Gary A. Newland’s Reviews

Gary A. Newland

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. SOLVED MY PROBLEM WITH THE FREE CONSULTATION

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.

    I was looking to hire a lawyer to defend me in a lawsuit so I went for the free consultation. He told me that my homeowners insurance should cover my case. He suggested that I file a claim with my insurance. He was right. His free advise saved me a lot of money and headaches. I am thankful that I went to see him.

  2. An Attorney Who Cares About Your Peace Of Mind

    Posted by Michael, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Sit down with Gary Newland and you begin to feel at ease. Here, in front of you, is a professional—a man known to a lot of people as a friend—who has a thriving Law Practice in the hub of Chicago’s NW suburbs, Arlington Heights. From his pictures, it looks like he has a thriving family as well.

    Sure you need timely and accurate legal advice, and you have made some mistakes along the way, but at no time are you judged. If anything with Gary, he tells you--and you truly feel—that you are not alone in your situation. In itself, that is comforting. But again, the lecture just doesn’t come.

    Hackneyed legal phrases and solutions swirling on the web and plucked off-the-cuff from every legal wannabe you would give ear to gently fade away at the onset of Gary’s questions: “What is in your family’s best interests,” and “what actions will allow you and your wife to sleep well every night?”
    This type of line of questioning continues.
    Adherence to the Law becomes your new tenet as you listen to Gary; even if you were a prudent person previously, your good character and sound practices are strengthened. Gary brings his new brand of Law, a “holistic legal approach,” right to you, meshing many facets of your life into a legal ‘road map’ you will construct with him.

    Funny, but after feeling the ‘punch to the budget’ by corporate attorneys in my professional life, I had no sense of the consultation’s time or any meeting’s time, for that matter—you are on Gary’s Team and he will see you through this difficulty.

    And so it was during my encounters with Gary. I solved my immediate legal problems as quickly as was possible and set up a path with a new network of people in place to ensure that dealings would be handled correctly going forward.

    I believe Gary’s firm handles a wide variety of legal work. My guess after many office visits and many hours speaking with Gary is that his “holistic” approach carries through to his entire staff across all legal arenas. I would highly recommend him for all Law matters—although I am told he excels in Personal Injury, Workers Compensation, Food Poisoning, Foreclosure Ddefense, Estate Planning and Real Estate Law as well.

    8-8, 7 days a week: That might be the answer to the question, “what are his office hours?” He is a hard-working man: Very impressive. Quite often I would receive a response to a quick e-mail; Gary and his staff are always looking to put your mind at ease when they can.
    Finally…..
    The costs involved now appear to be miniscule compared to the return I received—and the sleep I gained: My wife too.
    I highly recommend Gary. Hope your experience is equal to mine.

  3. Knowledgeable and Reasonable

    Posted by jack, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Workers Compensation matter.

    I came to Gary Newland for help because I was injured, fired, was loosing my house and my wife was leaving me. I think I did not really believe things would get better but a friend of mine that was represented by Newland & Newland explained my life was worth fighting for and talked me into meeting with Mr. Newland.

    Mr. Newland explained that the process was not going to be a sprint but a was a marathon and he took a great deal of time to explain how he would be compensated and set me up for a payment plan to save my house from foreclosure.

    He also explained he did not represent folks with divorce and wrongful termination and referred me to other lawyers.

    He handled my work comp claim and was paid in the end and also found out that he could file a personal injury claim as well.

    His staff was very nice and he always called me back but since he is busy it was not as quickly as I would like. Mr. Newland was always willing to meet with me when I was stressed out.

    I have had a total of 4 lawyers and there is a difference.

    I thought it was interesting how when we went to court everyone new him so well from the sheriff to the other attorneys. I felt very comfortable because he was very familiar with the system. People from the court house came up to him and other lawyers asked legal questions of him and it was fascinating to watch and listen.

    This guy is a good guy to have in your corner wants to leave you better. He deserves respect and that is why I call him Mr. Newland even though he asked to be called Gary.

    Everything worked out real well and I have a good life.

  4. Pass This Attorney Up, In Our Experience He Has Emotional Issues - ....

    Posted by Marc, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Foreclosure matter.

