David Duwayne Kingsbury’s Reviews

David Duwayne Kingsbury

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An extremely helpful lawyer

    Posted by jeff, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David guided us through our legal process with a thorough knowledge of all pertinent issues. He returned calls and got his work completed on time even when we sent him some information at the last minute. He kept us informed and was a good mediator for us. We would definitely recommend David Kingsbury to others.

  2. Helped me through a difficult time

    Posted by Rich, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was apprehensive about beginning and completing the process of filing for bankruptcy. From the first consultation until the final meeting with the trustee and the weeks following, David and Cathy made me feel like I was in good hands. David is intelligent, professional and understanding and I would absolutely recommend him to a friend or family member.

  3. Definitely Recommend

    Posted by Jeff L, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Was recommended by another lawyer. David helped us file Ch. 7 and 13 bankruptcy. We sat in court waiting to meet with the trustee and saw first hand how other people and lawyers seemed unprepared and seem to struggle with the trustee's question's. Our meeting with the trustee went smooth which I attribute to having David giving us proper guidance and direction. I met with other bankruptcy lawyers, but David is the one I used for filing and would recommend him.

  4. Honest, Upfront, Experienced

    Posted by Clinton, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    My wife and I had an excellent experience with Mr. Kingsbury handling our bankruptcy case. The initial consultation was very easy and informative. We had all of our initial questions answered in less than 2 hours and knew what to expect and when we needed to have everything together to progress the case. He even brought up something that I had no idea could and was going to happen that saved us another $5,000. We had a vehicle that we were going to reaffirm the loan on and keep, however we also had a credit card that were were including in the case from the same lender and he mentioned there usually is a clause that states the lender will move your debt from the credit card to the vehicle if you decide to keep it. Most inexperienced lawyers wouldn't even think to bring that up unless you say something first but who honestly knows there vehicle purchase terms inside and out like that, I had no idea what cross-collateralization was. He is very experienced and upfront in telling you what needs to be done, what you shouldnt do, what to expect, how much it will cost, timelines, ect. Great service, I hope we never have to file again, but if we did, we would be back and we will definately refer him to anyone we know that can benefit from this service. Thanks so much!

  5. Wonderful experience

    Posted by Jacklyn, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Mr. Kingsbury was very professional and handled my case with ease. I had talked to three other attorneys before Mr. Kingsbury and knew from the minute I met him that he would be able to handle my case. He made the process very understandable and kept me well informed throughout. His assistant Cathy was wonderful as well, any time that I had a question she responded back to my e-mail or phone call right away. My wages had been garnished and Mr. Kingsbury was able to go back to the company that garnished my wages and get all the money that had been taken from my paycheck before I filed my case!! He's a super nice guy and has a great sense of humor too!!

  6. Help during a very hard time in my life

    Posted by Beth, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I met with Mr. Kingsbury in the summer of 2013 and he was very knowledgeable and understanding of my situation. He explained my options to me and we worked through the best course of action. Mr. Kingsbury was a very a great advocate to have during a very hard financial time in my life, his assistant was also very helpful. Both always did what they said, were friendly and timely. I would highly recommend David for anyone facing a bankruptcy.

  7. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Keith, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    My whole bankruptcy process went smoothly from beginning to end thanks to David Kingsbury and his staff at the Kingsbury law office. Starting from the free consultation he gathered all my information and we discussed my filing options. We also talked about reaffirmation agreements for my vehicles. After paying him the fees they started the paperwork and provided me with step by step instructions on what information they needed from me and a timeline for my case. They were very easy to work with and Cathy was excellent at answering any of my questions and providing clarification when needed. I highly recommend David Kingsbury.

  8. BEWARE OF THIS ATTORNEY!!

    Posted by Laurie, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    BEWARE!! I retained Mr. Kingsbury with the intent of filing bankruptcy. My brother and I met with him for the "free" consultation. Paid him $1,900.00 for the bankruptcy. I completed the first credit counseling class and they pulled my credit report. My mom unexpectedly passed away and I was left a small inheritance. My brother and I both sent a couple of emails regarding this and how it would affect the bankruptcy. After weighing the options, I ended up settling on my accounts and paid them off.
    I emailed Mr. Kingsbury of the change in plans and asked him to send the rest of the money to my brother, which he received yesterday!! Kingsbury kept $1,600.00! BEWARE, BEWARE!! He charged us 700.00 for the "free" consultation!! And also $350.00 per hour for every thing else!! Not even very good lawyers charge this kind of fee!!
    Once you give this man your payment-don't expect it back even if you drop the bankruptcy!! If you do - good luck to you!!

