Henry Donald Kass’s Reviews

Henry Donald Kass

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding

    Posted by Ellen,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 6-12 months ago.

    We hired Henry for what we thought was going to be a very routine real estate transaction. Our situation become quite complicated and Henry handled it with great care and knowledge. He consistently communicated throughout the process and always in a calm manner. He was very thorough in his work. We would not hesitate to hire Henry in the future.

  2. Made my divorce less painful!

    Posted by Mitzi, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I needed to file for divorce but couldn't afford an attorney. I applied for legal aid, was approved, and was referred to Henry Kass. I feel Henry did not treat me differently than any other client. In fact, he was very sympathetic to my case. He was upfront and honest with me about what to expect at each phase of the divorce process. He was very thorough explaining all the details of a parenting agreement and dissolution of marriage agreement. We spoke many times on the phone when he needed to update me on the progress of paperwork. Henry and his staff were very prompt to return my calls when I had any questions. I was very nervous when papers were going to be served to my now ex-husband and Henry coached me through the process and possible outcomes. My case was different because my now ex-husband lives in Indiana, so trying to serve him papers was a bit complicated. The first time I needed to come to the courthouse I was very nervous. My mother-in-law showed up with my ex-husband and it really threw me off guard. I was so relieved when I saw Henry walking down the hall toward me. He reassured me and made sure I was comfortable. Henry even talked with me for quite some time after that appearance and was very compassionate when I began to cry. He had a kind way of calming my nerves and putting me at ease. I am extremely pleased with Henry and his staff. I will recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone!

  3. DuPage Co Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by Jessica, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First off, Henry is an awesome lawyer. I was terrified when I first found myself in trouble and frantically called every number to a lawyer that I could find. After about 5 phone calls to random lawyers, I landed on Henry and was immediately set at ease. He was supremely confident in what he was saying and it was obvious he was more than capable and competent to handle a case like mine. It wasn't until after that I learned he was once a Sheriff's Deputy as well as a former State's Attorney which made me trust him even more. What was even more impressive was how much he genuinely cared about my well being and was with me every step of the way throughout my criminal proceeding. He made sure I knew exactly what was going on and was completely informed of my choices. Overall, while I wish I would have never needed him in the first place, I'm glad that I was able to work with him.

  4. Traffic Ticket/Accident

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Henry represented me for a ticket I received in August 2012 when I was involved in a traffic accident, my first accident and first moving violation in 40+ years of driving. I was understandably upset by this blemish on my driving record, but Henry, with his knowledge, experience, integrity and good ear for listening, got me through this traumatic ordeal with an excellent result. If these qualities in an attorney are important to you, I highly recommend you seek out the services of Attorney Henry Kass!

  5. Traffic tickets

    Posted by Mark, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Henry as a highly competent legal professional and just as importantly, as a client advocate. A family member incurred traffic violations that suggested a guilty plea. On the surface, the violations could have triggered a possible license suspension. Henry, however, fairly and methodically negotiated a sentence that fully considered the mitigating circumstances surrounding the traffic violations. These circumstances could not have been presented for consideration without Henry's assistance. His presentation displayed expertise and a demeanor that was professional and respectful to all parties. As a result, I would say that although traffic court is never a pleasureable experience ( Always best to not get a ticket in the first place!) , Henry helped make this experience a positive one that will help assure safer driving in our family and remind us that a drivers license is a priviledge and not a right.

  6. Attorney for DUI cases

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Henry Kass is an excellent criminal lawyer and I was lucky enough to be introduced to him by another attorney that I know. I had the unfortunate experience of receiving a DUI and Henry Kass helped me through the entire process. Henry was knowledgeable, compassionate, non-judgemental and very supportive. He was extremely helpful walking me through the entire process of all of the classes and evaluations I needed to complete for my case. He went the extra mile of finding resource for me and making sure I clearly understood all of the charges and choices I had before any decisions were made. Henry prepared me thoroughly for every court appearance and was always prompt to my court dates. Henry and his staff were always available for any questions or guidance I needed at anytime. Henry was able to minimize my charges and make sure my future was not adversly affected by this unfortunate mess I got myself into. He was able to reduce my fines and recind my liscense suspension. Henry's fees were very fair. Henry made this extremely difficult time in my life much easier. I have and continue to recommend his services to those in need of a criminal lawyer.

  7. Great experience and knowledge, great focus, great results

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    One of the best lawyers I've used, certainly the best results, in my 15+ years of ongoing drama with Dupage Family Court. (And I've used about a dozen attorneys from a half-dozen firms.) We've had our differences, but Henry and his assistant Laurel have provided excellent service throughout. Every aspect - documentation, preparation, strategy, communications, filings - has been handled promptly and professionally. I only wish I had met up with Henry sooner.

  8. Intelligent, Knowledgable and Trustworthy

    Posted by Christine, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Henry Kass is the most informed, intelligent, knowledgable and most importantly trusthworthy attorney. He has helped out my family with numerous traffic violations with much success.

  9. Highly recommend

    Posted by Katie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Henry Kass about 1 1/2 years ago and felt comfortable with him from the beginning. My case was difficult and there was a challenge around every corner (financials, custody, etc). His knowledge regarding family law was very beneficial and made decision making easier. He always presented me with all my options and was very clear that he would stand by me regardless of my decision. Henry's professional nature pairs well with his interest in getting to know his clients and sorting out what is best. I would highly recommend Henry Kass to anyone who is seeking representation for family law.

  10. Outstanding Lawyer

    Posted by Ed, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Kass.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Henry Kass for any parent seeking custody. My first contact with Henry was the Friday before the 4th of July holiday and Henry not only took my call late in the day but spent 45 minutes talking to me and explaining my options. I had contemplated seeking custody for years but always was concerned that any formal action would result in severe emotional consequences inflicted on my son by his mother. However, after speaking with Henry and asking what must have been dozens of questions, I felt more at ease with my decision. Every email or call was returned promptly and I was never made to feel like a case file. Henry shared his experiences with me at every turn which made an incredibly stressful experience easier for me to manage. I now have my teenage son living with me and out of an emotionally abusive home and I owe it all to Henry. The decision to seek custody is the most difficult thing you will ever do in your life and I would strongly encourage using Henry Kass as your counsel.