Alan Barry Goldfarb’s Reviews

Alan Barry Goldfarb

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thorough and knowledgable

    Posted by Mufaddal, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.

    He is very thorough. I had applied for EB1 green card. Alan put in lot of effort and submitted such a through I-140application that it got approved without any RFEs. Just for comparison, other's who filed EB1 (B) s from India during this time period invariably had RFEs (USCIS policy).

    Alan is very prompt and responsive. He followed up with USCIS and got responses from them (which is typically hard to do).

  2. OPT to H1B to Green Card

    Posted by Sameer, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.

    Alan helped me through the process of getting my OPT converted to a Green Card. The process took 7 years or so and during this period, Alan has been very helpful in answering any questions I had in lingo that was understood by me. He also did that very promptly with patience. I always sensed genuineness in his desire to help me and be as comfortable as I could with the entire process. I really appreciate every bit of help he provided and recommend him for all the services that he specializes in.

  3. CR1 marriage-base visa petition

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.

    Alan is pleasant, responsive and professional immigration attorney. I hire him to represent my marriage-base CR1 visa for my wife who is living in Cambodia. His legal fees and payment options is very reasonable. I strongly recommend Alan for all immigration matters.

  4. My Green Card

    Posted by Baizhou, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan assisted me and my family with our U. S. employment-based immigration filing with great efficiency and effectiveness. In addition, I can always count on Alan to provide expert advices. There are a few times I need to know if my planned action would impact my application, and Alan provided me with timely and accurate suggestions. Alan always responds to e-mails promptly. He and his team is very experienced.

  5. Alan Goldfarb is a denpendable lawyer

    Posted by Dongmei, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan Goldfarb is a very helpful person, very patient and capable attorney. We appreciate his great help for the permanent residences of my family and myself.

  6. Alan Goldfarb is a depandable person

    Posted by Shankar Venkateswaran, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Alan helped to get my PR in the U.S. He is a sharp, steady, polite, knowledgeable and man of few words for his clients. He is always to the point and provides information at the right time for his clients. I will recommand Alan Goldfarb to friends who is looking for an immigration lawyer.

  7. H1B, Greencard Application

    Posted by a client, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I read other reviews about Alan before I write my own, and not surprisingly, those words could have been written by myself.

    Above all, Alan is a good human being, who understands the agony involved in having to deal with immigration issues for foreign nationals whose careers are in the US, but need to travel abroad a lot for family emergencies and business. He would warn me in advance for potential problems with my visa and gently prompt me to apply for an appropriate document in time for travel.

    Alan was responsible for my H1B application and renewal, and handled my greencard application. During the 5 years while my greencard application was pending, I changed my job and left Minneapolis. I was very happy to find out that I did not need to switch to another lawyer, so I continued with Alan. I have had many email exchanges and several phone conversations with Alan at different stages of my application, and he has always responded in a timely fashion with precise information. I have never had to worry about any part of the procedure or guess where things stand.

    Now that my immigration issue is fully resolved, I can devote all my energy to my work. For that, I am truly grateful for Alan's help. In addition, Alan's professionalism is something that I can learn from.

  8. Alan’s first-rate work resulted in our goal of permanent residency.

    Posted by Karl, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan was recommend to my wife and I by a leading Minneapolis law firm. He was unfailingly polite and patient as he led us through the permanent residency procedures for my Japanese wife. After a minor hiccup with the government during the review process, Alan stepped in and immediately took action to rectify the problem, ultimately resulting in my wife being granted permanent residency.

    I strongly recommend him, and found his rates and payment options to be very reasonable.

  9. My Green Card: EB1, I-140, I-485, etc.!

    Posted by Alejandro, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan took very good care of my change of status application (EB-1), was very systematic in building our case and relentless in making sure all the necessary evidence was there. He was uniquely efficient in keeping in touch with me and updating me in record time on all and every development in my case. We had some challenging moments since my claim to the EB-1 status was based on a very specialized activity within the music and academic industries, one that took a fair ammount of familiarity with both fields to properly understand and efficiently explain and defend before the USCIS. But he clearly made the most out of all the materials and extensive and rather boring and technical explanations I made available to him, since after one Request for Additional Evidence from the USCIS, my petition was approved without further ado. On a personal level, I would like to point out his seemingly endless cool to deal with everything - a quality I am notoriously devoid of, and that, in his case, is certainly a priceless professional assett. Also, it is important to note that he took personal care of the communication with the client: if a call of mine was picked by an intern, he would personally return it, usually within minutes, and olways the same day.

  10. Professional Immigration Lawyer in a True Sense

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Goldfarb.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He is a professional immigration lawyer in a true sense (not just by credentials like many others) who always stands by people, not profit or personal interest. While it is so easy to find immigration lawyers whose primary agenda is to squeeze money out of their clients, he is absolutely one of a kind - who has a right mind and attitude as a legal professional. I really appreciated his responsiveness, knowledge, and flexibility to get things done quickly and effectively for my green card. I will definitely recommend him to anyone who will need legal supports in immigration, as I'm certain they will enjoy the professionalism he will provide.