If your case was filed after January 1, 2013, there are new rules regarding how far back the court can look back on dissipation claims. Dissipation claims are now limited to 5 years before filing of petition for dissolution of marriage or 3 years after party claiming dissipation knew or should have known of the dissipation.
The older the child, the more likely the court is to consider the child's expressed wishes as to whom he or she wishes to reside, especially if they are well reasoned concerns You could seek to have the court conduct an in camera interview of your daughter so that she can speak directly with the judge as to her circumstances and wishes.
Unfortunately, you are legally married to your husband and must file for divorce proceedings either in the main courthouse at 50 W. Washington or in one of the branch locations. I would discuss if and when it it is advisable to report your husband to the proper authorities with an attorney.
Once you turn 18, Illinois law provides that you are emancipated from Care and custody of your parents and you're free to go as you please. Conversely, your parents have no obligation under the law to support you once you turn 18 With limited exceptions.
As Ms. Raddatz and both simultaneously answered, go downtown tomorrow and get an order of protection. Don't worry about the proof--great, but not necessary. The judges at the Domestic Violence Court Facility hear OP cases all day long and understand that most people will not have witnesses. You can go the 30th floor of Daley Center. There are advocates there that can assist you with filling out the necessary papers. If you really have no money--not even enough to pay filing fees of around $...
Once the Summons is served upon you, your spouse can seek relief against you without providing you any additional notice if you fail to file an appearance in the case. An appearance is a court form that acknowledges the courts personal jurisdiction over you, i.e., the courts power to enter orders that affect your property and custodial rights to any children. Once relief is entered against you, it may be very difficult to vacate that order, especially since you've been served with summons.
It's the second summons issued in the case when the initial summons was not served. Like the initial summons, the alias summons must be served within 30 days whether the the respondent lives in Illinois or another state.
The law presumes that you intended to gift your husband an interest In the stock account by transferring ownership into joint tenancy. Unless you can prove by clear and convincing evidence that you did not intend to gift it to him, it will be a marital asset. Nevertheless, your husband may agree that the stock account is yours since he never accessed the account. If the account is ultimately deemed to be marital, the fact that you contributed this stock account to the marital estate may be a...
Sounds to me like you have excellent facts and circumstances to establish sole custody of your daughter. I also suggest filing a petition for order of protection against mom and/or her boyfriend for domestic violence and neglect, especially if there have been any recent abuse. You can seek to file it At the courthouse located at 555 West Harrison in Chicago Illinois. There are well-trained advocates who will assist you and your daughter in filling out the appropriate paperwork To present to...
No. A lawyer may only represent one of the parties in the divorce, even if it is uncontested. One of you may hire an attorney to prepare the paperwork; deliver the paperwork to the other spouse who will have the opportunity to either represent himself/herself or hire his/her own lawyer.