Dion Umberto Malik-Davi’s Reviews

Dion Umberto Malik-Davi

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. This lawyer is "Super"man!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion 1-3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Helped extensively go into details in front of the judge to aid my case for my divorce and my child. Did a great job of defending my case in obtaining the best outcome for my child and myself. Wonderful staff that work with him! ( Ashley and Amanda). He and his firm were honest and to the point and didn't try to misuse mine or their time. I was very pleased with him and his firm and will continue to use him in the future.

  2. Assistance with correcting a shortfall in contribution for child support and healthcare

    Posted by Jennifer, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion 1-3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Child Support matter.

    I was not pleased with the first two lawyers that I had enlisted to help me to navigate my divorce. After my divorce was final and changes occured with my ex-husband's job, I spoke with Dion Davi to see if we could finally solve this and be done with all these issues. I wanted to have the correct and fair answer to contributions needed by my ex for my children. I also did not want to have to keep paying so much money for legal fees. I am so happy that I found Dion Davi. He educated me as to all outcomes of the situation and guided the proceeding to a succcessful solution. I felt that he was considerate of both my time and money. I would highly recommend Dion Davi and his practice. I wish I had started with him first with my divorce proceedings!

  3. Great to work with

    Posted by Annie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion 1-3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Child Support matter.

    I've worked with Mr. Davi for a number of years for a number of family issues, including divorce, change of residency/custody, and child support. I have found him to be knowledgable and professional at all times. He has the ability to make you see the situation rationally, and diffuse some of the emotion that always goes along with divorce and child custody issues. He tried to keep us out of court if possible , but fought for me in court when needed. I would (and have ) recommend him to anyone.

  4. Good choice

    Posted by David, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion 1-3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We didn't know anyone to hire for such case like ours, and we found Dion online. We highly reccomend his service, he is professional and always respond quick on your questions and concerns. It's really important to work with someone who you can trust during such things like divorce, establishment of child support or parenting time. Dion is a attorney with a knowledge you can trust.

  5. Unprofessional

    Posted by Jared, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion more than 3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dion represented me in my Divorce Case. He continued to delay hearing stating he could get my ex to agree to our terms. After over 6 months and attorney fee's growing substantially I had to fire him. He was sending bills that didn't even make sense with the work he was putting in, and was getting beat by my ex's attorney that just graduated Law School a year ago. Dion Davi is confident and cocky, but he was more interested in adding fees then resolving the case. I was not surprised to hear he was let go from his former firm.

    1. Dion Umberto Malik-Davi

      Dion Malik-Davi

      Lawyer Comment:

      I wish I knew who this person was as I have reviewed all of my client files and never represented a “Jared” and had a divorce case that matches the allegations that this reviewer alleges. I can only come to the conclusion that this is the same person (a client’s ex-boyfriend) that posted the review below. Again, there are certain statements in the review that support my belief. Most significant is that my client’s ex-boyfriend was originally represented by a young female attorney who had recently graduated from law school at the time she was his attorney. Needless to say, her firm withdrew from representing the ex-boyfriend. However, if I am incorrect, I seriously encourage “Jared” to contact me so that we can address his concerns. I always welcome comments, positive or negative, from my clients.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Keep Looking

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion more than 3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dion Davi is out for himself. Through my case that lasted 3 years he continued to drive up the costs of litigation and refused to settle. Each time telling me he would make my ex cover the cost, and was never successful in that. I paid over $50,000 to Dion because he continued to make the case worse. I wish I would have listened to his peers when they told me to do my research about the type of character he had. A simple google of his name would have revealed he will take any case to get his name in the paper. It's not about winning as much as it is that he makes money. Since my case his firm has let him go, interesting to see his new 1 man firm. He even offered me a discount in my current bill of $200 to leave a high rating for him online. I declined as I would prefer to state the facts. He only has his best interests in mind. He is not afraid to drag his clients through the mud if it means continued litigation.

    1. Dion Umberto Malik-Davi

      Dion Malik-Davi

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is unfortunate that this reviewer did not provide any identifying information so that I could address the specific concerns this person raises. This review has troubled me for sometime as I pride myself on maintaining a good, open, and upfront relationship with my clients and have never experienced anyone with the alleged concerns. As such, I have reviewed all of my client files to see if I could determine the identity of the reviewer. My only conclusion is that the anonymous poster was not a client at all, but rather, the ex-boyfriend of one of my clients. I take these reviews very seriously as my reputation and character are incredibly valuable to me. As such, I feel that I must respond to this review and provide some facts for future viewers so that an informed decision can be made.