    My wife and me hired Attorney Gary Newland to handle two issues, Bankruptcy and Foreclosure as a result of unsuccessful open heart surgery, stroke, etc., loss of income, etc. Gary presented himself as a concerned Attorney with great ideas, and frankly all the reviews we read were positive (boy, would we later find out how badly we judged his character). Gary's staff handled the Bankruptcy fine which we paid him $2,250 in advance (he had no personal involvement, a paralegal and Jr. attorney did everything). We then engaged his services to handle an impending foreclosure. We paid him $1,500 down and began a $500 per month direct withdrawal payment plan to build up a war chest of money to defend the foreclosure when the bank eventually filed sometime in 2014. After paying Gary $4,000 he presented us with a new Retainer Agreement to sign. We told his secretary there was one word in the "Services Provided" section that was labeled, "Delay" that should say, "Foreclosure Defense" and four other words, "Qualified Written Demand/Request" that needed to be deleted because he did not provide that service. A few days later, and without any forewarning Gary calls at 8:00 am and tells us over our speakerphone in a very angry voice, "NOBODY QUESTIONS MY RETAINERS, AND I DOUBT YOU WILL BE SATISFIED WITH THE FINAL OUTCOME, AND BY THE WAY, I QUIT AND YOU'RE NOT GETTING THE $4,000 YOU'VE PAID ME SO FAR". After making an objection to his threat a few days later to his secretary at his office about keeping all our money (and we still haven't been served with any foreclosure papers), a few days later we get most, but not all of our money back in the mail.

    1. Gary A. Newland

      Gary A. Newland

      Lawyer Comment:

      I can only hope that everything works out for this person. It is unfortunate our relationship did not work out.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Works Hard and Smart

    Posted by Jose, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Got what I paid paid for and a great deal more. Gary Newland always told me what I could expect and was always there to answer my questions. He has a excellent team that does a great job as well.

    I was referred to Gary Newland by another attorney who is a friend of mine. He said Gary is the best and I agree.

  6. Truly excellent lawyer

    Posted by Steve, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary is not only an excellent lawyer, he is an excellent person. He has a way of handling stressful situations in a very calm and understanding matter. He handled my situation to perfection and maximized what I could get out of it.

    Highly recommended.

  7. Thank you Gary

    Posted by Alex, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met with several lawyers before hiring Gary Newland. Gary had a systematic approach for dealing with my issues and I had several. He said how important it was to leave me better over all.

    Basically Newland and Newland LLP represented me in a workers compensation case and a personal injury case. With money collected my family is taken care of and I will not need to return to work. He also got me a loan modification on my house.

    The firm also represented my parents and helped them keep their home.

    Gary always got back to me when I called although sometimes not as quickly as I would like but would even call me on weekends and evenings

  8. When you need help go to Newland & Newland LLP

    Posted by Rex, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    It is a long story but I have 14 properties left and had 20 investment properties. Gary and his firm got me out of a mess. Several lawyers referred me so I new who to use for my problem. I went form being over 5000 cash flow negative to over 6000 cash flow positive. Got out of several bad real estate investments and I did not need to file for bankruptcy. I also had a second mortgage foregiven and 14 loan modifications.

    Talked with many lawyers but the only that really understood was Gary.

    The fees were reasonable and the temperment and professionalism is outstanding.

  9. Made it look easy.

    Posted by Debbie, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went to see Mr. Newland after being referred to him by by both a friend and independently a lawyer who knows of him for a personal injury. Mr. Newland took charge of my case and filed a lawsuit within a week of being hired. I recieved my settlement in less than a year and it was more than I could have expected.

    His brother Steve Newland also did a Chapter 13 bankruptcy for my best friend and she thinks Steve Newland is great.

  10. He has changed my life and is the only lawyer I will ever use!

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Newland.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A genuine person that actually cares. Gary represented me in several matters. He was the third lawyer I had met with and seemed to know as much about how my knee as my doctor. He even explained things about my knee that my doctor did not have the time to explain. Anyways I hired him and he always returned my phone calls and explained to me what would happen. When the case was over I new I had gone to the best.
    Latter

Call now for a free consultation.

847-797-8000