Joseph Pierce O'Brien’s Reviews

Joseph Pierce O'Brien

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He tells it like it is and fights for what is right

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph < 1 month ago.
    • Joseph handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien came highly recommended to us by four top attorneys in downtown Chicago. We decided to choose Mr. O'Brien based on these recommendations. Our reason for hiring Mr. O'Brien was an adoption case. My husband wanted to adopt my eight year old daughter and the biological father decided to block this after never seeing this child and never paying a dime in support. Nor did he ever seek visitation or any kind of custody. This was a unique case given the circumstances. To make things worse, this person had been arrested twice in the past two years once for theft and once for drug possession--definitely not the type of person one would want near their child. Mr. O'Brien was very honest with us. He spent time with us explaining his game plan and given the extreme circumstances he was very considerate, honest, and he kept our daughter's best interest in mind. The case took almost a year and throughout that year Mr. O'Brien maintained steady contact with us and he was diligent in fighting for our child. When we hired Mr. O'Brien we told him "you are not fighting for us, you are fighting for our daughter." In the end, we won our case and my husband was allowed to adopt my daughter. I feel our family will always be in debt to Mr. O'Brien. I truly believe he saved our daughter's life and we will be forever grateful. Court is scary no matter what the circumstance is....if you need to go to court, Mr. O'Brien is who you want fighting for you.

  2. You couldn't say enough positive words about Mr. O'brien

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There are not enough good things that can be said about joe. He was able to guide me through a difficult process with ease due to his knowledge and sensitive demeanor. He explained the process in a way that was easy to understand.

    Joe is not just an excellent attorney, but a kind and caring person who treats you with respect and compassion during a very difficult time.

  3. Attorney Joesph O'Brien handling divorce review

    Posted by Brian, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien recently handled my divorce. Joe was very informative, knowledgable, professional and sensitive to the emotions of the situation. I always felt informed and comfortable with the proceedings and never asked a question that was not explained back to me in complete deltail. Overall i was very please in every aspect of the services Mr. O'Brien provided.

  4. awesome lawyer

    Posted by Toni, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A very attentive, caring, consistent lawyer.

  5. Lawyer Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was very complex and involved a premarital agreement. Joe consistently won motions for me in the trial court and gave a successful oral argument in front of the Second District Court of Appeals in Elgin.
    Joe was very receptive and he always kept me in the loop in terms of what was going on and what our strategies would be. Joe and his firm were very professional and organized.

  6. Not your average divorce/maintenance case!

    Posted by Debbie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I walked into the office of Mr. O'Brien I must admit I wasn't a very confident lady. I knew this divorce case was going to be a difficult one. Mr. O'Brien though took the reins and with a professional kindness he listened while I talked and he even asked questions in a way that told me that Mr. O'Brien definitely has a deeper understanding of people and the situations we may find ourselves in. Within a few minutes he understood my basic needs. He is a professional, a good listener and when it comes to the law...he is very knowledgable! He kept in touch with me and updated me shortly after there was any kind of news. He even would check in with me...just to check to see how I was getting along. He gets back to phone calls and emails promptly. He accommodated me as much as possible when it came to arranging office meetings, phone calls. When he takes you on as a client...he gives you his possible and professional all!
    Mr O'Brien kept on my case doing what was necessary and in my best interest for two years! He was consistent, reliable and confident, which gave me the strength to be confident! I knew that he had my back!
    When I found myself in the court room and feeling intimidated quite honestly, Mr. O'Brien took on the professional lead needed and explained to me what was going on, why and what I could expect. He stayed at my side and made sure I understood before I made any kind of decisions. Another important fact, I believe, is while he is interacting with the judge he covers everything he needs to pertaining the case and does so in a way the judge has a clear understanding. In turn, Mr. O'Brien will have a clear understanding on what the judge recommends or orders. This is huge!! Mr. O'Brien also works well with the opposing counselors. He communicated well with the opposing counselors and kept himself available to them as needed.
    I also experienced going through depositions with Mr. O'Brien. Just as he was prepared and ready for the pre trials and potential trial, he was on his game for the depositions! He is prepared and he had me prepared as I never had any kind of experience with depositions. The end result was in my favor because he put the work in necessary for my case!
    I'm grateful for the clear talent and understanding Mr. O'Brien has for the law and his dedication he had to me. He worked very hard to ensure that my future would be a comfortable one. This case was not the usual divorce and maintenance case. I have special needs because of health issues. Mr. O'Brien made sure he understood these issues and what I would need for my future after ending an over 30 year marriage. I am very grateful for all the hard work and fight he put into my corner! The end result was in my favor and a better settlement then I thought possible! He is a highly dedicated lawyer who is ethical and knows the law!!

    I highly recommend Mr. O'Brien and will to my family members and friends for the years to come!

  7. If you seek honesty and integrity, look no further than Joe O'Brien!

    Posted by Lawrence, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am writing this review out of sheer regret...regret that I did not know of Joe O'Brien before my divorce process began. Had I hired Joe in the first place, I can confidently state, that the process would have been more bearable, and also much more affordable! There are indeed two types of individuals who study law; those who wish to make as much money as possible, and those who believe that individuals should be treated with respect and dignity. Joe O'Brien most definitely represents the type of lawyer, that any and all people, would most definitely wish to have on their side.

    I began my divorce process with another lawyer, one whom I truly believed was on my side. But when it was discovered that a scriveners error had been made in my divorce papers, I called him up with the hope that he would stand behind his work. Instead, I was met with sarcasm, pure denial, and an overall refusal to correct the error, unless he was payed yet another fee. I was livid, considering that my divorce had already cost me over $10,000.

    Luckily, I got into contact with Joe O'Brien. From the first phone conversation I had with him, it was evident that he had my very best interests in mind. We set up an appointment, and Joe immediately got to work. I told him up front, that I did not have much money, a statement that most lawyers do not wish to hear. Joe basically stated that we were going to get the issue taken care of, for as little money as possible. Joe most definitely delivered on this promise!

    To sum things up, I can state with absolute confidence that Joe O'Brien is not only an outstanding lawyer, but he is also a man of integrity. Sadly enough, this is quite rare, especially in professions such as law, where it is all too easy to take advantage of those , who so heavily depend on their services.

    If you seek honesty and integrity in a lawyer, look no further than Joe O'Brien!

  8. TBR

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Joe came as a referral to me from another attorney. He was always available by phone or email. He helped move along my case while the opposing attorney was in no rush. I would recommend him to a friend.

  9. Hire this firm, they are great

    Posted by Jennifer M., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I would highly recommend Roberts PC and Joe O'Brien. I went through a VERY complicated and long divorce and they were always following up with me, helping me deal with the stress and anxiety that comes with a divorce and always had my best interest in mind. Joe not just a lawyer but supported me through the most difficult times. His expertise and knowledge of the law was first rate. They are very reasonably priced and are highly respected in DuPage County with all of the judges.

  10. Divorce Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph O'Brien.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Joe did an excellent job getting my divorce completed. My ex was difficult to deal with and Joe got a pre-trial worked out with the other attorney to get it completed without an expensive trial. Joe was honest throughout the process and very knowledgeable. In the event some one comes to me about divorce, I'll recommend Joe first.