Michael James Brandt’s Reviews

Michael James Brandt

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An Angel of a Lawyer

    Posted by Brooke, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Michael Brandt is an outstanding lawyer. I felt very blessed to have had him represent me through my whole legal ordeal. At a young age with no past experience dealing with the legal system, I had no idea what to expect but the worst. Michael made me feel like there was hope and provided me with the strength to forge forward. I was looking for a lawyer who cared and that's exactly what Michael did. He cared about my case and it was shown. I appreciated the amount of information he gave me walking me through each step and keeping me up to date as everything played out. He mad it clear communication was number one priority. I felt very comfortable being able to call even with what I may call "stupid questions" but he let me know no question was dumb, that's what he was there for; direct, inform and answer. He went above an beyond what I expected from a lawyer. A compassionate and caring soul equipped with determination, justice and knowledge. What better characteristics could you ask for in a lawyer? I absolutely recommened Michael Brandt for anyone's lawyer or anyone who may have made a mistake and need that second chance. Michael allowed me to obtain that and I am forever greatful and appreciate him and his work beyond mountains. Without Michael I don't feel I would have been able to get through everything on a emotional level as well as a legal level. He made a big difference in my life impacting it for the better. To me Michael Brandt was my gaurdian angel, more valuable than gold. I truly felt he was an angel sent down in one of the roughest times of my life. Again, just an amazing lawyer. God bless his soul!

    -Brooke B.

  2. Brandt Defense Goes Over The Top

    Posted by Rob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Michael Brandt And The whole Brandt Defense Team
    Went over the top in handaling my early release from probation case
    They were able to get the case pushed through very quickly
    Mike speaks with confidance and makes you feel like he does care about you
    I would not only recommend them i would hire them if needed again

    Thanks again


    Rob N

  3. awesome attorneys

    Posted by Brian, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Michael Brandt at Brandt Criminal Defense to defended my daughter in a criminal vehicular case and found them to be outstanding. I interviewed several law firms and right from the get go we knew they were the firm to use. His knowledge of the laws and his approach to our case could not have been better. He is extremely professional and I would highly recommend him to anyone needing legal help at any level. Children tend to learn about life the hard way and I will use him exclusively for any future problems we encounter.

    Thank you Mr. Brandt.

    BH

  4. Mike guided our son through a very difficult new world of legal issues with skill and compassion

    Posted by Jeff, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.

    We would highly recommend working with Mike. We were very impressed with Mike's professional approach. Dealing with legal issues was a whole new world for us. He guided our son (and us) through the process with a skilled, compassionate style that put us at ease. He is honest, fair and definitely the right choice to have on your side

  5. I am very lucky to have worked with Mike.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.

    Mike did an outstanding job and communicated every step of the process very clearly. I am very fortunate and glad to have worked with Mike and would highly recommend him.

  6. A real Pro

    Posted by Brian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael and his team were very professional, courteous, and armed with all the right answers for what we needed. He guided us through the process in a way I expect from a pro and ultimately got the results we wanted. Thanks.

  7. Absolutely outstanding- could not have asked for more

    Posted by Patrick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was arrested while working in MN(I live out of state). The criminal charges that were assessed by the county would have destroyed my life and career. After looking at lawyers in the area, I settled on Mike Brandt. From the beginning, Mike was responsive and sympathetic to the gravity of my situation. After my initial consultation, there was no pressure from him for me to retain his services immediately. I chose Mike because of his expertise in handling criminal cases, knowledge/familiarity with local courts and personnel, and finally the impression he made upon the first time we met. Mike responded to each and every question I ever asked in full detail. He continually asked what the impact of various outcomes would have on my life and career. Mike was not only concerned with the legal ramifications of my case, but empathized and offered moral support the entire time my case was proceeding through the legal process. His staff was completely responsive and professional. As I didn't live in MN, Mike and his staff were exceedingly accommodating by communicating most of the time via email(and phone whenever I called).

    Every step of the way(it was a long process), Mike would explain everything that he was doing, what it meant to me, and any possible alternatives. Even in the face of what looked like negotiations breaking down with the county, Mike kept pressing a very key point in my case that swung the prosecutor in the end. Ultimately, Mike was successful in my felony charge being dismissed and I only received a petty misdemeanor. My life and career were saved.

    Without a doubt I made the right choice to hire Mike. I couldn't ask for more. If you are upfront with him, he will give you well informed, straight up advice and answers. I would recommend him to anyone in MN needing a lawyer. Hopefully I won't need legal representation again, but if I did, I would be calling Brandt Criminal Defense and retaining Mike.

    Thanks again Mike!

  8. MICHAEL IS AN ASSET TO HIS PROFESSION! THANK YOU!!!

    Posted by Thomas, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Michael for a number of matters and I have yet to meet an attorney as honest and ethical and skilled as he. He always returns all of my phone calls / emails, keeps me informed every step of the way and always sticks to the game plans we discuss when we first meet. He never made promises he could not keep and was extremely fair with his fees. Michael impressed me with his knowledge of the laws and his courtroom presence and demeanor. Michael is down to earth and treated me with respect and was never arrogant nor condescending to me or anybody he dealt with in court (prosecutor / judge, etc.). I would recommend Micheal to anybody in need of an attorney. He certainly changed my view that attorneys are sleazy cheats. He is an asset to his profession.
    The individual whose comments are also posted is certainly entitled to his opinion, but he portrays Michael in a way that is entirely contrary to my experience. Thank you Mike for all of your help. I should also mention that his entire staff was always helpful and friendly when I would call! Please keep up the great work!

  9. He's got my money, I guess that's what counts

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Brandt.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My crime was commited under the influence of prescription medications, though I did not realize it at the time -- It was only when I became suicidal and stopped taking them did the fog lift. So there I was, charged with Terroristic Threats, a felony.
    I wanted to clear my name and go to trial, but Mr. Brandt said it would be too expensive and urged me to plead guilty to 5th Degree Assault, saying it was only one level above Disorderly Conduct, basically a 'nothing' charge. I felt guilty, so I did as he suggested.
    A minor charge? Not true! 5th Degree Assault is considered a 'crime of violence' by all employers, and my professional reputation is ruined. Not even Taco Bell will hire me with that on my record. I've lost my house, any chance of future employment, any chance of retirement.
    Maybe he's completely ignorant of the impact a criminal record can have on someone's life, but wouldn't you expect that kind of knowledge from a criminal defense attorney?