John P. Yetter’s Answers

John P. Yetter

Saint Charles Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 15
  1. Do I have to pay full court fines $1800 for getting my license back? I have already paid the license re-instatement fees of $250

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Linda Wyant
    3. Ted Harvatin
    4. Alexander M. Ivakhnenko
    5. Mechislav Furman
    5 lawyer answers

    Generally in Illinois I would say "no," as the Secretary of State and Court are separate, and your suspension was through the Secretary of State. You should know that your privileges can be suspended for Failure to Pay at the end of your sentence if the court so orders. Otherwise, you can begin the process of ending your suspension per the instructions of the Secretary of State.

    Selected as best answer

  2. Can i get my criminal record expunged

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Steven H. Fagan
    2. John P. Yetter
    3. Alexander M. Ivakhnenko
    4. Melissa I. Smejkal
    4 lawyer answers

    Misdemeanors in Illinois can be expunged, in most cases, two years after the completion of your sentence IF no conviction entered on the case (for example, a sentence of supervision). If you have a conviction entered on the case you MAY be eligible to seal the case three years after the termination of a sentence.

    7 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. No priors, college student charged with armed robbery. What are his chances of a lesser charge and probation? Has an att'y.

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Owen David Greenberg
    2 lawyer answers

    Your question is a little non-specific. He will get a deal of some sort, in the sense that the State will certainly make an offer. The question is what will the offer be. Given what you have told us here, it is certainly possible he will get a reduction, maybe even one that does not include prison time. I can't say i believe it is likely he wont get probation of some sort- even if it were reduced all the way down to a misdemeanor most State's Attorneys will want probation. The...

    Selected as best answer

  4. HOW , if i can, drop domestic battery charges against my husband?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. David Matthew Gotzh
    3. Alan James Brinkmeier
    3 lawyer answers

    Unfortunately this cannot be undone if he was already sentenced. Arguably he could file a motion to withdraw his plea, but only if it is withing 30 days of the date of the plea. John Yetter

    Selected as best answer

  5. Pre-Trial Investigation

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Alan James Brinkmeier
    2 lawyer answers

    Different courts deal with this differently. In adult court, the recommendations are usually considered only in the sense that it gives the judge an idea about the services a particular defendant may need if they are given probation. Most judges do not even ask for a recommendation other than that in adult court. In juvenile court the recommendations are much more detailed and the court and the parties do use them as a framework to put a deal together. Hope this helps, John Yetter

    Selected as best answer

  6. Character letters on behalf of defendant

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Anuraag Hari Singhal
    2 lawyer answers

    As long as the letter was clean and not threatening, this is in fact a very common thing for people to do. I must see it in my practice three or four times a year. I certainly wouldn't call it stupid. In fact, it happens so often that there is a protocol for dealing with it in criminal court. If a letter is addressed to the judge by someone other than the defendant (victim's write these letters, too) the judge will generally give it to the parties and not even keep a copy. Both attorneys...

    Selected as best answer

  7. I got court on oct. 1st I got arrested 4 reckless driving and child endangerment wat is the worst thing they can do

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Jeremy J. Richey
    3. David Matthew Gotzh
    4. Michael J. Helfand
    4 lawyer answers

    I think you absolutely need a lawyer. Apart from the family law issues answered above, Reckless is a misdemeanor which means it is punishable by jail time, probation, etc, not just fines like a traffic ticket. You could also end up with a suspended license. You should be very careful about trying to handle this situation on your own. John Yetter

    Selected as best answer

  8. If i left the state without permission and recieved a disorderly conduct ticket will i get violated?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Stephen L. Richards
    3. Salim John Sheikh
    4. Melissa I. Smejkal
    4 lawyer answers

    The behavior you describe is certainly enough to file a petition to violate your probation and bring it to hearing. Let's presume, for the purposes of your question, that you are found in violation of the sentence. In that case it is possible you ca be re-sentenced under the guidelines of your arraignment. What sentence is given depends on many factors, not just a "yes/no" of violation. Some of the factors are the length of time you were on probation, the compliance with the orders...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. I have a baiid device on my car, almost done. I just blew a .088, a violation. What do I tell the state monitor?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. John P. Yetter
    2. Alan James Brinkmeier
    3. Erick Masten Platten
    3 lawyer answers

    The problem you have is that the BAIID is an administrative sanction and not subject to the rules of the court which sentenced you. It is monitored by the Illinois Secretary of State. When you accepted the device and the permit to drive that came with it you agreed to follow the administrative rules of the program. In the end, you can only be honest in any response. Dishonestly in these situations often carries more of a potential penalty than the device result indicating you had been...

    Selected as best answer

  10. Got a $250.00 ticket for Handicap area (loading/unloading area) . Should I go the court and do I have any chance to win?

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Alan James Brinkmeier
    2. John P. Yetter
    2 lawyer answers

    You should go to court because you may be able to negotiate a change in the charge, thus reducing the minimum fine. Generally speaking, it is unlikely you would win at a trial on the merits in a traffic court. John Yetter www.brucarandyetter.com

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

    5 people marked this answer as helpful