David J Kelly’s Reviews

David J Kelly

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hard times

    Posted by Isiah,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Kelly.

    To be painfully honest, I am a prideful guy and filing for bankruptcy is admitting failure. Dave has the rare gift of knowing that you feel that way, without ever making you feel that way. His questions will be direct and your response will not be judged. He actually cares about the well being of his clients to a fault and takes it personal. There are a gazillion lawyers and this process is scary as h!!! But..if you are here you are truly in good hands.

  2. Outstanding service!

    Posted by John,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.

    David gave us exemplary service and attention for our case. He is knowledgeable, professional and gave us a feeling that he truly cared for our situation at all times. I think what sets him apart from other lawyers I have dealt with is his willingness to go the extra mile for you. He makes you feel you are in good hands and he was always a pleasure to work with. Highly recommended!

  3. Thanks much.

    Posted by Dallas, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 11 Bankruptcy matter.

    David was the first lawyer that actually educated me instead of just trying to answer the least amount of questions to get the job. His videos on youtube are what attracted me in the first place. Very informative. He took the fear out of bankruptcy while maintaining a healthy respect of the process and possible snags. If he doesn't know the answer, he'll find it instead of making assumptions. Very experienced and connected. I do wish I had minimized my cushion of exemptions better, but it's better safe than sorry.

  4. Excellent advice!

    Posted by Ann, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy & Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Just a comment to say thanks to David Kelly for his time and advice. Because of his generous feedback and referrals, we know know what resources are at my father's disposal. My father's future is now more secure. Thank you David Kelly for your help!

  5. Dave Kelly is a lawyer you can trust and feel confident that your case will be handled correctly.

    Posted by Tina, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very nervous about filing for bankruptcy and Dave put me at ease with his demeanor, knowledge and thoroughness. By the time we went to the hearing I felt confident that Dave had completed my paperwork to perfection. He takes the time to make sure he has all the necessary information, he communicates clearly and timely and makes sure you understand all the details. Dave was a pleasure to work with and I highly recommend him to anyone who is considering filing bankruptcy.

  6. Thorough and easy to work with

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dave handled our Chapter 7 bankruptcy case and was fantastic. He was very responsive, tech savvy, easy to work with and followed up on everything. He made sure to brief us on what to expect during the hearing and made a rather stressful experience go far more smoothly. He's great about electronic communication and completing various parts of the process online, while also offering generous in-person availability. We found his rates very reasonable for the amount of time he spent making sure every last detail of our case was attended to.

  7. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Lynn from Minnesota, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David Kelly handled our case with excellence. Some
    time after our case was complete, some additional
    problems came up. He continued to help and made
    a positive difference.

  8. Very happy with Dave Kelly as our attorney

    Posted by Jim, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and I are very happy with our choice to use Dave Kelly as our lawyer. He was on the ball from day one, covering every detail and ensuring our case was solid and we felt at ease. When it was time for the hearing it all went smoothly and without any problems. We were very impressed and we highly recommend him to others.

  9. Peace of mind and fresh start with a Pro

    Posted by Matt, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David is a very ethical, judicious, and helpful attorney. He helps you put your mind at ease and double and triple checks all the details and confirms you have got a solid foundation of a case before filling a Chapter 7 (in my case) for you. I would highly recommend him to anyone with credit scars, judgments, etc. Rather if to no fault of your own, self-caused or anywhere in between. David helps make the best of a less then prideful situation manageable, and helps in process of putting it behind you for a fresh start.

  10. Thank you for the peace of mind!

    Posted by Laurie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kelly.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am on the verge of bankruptcy and feel like a fish surrounded by piranhas, because EVERY lawyer seems to want my business, which makes me very nervous. (And how did they get my information anyway?)

    I decided to call for myself and found David on the internet. Speaking with him was like talking to an old friend. There was no sales pitch, no schmoozing...only solid counsel, over the phone, to determine if a face-to-face meeting would be in order, which left me feeling very comfortable, and like he had my best interest in mind. While I know he is running a practice which needs to make money, I appreciated his honesty about my situation, and I will probably not file for bankruptcy at this time.

    After having had bad lawyer experiences in the past, I was reluctant to trust another individual with enough knowledge to absolve him/herself from any responsibility for her/his own neglect. But after my conversation with David, it is clear to me that my past experiences with a dishonest attorney are not the norm.

    I hope my situation works itself out. And if I ever do need to file, I WILL absolutely retain his services!!