100%

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I never doubted Jay's ability and skill as a lawyer. He is very competent and knowledgeable in his field. Jay listened and guided me through my divorce and kept in mind how I wanted to proceed with the case. He offered sound advice and keeping with my best interests, always allowed me the final say on what he would do regarding the divorce. Jay gave me the whole picture of what may or may not happen in my divorce case which was very beneficial to me because I had no prior knowledge of divorce or what to expect. Before I even began any legal proceedings, he recommended a professional for me to talk with to help me regain my self worth and self respect. This gave me the ability to think clearly and have the emotional strength I needed to get through an unexpected and unwanted divorce. I have every confidence and trust with Jay O'Brien and the staff who work with him.

  8. EXCELLENT

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien was my divorce lawyer. You get what you want with him. He subopinaed records, kept me well informed. He has a wonderful staff. Mr. O'Brien fought for me all the way. If you have a problem he fixes it, you have a question he answers it. I had one lawyer and all they did was drag the divorce on for a year and a half, then told me to drop something which I won't mention and I would be divorce in six weeks, they didn't fight for my rights, my lawyer number two, kept the divorce going for a year, didn't fight for me. They say the third time is a charm. Well, Mr. O'Brien fought for me all the way to the court house. Someone told me that you never win in a divorce, well, I did, and was divorced in six months. So you need a good lawyer, Jay O'Brien is the man.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Rachael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently used Jay in a custody case and he was fantastic throughout my entire case. Not at any time was he passive, he was completely thorough, and he fought for me the entire time. I could not be happier with his service. I have recommended him to friends and family, and would continue to recommend him to anyone.

  10. Jay O'Brien is Fantastic

    Posted by Sherri A Greco (sgitalia@aol.com), a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay O'Brien.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked in the same office building as Jay for 3 years and had gotten to know him very well. I also had the chance to talk with many of his clients that left his office when I was out on my Cigarette breaks. In the 3 years that I was in his building, not one client ever said anything bad when I asked how they liked him. They all said they would recommend him in a minute. He is wonderful, extremely intelligent, makes you feel comfort and spells everything out in terms that us laymen can understand. A CLASS ACT. One day I found myself needing his services because my husband wanted a divorce. I stopped in to make an appointment and 10 minutes later I received all call from my soon to be ex stating that he was referred to the best lawyer in Will County and he was calling him today. I told him I already retained mine and asked who his was. He said our good friend who is also an attorney recommend Jay O'Brien. I laughed and said "Iv'e got good news and bad news for you buddy". The good news is that you are correct in stating that Jay is the best of the best but the bad news is that I already retained him. What a small world we live in. Jay's staff is also outstanding. If you are reading this post and are looking for an attorney that is at the top of his game and truly cares about his clients, Jay O'Brien is your man.