Steven Paul McCollum’s Reviews

Steven Paul McCollum

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing!!

    Posted by Mel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Steven McCollum represented me for my DUI case, and he negotiated a great deal for me that lifted a huge burden off me and my family. He was always willing to fight my case (in the event I was not happy with the deal), and kept me informed of all possibilities. He is extremely knowledgable, experienced and honest. I agree he is the best in Lake County!! I could not have achieved a better result, and believe me it really was amazing!!! Thank you for everything!!

  2. Great juvenile lawyer!

    Posted by Samantha, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am very grateful for Steve's extensive knowledge on the juvenlie court system. My son got into some trouble and Steve helped sort through the mess with ease!

  3. A different kind of lawyer

    Posted by John, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First, I should point out why I titled this "A different kind of lawyer". When Steve finished my case, I offered him a bonus, and he refused it saying that I'd already paid him and he didn't think it was ethical to take a bonus for the results. He told me to go online and review him if I was happy -- so that's why I'm here.
    I had another lawyer on my case, a serious felony in Lake County, Illinois, for a year. I'd hired her because she had a nice looking website and she wasn't as expensive as some of the other lawyers I looked at. It was a mistake. After a few court appearances and a year of wasted time, I realized that she really didn't know what she was doing.
    So I found Steve through a friend. Let me say that you never realize it until you get someone good how important your lawyer is. Steve knew everyone, always showed up on time, knew exactly what he was doing, and we ended with a total victory. My other lawyer had been wanting me to accept a plea bargain, but Steve did what it took to convince the other side that we were right.
    I can't stress how much different it is to have a lawyer that you know both cares about your case and who clearly knows what he is doing. Even before we won, I felt better knowing he was handling the case. He has extensive experience, knows the people in the system, and is respected by all of them. I overheard the prosecutor ask him a legal question once on another case.
    I strongly and without reservation would recommend Steve to anyone who has a criminal case.

  4. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Quite frankly, I was very concerned when I was arrested. I did not know what was going to happen and was concerned about my job. Steve explained all of the options and made me feel much better about my case even before I went to court. While I was prepared for what would happen, I was not prepared for how great Steve handled the case. He was knowledgeable about the law, familiar with the court system and all of the individuals involved. I hope I never need an attorney again, but if I do, I would definately hire Steve.

  5. exactly what I needed

    Posted by David, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went to another lawyer I saw on this site. He must have written his own reviews and I wasted my money on him before I found Steve McCollum. I can recommend Steve without any reservation. He did a juvenile case for my son. It was obvious that he knew exactly what he was doing and the everybody in the court knew and respected him. I feel lucky that I found him. My wife and I couldn't be happier with how he handled the case.

  6. The best in Lake County

    Posted by Peter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very impressed with Mr. McCollum from the time of my initial consultation. He is intelligent, compassionate, and genuinely cared about me and my situation. I was very pleased with the outcome of my case. He went the extra mile. When hiring a criminal law attorney, you really do get what you pay for.

  7. Very genuine and very knowledgeable. Makes you feel like part of the process without feeling dumb :)

    Posted by Andrew, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very friendly, professional, and he listens to your concerns no matter how inexperience with law you are. I felt dumb and overwhelmed with the technical legal terms and environments going in, but he understands people go to him because they don't know how to do it alone. He makes the process very easy and turns it into a less stressful situation.

    Unfortunately I have to get a lawyer again now after 6 years but hey, things happen. He was the 1st person I thought of and there could be other lawyers out there but having dealt with Steven in the past, it is a no-brainer.

  8. I couldn't have chosen a better lawyer

    Posted by Tom, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He took care of my son's case. I don't think there is another lawyer that could have done the job he did and I will always be thankful that I chose him.

  9. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Derek, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven McCollum.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Knows what he is doing and gets things done. No better lawyer in Lake County, Illinois.

We're ready to help. Contact us for an appointment.

847-662-2474