      This reviewer makes allegations that support my belief for the following reasons: 1) The reviewer alleges that his custody case lasted 3 years. First, I have never represented anyone in a custody matter for 3 years. Second, the Illinois Supreme Court has mandated that the courts resolve all custody matters within 18 months unless good cause is shown. As such, an attorney is not in the position of being able to delay a case merely for financial gain. 2) The reviewer alleges that he/she was charged $50,000 for my services in the custody case. If a custody decision actually took 3 years, the actual cost would probably closer to $150,000, not the alleged $50,000, which is not an uncommon amount for a contested custody case. In any initial consultation, I always inform a potential client that a custody fight could easily cost upwards of $75,000-$100,000. 3) I do not have (and did not have) any clients that owe(d) $50,000 for a custody matter. Any cases that I worked on while I was at my prior firm and that still have (had) an outstanding balance are owed to my former firm. I am not collecting on such balances and could not be offering any alleged discounts. The partners of that firm would have been the only ones that could have authorized any type of discount to this “reviewer”. 4) I have never offered anyone anything for a review or testimonial, let alone have the audacity to offer someone a measly $200 after incurring the alleged $50,000 in fees. 5) I have represented someone for 3.5 years now, which was a case that started as a custody matter, and the client’s ex-boyfriend has made these very statements to me in failed attempts to rattle me while in court. In fact, the ex-boyfriend was making these comments during the same time that the “review” was posted. The fortunate part is that I have stayed with this client even though my personal and professional reputation and character have been attacked in order to ensure that the client is always protected against such abusive conduct.

      Unfortunately, I am unable to obtain any verifying information to identify a “reviewer” even when it is believed that the person is impersonating an actual client; and, the only suggested remedy is to leave a reply.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Trustworthy

    Posted by Lynn, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion more than 3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dion Davi has represeted me through the most diifiicult and important moments in my life. As I was unaware of the law, he always took the time to explain to me what I didn't understand and what rights the law provides. He provided critical assistance to me prioritizing my objectives, working to solutions of problems I faced and providing reassurance even when the outcome was uncertain. Through all of this Dion Davi was patient, calm and trusthworthy and always maintained the best interests of my child. I trusted a stranger with my families future and I would recommend Dion Davi to anyone looking for an attorney.

  8. Professional counselor and concientious steward.

    Posted by Paul I., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion 1-3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I was sent into a tailspin after nearly 20 years of marriage I didn't know where to turn. I was referred to Mr. Davi by two coworkers facing their own difficulties. Mr. Davi was able to help me see my unique circumstances and counsel me on what issues were important and what issues were just incidental. My situation was resolved to the satisfaction of all parties.

  9. High recommendation

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion more than 3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thank you for all of your hard work on my three cases. You did an incredible job. I am extremely pleased with the outcome, and all of the hard work that you have done. I highly recommend Dion. Thank you for everything that all you have done.

  10. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Tammie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dion Malik-Davi.
    • I hired Dion more than 3 years ago.
    • Dion handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Dion Davi represented me in a family law case. I am extremely pleased with his high level of professionalism, integrity, and commitment. Mr Davi represented me in the return of my children from DCFS foster care. Without Dion's representation, I feel I would have never achieved getting my family back together. He has fought diligently for us. Dion was very understanding and honest of how the system works. He never judged me with my unfortunate situation. He guided me, believed in me and made me believe in myself and the judicial system again. After sitting through a 10 day testimonial trial to fight for my children, I truly thought my life was over. It was the worst experience of my life. Dion not only helped me emotionally, he fought for me like a tiger. His representation was top notch. Best of all everything he stated was factual and truthful. Dion was also very understanding in working a payment plan with me after the 10 day trial. The outcome of my trial because of Dion Davi was RETURN THE CHILDREN HOME. Mr. Davi is not only an attorney to us, he has become a friend and family. I put my life in his hands. With his top notch representation I now have my life and family back and we are complete. I am happy and whole again. I am back to being a full time mother. I HIGHLY recommend Dion Davi.