Sarah Martha Macgillis’s Reviews

Sarah Martha Macgillis

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Lawyer you can trust

    Posted by Lisa,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.

    Sarah Macgillis was the right Lawyer for me when i had to go before the board of nursing.At our first meeting she was upfront,listened carefully,very understanding and very knowledgeable. From the first moment I shook her hand I knew she was the right choice. She explained to me what to expect. Helped me prepare my response and also prepared me when I had to go before the board of nursing. She always answered my e-mails or phone calls very promptly..My outcome was in my favor but had it gone differently I still would be happy with my choice in Sarah..I feel it is just important to have a lawyer with compassion for her job and people as it is to have knowledge and intelligence. Sarah has everything to make a great lawyer and that is why I believe she is above alot of her fellow attorneys.

  2. Top Notch!

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 6-12 months ago.
    • Sarah handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sarah walked me through a very difficult situation. She gave me sound advice and encouragement. She patiently answered my questions and explained things so I understood and never was surprised by situations. She is knowledgeable, personable and confident. Her mannerisms helped me to relax and not be stressed out through the entire process. I would recommend her to anyone.

  3. Sarah You Rock

    Posted by Lori, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Licensing matter.

    Sarah represented me in front of the Nursing Board. She was very knowledgeable regarding their procedures. She made me feel comfortable and confident. I could not have won my case with out her.
    She is an excellent lawyer and would highly recommend her.

  4. I highly recommend Ms. Mac Gillis

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.

    As a former investigator I have had the experience of working with many attorneys. Sarah represented the people I was investigating so we were in opposition of each other. I found Sarah to be extremely knowledgeable of her clients cases to the point where she seemed to have as much, if not more, information on the case than me. Sarah always knew the laws we were dealing with and made her clients feel at ease during our interviews, which I am sure were very stressful for them. Sarah always treated me with respect while pushing for a speedy disposition. Sarah clearly has her clients best interests at heart. She is intelligent, compassionate and works hard for her clients. If I ever needed an attorney, she would be the first person I would call.

  5. Great lawyer

    Posted by Yemi, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sarah is a knowledgeable,confident,compassionate and trustworthy lawyer. I appreciate how she represented me at the board of nursing.I will recommend her to anyone at anytime. She is a great lawyer.

    I

  6. Defense of a Teacher Who Admittedly Made a Mistake

    Posted by Sam, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am an experienced teacher who has taught for many years with no problems or mistakes. This past year I made a mistake of completely forgetting about a student that I had placed in a quiet setting to work on an assignment. This happened before a lunch/recess break and I did not realize my forgetfulness until after returning to the classroom. I immediately realized my mistake, apologized to the student and the student's parents, and took full responsibility for this mistake.

    What happened next to me was a 6 month nightmare. I was accused of purposely punishing and abandoning the student, suspended without pay for 5 days, and accused of numerous undocumented teaching flaws and omissions by my principal who I had numerous union contract issues with me and many other teachers. I was the union rep for our school for many years. I admitted my mistake and I was really taken back by the aggressive attack on me by the administration and then by the MDE investigator.

    Sarah Macgillis was the union provided lawyer who was excellent in preparing me for the MDE interview. She knew the child neglect law well and stressed points where previous principal generated reports had negatively affected the severity of my mistake. I felt I was well prepared for my MDE interview. Sarah Macgillis continued to fight for me after the MDE interview and was prepare to make an appeal if the investigator's ruling was that I purposely neglected a student. The outcome was that I did not purposely neglect a student. After negotiations between my union and the district, 4 days of pay were returned to me. One day of lost pay is a punishment that is more just for a mistake I made while trying to help a student learn by completing an assignment in a quiet place. Thanks again Sarah!

  7. Excellent! Very professional and extremely knowledgeable!! Great person to have on your side.

    Posted by Cathy, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sarah represented me for a case with the board of nursing. She is very familiar with the board and knows exactly what occurs during the actual conference. She was very thorough and kept me informed every step of the way. She explained to me exactly what I would see, hear and experience and was right by my side during the conference providing me support and would step in when I would lose my thought process.

  8. Above and Beyond Representation!!!

    Posted by Nicole, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sarah represented me for criminal charges in the educational field. Sarah was very professional, compassionate, and VERY knowledgeable in representing me. With her dedication and support no one knew my case more thoroughly than Sarah. She always made me feel at ease and helped me understand a situation I never thought I would encounter.

    I am honored to be writing a review and would recommend Sarah to anyone. Sarah has expressed so much kindheartedness toward my family and myself. I cannot thank Sarah enough for EVERYTHING!

  9. Excellent Service for State Board Conference

    Posted by a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sarah MacGillis represented me for a conference with my licensing Board. My case involved my health and required a lengthy and complicated review of my medical record. Sarah asked the tough questions and helped me to focus on the areas that she knew, from experience, the Board was going to focus on. I went into my conference with the Board VERY well prepared and confident in myself and plan. My case was dismissed by the Board and I am so grateful to Sarah for helping through that extremely difficult time. Not only did she prepare me, as I have already stated, she also cared about me. She was available, empathetic, kind, encouraging and always honest with me. I would like to share the letter I wrote Sarah after she had prepared me for the Board.
    Dear Sarah,
    Thank you so much for your hard work.
    I can honestly say I feel humbled by the response you have helped me present for the Board.
    I feel privileged to have worked with someone so patient, non-judgemental and honest.
    Even with all this seriousness, you have allowed the experience to have some lighter moments and that has helped me tremendously.

    This has been such a scary time. "I couldn't have done this without you" is a phrase that can be over used. However, it is certainly the case here.
    Again, thank you for helping me to present these responses in a honest and still positive light.

    I give Sarah my highest recommendations, without reservations.

  10. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Gerry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sarah Macgillis.
    • I hired Sarah 1-3 years ago.
    • Sarah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sarah always gave me the time I needed to fully understand every aspect of our case. I'd ask questions and she would promptly reply with informative instructions/advice. I was impressed with her work ethic and all the help she gave me. She is very personable, knowledgeable and helpful. I had never had dealings with attorneys before and heard horror stories, but Sarah is a true gem in the world of lawyers.