Michael Sherwin Strauss’s Reviews

Michael Sherwin Strauss

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I was very disappointed

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Strauss.

    I used Michael Strauss for a family law case and was very disappointed. There were several occasions I did not receive a call back for several days and 2 occasions I was not informed that the court date scheduled had been postponed until I arrived. I would not recommend using him.

    1. Michael Sherwin Strauss

      Michael Strauss

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, no client of mine contacted me with concerns that you list here. If you were in fact a client, please call me to discuss. If not, I am sorry that you posted this.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. No one Better in my mind.

    Posted by Shari,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.

    Getting divorced is a very difficult time in ones life. Not knowing where to turn or whom to trust is a big concern. Never having needed a lawyer before I was scared, afraid and clueless how to find one.

    A woman that I became friends with had a husband that was a divorce attorney. One day I just came out and asked for his number. That was the moment I knew I had found the best attorney I could have hoped for. Michael Strauss is a very compasionate, caring, trustworthy attorney. He made me feel like I mattered and that he was going to do the best he could for me.

    My divorce took a long time to settle. There NEVER was a phone call that was not answered or a question to small to ask. I always felt well informed and comfortable when I had to go to court.

    Going through the most difficult time in my life was made easier knowing I had Michael Strauss representing me.

  3. Amazing Attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    No one goes into a divorce with a clear head and there are always tons of emotions clouding the big picture. Mike did a fantastic job of helping me clearly see all of my options while respecting the huge emotional roller coaster I was experiencing. He was a rock for me, always remaining calm. His very prompt responses to my questions helped take away some anxiety and I felt like I knew what was happening every step of the way. He is extremely intelligent and its obvious that he is well respected. I know 2 other people who he has helped that would share the same comments.

  4. Highly Recommended Attorney

    Posted by Jonathan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Michael took the time to understand my situation, assess our options and explain them to me very clearly. I said 'assess OUR options' because Michael really made me feel like he was in it with me. I would recommend working with Michael without hesitation.

  5. Professional, hard working, knowledgeable attorney-I absolutely recommend him!

    Posted by Sasha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Michael Strauss handled my divorce. He was able to get my divorce filed, in court and finalized effectively and efficiently. During my first meeting with him, he was able to give me very helpful advice as to how to make agreements with my ex-husband. I had never been through anything like this before, and Michael made sure that everything was dealt with so that when my divorce was finalized there were no issues left hanging.
    I would absolutely recommend him to any client looking for a divorce attorney. He truly gives expert advice and is very knowledgeable and professional.

  6. Confident and experienced attorney - Michael Strauss

    Posted by Ramona Carlson, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    My experience with Mr. Strauss was something I will never forget. At such an emotional and critical time in my life, Michael provided me with the confidence and intellect needed. From the simple things to the most complicated, I could count on him. From the beginning to end, he was clear and precise. Thanks to Michael, today I am living a happy life with my children in a healthy atmospere. I would and have recommended him to many people that need a great and honest attorney.

  7. Best attorney in Lake County!

    Posted by Samantha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I would highly recommend Mike Strauss to anyone needing an attorney in Illinois. He is kind, professional and very knowledgeable. His response time is quick and he was always very respectful of my time and feelings. His reputation in Lake County is one of integrity and trust. I am very grateful that I had Mike Strauss as my attorney through a very challenging divorce.

  8. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Edward, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Would highly recommend Mr. Strauss. Very professional. Handled everything in a timely manner and kept me abreast of everything during th process. Took the stress out of divorce process. If you want a hard working , dedicated attorney who has your best interest at heart, Mr. Strauss is the attorney you need to hire.

  9. Wonderful, prompt, trustworthy, knowledgeable, professional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I would like to say a few words about the terrific job that Mike Strauss did for me with my divorce.

    I was probably like most others who find themselves in this position, hurt, stunned and feeling lost and alone. I had little idea of what to expect.

    I could immediately tell at my initial consultation with Mike that he was not only a truly caring person, but had vast experience with divorce situations. Both of these things were very comforting.

    At the initial consultation, I was able to give Mike the details of the breakdown of my marriage and my financial information. From this information Mike was able to give me an a logical plan of action and likely outcomes.

    In my case I chose to move forward with the divorce and Mike did a wonderful job of guiding me through the process. There are ongoing questions that need to be answered as the process evolves and Mike was very responsive answering questions and giving advice in a prompt and efficient manner.

    I would recommend Mike Strauss to anyone finding themselves in the same position that I was, facing a divorce.

  10. Great legal experience.

    Posted by Amy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Strauss.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    I went to Michael Strauss for a child support/custody case and I am so glad I found his law firm. I switched to his services after I felt my other attorney was not giving me the best and most accurate advice. The BEST thing about Mr. Strauss Is that he would always work to help me and fight for my sons best interests but he was realistic as well. He helped me make informed decisions both legally and financially. He never talked down to me or made me feel like my feelings or decisions were insignificant. It was a rough time in my life and he always made me feel safe and confident and I knew that my son and I were being taken care of.

    Mike was always quick to respond even when it was regarding non urgent matters. To me this was very important because I was scared and angry and I had a lot of questions. He has been very trustworthy, friendly, informative, knowledgeable, and hardworking. I had to come back to him regarding my case for more services after a 2 year period and he remembered me and the case. I didn't have to remind him of details which made me feel important to him. Feeling like your attorney cares about you is very reassuring.

    I completely recommend Michael Strauss and am extremely thankful for his dedication to my son and I.

847-213-9065