Chantal Sabrina Lynn Host’s Reviews

Chantal Sabrina Lynn Host

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Chantal Host

    Posted by Adam, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal 1-6 months ago.
    • Chantal handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Chantal did an excellent job at both of my closings. She was very good at explaining all of the fees & credits so that I could understand what they were for. She also has a very good personality which helps from being bored at a closing. She also saved us +-300 from a mistake in the documents at the closing which was awsome. I would recommend to use her if you are buying or selling a house

  2. Do not hire

    Posted by Tom, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal 1-3 years ago.
    • Chantal handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Chantel represented me from Oct 2012-Jan 2014 and I am still not divorced. She kept siding with the my ex lawyer. She allowed my ex lawyer to calculate what I owed without any proof. I never received copies/receipts for daycare,school fees, pension/401k etc and asked for this several times. She tried to make me sign a support order off what I made 2years ago. She was lazy and just taking money from me. She quit because she was being challenged to do her job. I debated over firing her so she did make it easier for me to move on and actually get my case taken care of by a competent attorney.

  3. Efficient, Communicative, Involved

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal more than 3 years ago.
    • Chantal handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I would be hard pressed to find anything lacking in Chantal Host as a divorce lawyer. She kept me one step ahead of the opposing team every step of the way. She was informative and clear. My divorce took less than 6 months and it would have been sooner if the other party hadn't been stalling. Negotiations were favorable and I am completely satisfied.

  4. Former Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal 1-3 years ago.
    • Chantal handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Chantal helped me through my divorce in a very effecient, professional manner. She was able to get to the heart of the issues that were important to me, and negotiated a settlement that allowed me to move forward with my children and my life. Chantal is a terrific attorney and more importantly a wonderful counselor.

  5. very poor lawyer

    Posted by steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal more than 3 years ago.
    • Chantal handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Chantal was my lawyer for my divorce. Now I pay my ex wife 32 thousand a year, plus half of school, plus 3 thousand for childrens activities, plus half of medical expenses for children. I get to see my 4 children 2 whole hours one day of the week. and every other weekend. My visitations are very limited due to all of the childrens activities. and I dont get to see the children while my ex wife is working because Chantal made a mistake. when I called her on it, and told her to fix it, she said it was too late and I would have to find a new lawyer to fix the problem. when I complained further, she quit, and left me high and dry. All this and her bill was just over 9 thousand dollars. And shes coming after me for another thousand. Chantal is a poor lawyer for men. Her work ethic is poor, she is unprepared in court, and she tends to present the deals that she made with opposing council as your only option.

  6. Look Elsewhere

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal more than 3 years ago.
    • Chantal handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Chantal was my attorney for a recent divorce although she was adequate for handling motions in front of the judge when it came down to a trial fight Chantal was not willing to go the distance and play hard ball.

    She misrepresented key elements of the case strategy stating that she had case law to back our position. One hour before trial she informed me that she was wrong and that the case law could not be used in my case.

    I discovered that the other side had deliberate intentions to drag the case out for an extended period of time (April or May of 2012) which would increase the attorney’s fees. Ms. Host stated that that could not happen. The case was not settled until October 2012.

    Ms. Host was not aware of a key provision of the retirement pension law. Illinois law has no provision to turn over the 13th check of a pension to anyone other than the one who earned the pension benefit. In a meeting with the other sides attorney Ms. Host worked out an agreement to split the 13th check. That meeting was conducted without my knowledge.

    The final settlement was no better than if I would have gone to trial representing myself and taken a 50/50 split.

    Total fees came to over $10,000 for a case that should not have been over $5,000.

    For a simple, non-contested case Ms. Host would be adequate. For a case that would require tough negotiations that would protect your interests…look for someone else to represent you.

  7. divorce attorney

    Posted by Jo Anne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Chantal Host.
    • I hired Chantal 1-3 years ago.
    • Chantal handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Chantal, is a outstanding attorney. She is direct and to the point and truely takes the time to understand the situation. I recently used her in my divorce and I was greatly satisfied. It went quick and easy no surprises along the way. The amount she told me it would cost was even less. Greatly satisfied. i would highly recommend her if going thru a divorce in the Will county area.