  9. I learned a hard, expensive lesson. He is not the only BR attorney around!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    If you are bankrupt do not retain Kingsbury! In my opinion he is a piece of work! Read on! I retained Mr. Kingsbury upon my first initial conference based on Mr. Kingsbury 20 years of experience and his display of self confidence. I thought I was good to go. Boy Howdy! was I wrong! Have had the misfortune of having some serious health issues in my family and being underinsured in the past 15 years. One of the most recent situations was my spouse with terminal cancer. If I have learned anything through it all my love for life and people has been enhanced and have just learned to roll with the punches. That's just what happened to me again with Mr. Kingsbury at the helm of the giant roller in my opinion! Kingsbury and I decided a late January 2013 was the appropriate time to file the bankruptcy petition with the court. He did some basic intake on the first visit He stated his fee was $2400.00 for my case which he seemed to have pulled out the sky in my opinion when I look back on it. I think that was my fault because I mentioned I would be getting about $3000.00 in December or January from my late mothers estate if all went well. December 31st I had to let my COBRA health insurance lapse because of financial pressures. Of course, it just so happened I got very sick and had huge medical bills starting the first of the year through the end of April this year. In the interim though I was able to get Mr. Kingsbury paid half of his fee during this time and communicated to him what was happening with me early on because I did receive a rather curt email from his support staff telling me to get my balance paid in full because they were ready to file my case. I responded and told them I had been sick, in the hospital twice at the Mayo Clinic missed over two weeks of work, it only seemed prudent and responsible to not file bankruptcy until I was sure that I at a point when the bills were all in from that bout of illness. He agreed, said he did not realize that was I was having health issues and would waive his usual "update" fee of $300.00 since I had not filed in January as planned. Between November and April his office took some calls from my creditors since I had paid $1400.00 on the case. Starting in late March early April I sent Mr. Kingsbury an email to let him know that I had lost my job, my wife had started a new job, my medical issues were resolved for the most part and that I had another $800.00 ready to send that day and could pay by the remaining $300.00 balance by the filing date and had most of my homework finished and we would be ready to go the last week of April and thanked him. His response to that communication from me was unexpected, reprehensible and horrific! He sent me a really nasty and extremely condecending email, telling me he was tired of me calling the shots, he was the attorney with 22 years experience, referred to my wife and I as "clients like us" blah, blah, very lengthy, insulting and condescending in its whole. After I gathered my thoughts I returned a short reply asking if what he meant was should we schedule another meeting to consider the few changes that has occurred since the first intake?
    Also, I stated I did not feel comfortable putting more money in the case until after we met since he had many new concerns now, thanked him for his kind and professional service. Hence, I did not send him my additional $800.00 I had worked very hard to obtain in order to meet our April 30th filing date. He made it very clear he did not want to meet again until I had all my homework finished. Within the next 48 hours another horrific email arrived from him stating he was dropping my case, there might be a refund, it would take him a few days to complete his billing on the closed case. Got the billing. $350.00 per hour for my first phone call to him before we met and retained him! He charged me $175.00-$350.00 per hour! His final bill $1600.00! I got a new attorney, spent more money, met our April 30th deadline!

  10. I highly recommend Kingsbury Law Office

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kingsbury.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I highly recommend Kingsbury Law Office; I talked to two other law offices and then I found Kingsbury Law office online, their website has so much information and was very helpful in explaining how the bankruptcy process works, also I learned that unlike the other law offices that I visited bankruptcy is the only thing they do. Everyone in the office is understanding and professional. They were able to answer all our questions from day one. The free consultation is so much more then just a consultation, they take the time and go over all of the information about you and are able to answer all your questions during the consultation, unlike others law offices that give you 15 or 20 minutes of their time for free, Kingsbury Law office spent around two hours going over my information and explaining the bankruptcy process to me. I left the consultation with all of my questions answered and with the knowledge to decide if bankruptcy was the answer for me. Thank You Kingsbury Law Office.