Thomas W. Toolis’s Reviews

Thomas W. Toolis

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Will and Trust Attorney

    Posted by shelley, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Mr. toolis prepared a will and a trust for me and my husband. He was very knowledgeable and explained the process and documents to us in words we could understand. He made a difficult process really easy. I will be recommending him to all my friends.

  2. Excellent Real Estate Attorney

    Posted by Dan, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Real Estate matter.

    Tom represent me in a bankruptcy a few years ago and now has represented me in the purchase of a new home. He was knowledgeable and his staff helped out whenever I had any questions.

  3. Unethical lawyer

    Posted by Ann, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    • I do not recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I consulted with Mr. Toolis about filing a bankruptcy during my divorce. Due to the status of my divorce, he indicated that I needed to file a Chapter 7 right away, and took a deposit from me. When I called back a few weeks later, he had not done any work on my case. During that time there were some new issues with my divorce, and once I informed Mr. Toolis of these issues he tried to intimidate me into filing a Chapter 13 instead. He insisted that I give him my credit card number over the phone. I got upset and told him that I needed to think about it. Once I consulted a different bankruptcy attorney, I found that I was able to file a Chapter 7 and did so successfully. I then called Mr. Toolis again and informed him of my situation, and requested a refund of my deposit which he denied.
    Even though he seems to be very knowledgeable about bankruptcy law, it's a disgrace that he tried to take advantage of me while I was going through such a difficult time and needed a professional to help me.

    1. Thomas W. Toolis

      Thomas W. Toolis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have never in my 15 years of representing a bankruptcy client intimidated a client into filing for Chapter 13 when they should have filed for Chapter7. Additionally, I never take a credit card from a bankruptcy client as the credit card processor will reverse the charge if I accept a credit card and then within 90 days file a bankruptcy for that client.

      I do have a feeling that I know who this client is, although she fails to identify herself. She did end up filing a chapter 7 with another attorney, however, she intentionally concealed the assets I told her she had to disclose on her bk petition, which is why she was able to file a chapter 7. I can only assume she did not tell her next attorney the true value of the assets she disclosed to me.

      I always do an exceptional job for my clients. You can see the other reviews in this section. I am disappointed with this review and if this person would contact me, i am sure we could do something resolve the misunderstanding.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Tom Toolis

    Posted by J.P., a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Tom made the BK process painless and eased my stress. I was very scared about the whole situation and left feeling calm and hopeful about everything. Gave me a fresh start! Professional and compassionate. Loved dealing with Tom and the firm.

  5. Excellent Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Kelly, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Mr. Toolis guided me through a difficult period in my life with the utmost courtesy and respect. His knowledge and understanding of bankruptcy provided relief from a very stressful time. He is very busy and I did have to wait approximately 15 minutes past the start time of my appointment.

  6. My Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Dan, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Mr. Toolis represented me in a bankruptcy and in a fair debt collection case. Not only did he get a creditor to pay for my bankruptcy, he also got $1,000.00 for me. Everything went exactly as he said it would. He is now my personal attorney, i will use him for anything legal in the future. He was hard to get ahold of by phone but I could always reach him by email.

  7. Thanks for setting up my Estate!

    Posted by Dave, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was in need of setting up my Estate, and Thomas Toolis did a great job in setting it up properly, protecting my assets and making sure if something happens to me, my family will be protected.
    His knowledge of the law and complicated Tax Estate issue made him my choice for my Estate!

  8. Give Tom a call If you are considering filing Bankruptcy

    Posted by BRUCE, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Tom did a great job on my Bankruptcy. Easy to talk to he has a very calming and reassuring personality. Very knowledgeable. I highly recommend you give him a call.

  9. Best Real Estate Attorney

    Posted by Laura, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am a real estate agent and Tom is the best real estate attorney I have worked with. When I refer a client to him, my clients are always happy with him. I have gained a lot of confidence in Tom's work and knowledge that my husband and I hire him for our own personal reasons such the writing of our wills, etc.

  10. Bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Toolis.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Helped me eliminate over 80,000 in credit card bills