Joseph Pierce O'Brien’s Reviews

Joseph Pierce O'Brien

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Pamela Manicioto, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien came highly recommended and I can now attest as to why. I had consulted with Mr. O'Brien a couple months prior to filing for divorce and right away he was extremely responsive. He actually listened to my concerns and researched an issue particular to my case even before I had retained him. As an attorney myself, it is very rare that you will find an attorney that will go this far without being paid first. Once I actually retained Mr. O'Brien, his responsiveness was unbelievable. I would often get emails from him at all hours and even on the weekends. He was very thorough in explaining the ins and outs of the divorce process. He defended me until the very end and made sure that I was 100% satisfied with my settlement agreement. He dealt with difficult opposing counsel but he handled it with class and professionalism. Divorce will bring out the worst in people, so if you are looking for someone who will fight for you then Mr. O'Brien is the attorney for you.

  2. Alimony/Maintenance 36-Month Review

    Posted by Jacie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you need an attorney for any type of divorce proceeding, stop right here and look no further! Joe is the lawyer for you!

    I initially approached Joe to interview him for my case, which was a 36-month hearing for possible extension of maintenance to my ex wife. Joe listened to my case history and provided me with timely, honest feedback in our initial meeting and every meeting since that time, which is why I'm glad I retained his services.

    Joe approached my case with tenacity. He treated all of my concerns as if they were his very own. His knowledge of case law and attention to detail are what impressed me the most as well as provided me with maximum leverage in court. Additionally, Joe works hard to keep cost reasonable and progress proceedings as efficiently as possible.

    Don't be fooled by his youthful appearance, Joe is one heck of an experienced lawyer that will fight for you to the end!

  3. UNBELIEVABLE ATTORNEY & A TRUE GENTLEMEN

    Posted by Donna, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • Joseph handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went on this site to find help because my attorney had withdrawn from my case 21 days before the pre-trial. Joe O'Brien responded to me the same day (around 8:00 pm) and I asked him many questions. He needed some information from me regarding the case and I sent it to him. He was terrific! He reviewed the documents and came back to me that he would be willing to take on the case. Unfortunately due to my previous attorney cleaning me out financially was unable to hire him. I explained that to him and he was very understanding but he had given me enough insight that I knew I had to go pro se with the pre-trial. I did, and although I may not have gotten everything I wanted, I did get a lot for my child with disabilities. Just last night Joe reached out to me in an email and asked how things went. Yes, a lot of you may say it was to pick up business but to me, it shows he cared! This young gentlemen is a class act! Where I had lost all respect in lawyers, he came through as a shining star! If you need someone who cares about you . . . call JOE O'BRIEN! I know if I ever need a lawyer he will be the first and only call I will make!

  4. I would like to highly recommend one of the most outstanding attorneys in DuPage County - Joe O'Brien

    Posted by Barbara, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe did an incredible job making sure that I received the best possible outcome with my divorce. He answered my calls and emails promptly, was very knowledgable and I always felt quite confident in his abilites and he looked out for my best interest. When appearing before the judge or my ex's attorney, I felt he was professional and persuasive.

  5. I wish I had met this AMAZING attorney sooner!!

    Posted by Sarah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for an extraordinary, extremely knowledgeable family law attorney, your search is OVER!!! Joe is intelligent, hardworking and honest attorney. Best of all, he is very reliable. I could not have gone through this terrible drawn out divorce and custody battle without him. He made me feel like I was his only client. He is not an attorney that is out to increase his wealth by decreasing yours. He has your best interest at heart. He will not mislead you. He is very thorough, keeps you aware of what is happening with your case and simplifies complex issues in an effort to make sure that you clearly understand. He is detailed, attentive and keeps communication lines open at all times of the day. I wish I had met Joe sooner as opposed to my original attorney who I started my divorce with. Joe is an amazing attorney and I am so thankful to have worked with him. I knew I wanted to hire him immediately after our initial consultation. Joe listened to my emotional rant, but was then able to rationally guide me back to the legal matters at hand. Throughout the process, Joe was incredibly focused on my and my daughter’s best interests, but was also willing to listen to my concerns when they arose. I found that Joe was organized, responsive, extremely professional, and dedicated throughout my entire case. I would highly recommend Joe to anyone going through divorce and custody. I finally felt like I had an attorney who actually wanted to help my family as opposed to take my money and make things worse so he can get more money out of me down the road. I am so relieved to have had him represent me during the case as well as fight long and hard for me during trial.

    To Joe - I thank you sincerely from the bottom of my heart for all of your hard work and dedication on my case. My family and I are forever grateful to you and I could not have done this without your help and guidance. I can never thank you enough.

  6. He tells it like it is and fights for what is right

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien came highly recommended to us by four top attorneys in downtown Chicago. We decided to choose Mr. O'Brien based on these recommendations. Our reason for hiring Mr. O'Brien was an adoption case. My husband wanted to adopt my eight year old daughter and the biological father decided to block this after never seeing this child and never paying a dime in support. Nor did he ever seek visitation or any kind of custody. This was a unique case given the circumstances. To make things worse, this person had been arrested twice in the past two years once for theft and once for drug possession--definitely not the type of person one would want near their child. Mr. O'Brien was very honest with us. He spent time with us explaining his game plan and given the extreme circumstances he was very considerate, honest, and he kept our daughter's best interest in mind. The case took almost a year and throughout that year Mr. O'Brien maintained steady contact with us and he was diligent in fighting for our child. When we hired Mr. O'Brien we told him "you are not fighting for us, you are fighting for our daughter." In the end, we won our case and my husband was allowed to adopt my daughter. I feel our family will always be in debt to Mr. O'Brien. I truly believe he saved our daughter's life and we will be forever grateful. Court is scary no matter what the circumstance is....if you need to go to court, Mr. O'Brien is who you want fighting for you.

  7. You couldn't say enough positive words about Mr. O'brien

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There are not enough good things that can be said about joe. He was able to guide me through a difficult process with ease due to his knowledge and sensitive demeanor. He explained the process in a way that was easy to understand.

    Joe is not just an excellent attorney, but a kind and caring person who treats you with respect and compassion during a very difficult time.

  8. Attorney Joesph O'Brien handling divorce review

    Posted by Brian, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien recently handled my divorce. Joe was very informative, knowledgable, professional and sensitive to the emotions of the situation. I always felt informed and comfortable with the proceedings and never asked a question that was not explained back to me in complete deltail. Overall i was very please in every aspect of the services Mr. O'Brien provided.

  9. awesome lawyer

    Posted by Toni, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A very attentive, caring, consistent lawyer.

  10. Lawyer Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was very complex and involved a premarital agreement. Joe consistently won motions for me in the trial court and gave a successful oral argument in front of the Second District Court of Appeals in Elgin.
    Joe was very receptive and he always kept me in the loop in terms of what was going on and what our strategies would be. Joe and his firm were very professional and organized.