Edward Randolph Shaw’s Reviews

Edward Randolph Shaw

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Good divorce lawyer

    Posted by Janet, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Ed for my divorce. My husband and I had been living separate lives for quite some time, but just hadn't filed for divorce. Ed fit me in as a walk-in appointment and met with me immediately. He let me know the divorce process and made it much less scary to think about. From start to finish he let me know what was going on and his staff was always available to help. I greatly appreciated his help on this.

  2. Avoid this Sleeze bag

    Posted by Sam, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Child Custody matter.

    If this guy cared half as much about His cliets as he does about hugging trees we wouldn have a problem. All Ed did for us was LIE in our consultaion, Take our money and send us bils. He wouldn't explain extra charges, his secretary, poor sole and himself got irritated by us questioning them about added charges for things he did not do. On the day of court He forced us to change our affidavit 5 min before court which screwed us in the matter all because it would make LESS work for him.

    He will do the least amount of work possible for his clients.by hiring ED he caused our family way more damage then we had had before. We could have done what he did for us for free! Which was nothing by the way. He will tell you anything to get that retainer and then right when you think your done with mr ed and his antics he says you you owe more.

  3. Never hire attorney Edward Shaw!

    Posted by Francine, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Family matter.

    All he cares about is pocketing your cash. Once he runs through your original agreed upon retainer (rarely less than $2500) he sends you monthly bills in the mail. I had an outstanding balance of $32 which I paid, and he wanted me to send in another retainer for $800. When i questioned his secretary, he sent me a post dated motion removing himself from my case as a ransom for the money! This man is the worst kind of sleaze!

    1. Edward Randolph Shaw

      Edward Shaw

      Lawyer Comment:

      Francine,

      I regret that our relationship seemed to have ended poorly. I do my best to be reasonable with retainer fees, but some cases and matters do have costs above and beyond the original retainer amount. This would have been specified in the fee agreement that we both signed. I appreciate your feedback on this issue. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  4. Bafoon

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Guy took my money for the whole case - would not do anything but plea bargin. Very disappointed I will have to settle with prosecution on my own for something I did not do. Do Not hire!!!! Stay away

  5. Excellent, professional representation

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was not looking forward to having to filing for bankruptcy protection, but when I had to do it, Ed and his staff helped make it as easy as possible. They were great in making sure I had every detail covered and I felt well prepared as a result. They helped guide me through any questions I had while filing, and kept me very well informed as to what to expect. Marcia deserves praise for a job well done, and Anna really went above and beyond, driving thru a blizzard to help in my representation. (Thank you again Anna!!) I could not be happier with the service I received.

  6. Big money no Results

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Originally told that he could handle my case, then after paying him he acted like he didn't know what to do. Showed up late to court both hearings. Didn't do anything and let the other attorney walk all over him. Charged us for his secretary having to rewrite our many statements over and over because they couldn't get them right. Charged me for things that he wouldn't explain. One year and $15,000 later no results. I would NEVER recommend him to anyone. I just wish someone would have warned me. I am turning him in to the State Bar Association. Hopefully he won't be able to hurt another family.

  7. disappointing

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Shaw.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I did not find him very helpful in the process I was going thru. I had to ask pointed questions and that wasn't something I should have had to do. Wasn't forthcoming. And a good lawyer would tell you where you should start. Give you the process and help you thru it. He did not. Was not satisfied. I would would keep looking if I were you.