Christopher Matthew Banas’s Reviews

Christopher Matthew Banas

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Divorce Attorney in Minnesota!

    Posted by Vanessa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently have been going through a difficult divorce with a person who has not cooperated and has shown no respect for me or the process. Chris is an excellent attorney. We had a mediation date set, and I was sure we would not have a resolution, but through Chris’ hard work both during mediation and behind the scenes, we not only came to an agreement, but an agreement that was very fair for me and believe me ex did not want that. Chris has been on top f every issues, including getting the opposing attorney to move forward.

    I have now worked with Chris for 6 months on this matter and he has not only been an excellent attorney, but his communication is excellent. I am out of State and he has been very responsive to email, phones, calls or anything else I have needed. He has welcomed my mother, who is an attorney, into the process without any issues.

    Chris also takes the time to know you as a person. Each time I have talked to Chris he genuinely wants to know how I am and if there is anything he can do.

    I truly believe I could not have found a better attorney and highly recommend him to anyone going through a divorce.

    Respectfully,

    Vanessa L

  2. I Learned a lot

    Posted by Sarah, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Glad it's over. I learned and grew a little more through the process. Got my focus back where it belongs-into more constructive ventures. Thank you Chris.

  3. Patience

    Posted by John, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Chris,
    I want to sincerely thank you for all you did for me and my family. I know it was a long and arduous jorney and I really don't know what we would have done without your help. It is really too bad that it had to take so long and I truly hope you never have to go through another one like this. Your patience is remarkable. I still haven't lost faith in the ability of people to treat each other with dignity and understanding, although for a while I really questioned it. Cheers!

  4. Thank you!

    Posted by Derek, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Thanks Chris!
    I really apprecitate everything you have done for me. I don't think I would have been able to get thru this entire process from five years ago to today without you. Thanks!

  5. A Total Waste of Money

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Christopher Matthew Banas is a total waste of your money. I hired him for my divorce and restraining order cases. He not only breached the contract agreement, but he also complicated the case and left me unable to defend myself of with over 100 counts of false and malicious criminal allegations against me and in both the civil and criminal courts. I sued him for the breach of contract and, consequently, he was fired from the law firm, Hellmuth & Johnson PLLC. Because of his breach of contract and complicating the case, I’ve lost over $80,000 to defend myself from these cases.

    1. Maury Devereau Beaulier

      Maury Beaulier

      Lawyer Comment:

      This post is inaccurate in many respects.

      Mr. Banas was not fired from Hellmuth and Johnson. Mr. banas was in good standing with the firm when he left to start his own practice.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

    2. Christopher Matthew Banas

      Christopher Banas

      Lawyer Comment:

      We have reviewed this review by the person alleging he/she was faced with over 100 counts of false and malicious criminal allegations. This review is completely false and is likely being posted by a disgruntled former opposing party.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Worth every penny!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Banas Family Law was a pleasure to work with in a very difficult personal situation. They were caring, competent and cost effective. Not only did they advocate for my interests, but they did it is a very professional and courteous manner while keeping me timely informed of the status of my case. I would recommend Banas Family Law to anyone who is looking for a top notch lawyer!

  7. Strong Caution

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Support matter.

    This guy is a decent worker and at first he seemed to really care about my case. Later, when things got hostile and combative with the other side, he seemed to leave me to fend for myself. His experience and tenacity are just no match when faced with a hostile ex and more experienced aggressive opposing counsel. I would sometimes wish that I had chosen my ex’s attorney instead of Chris.

    It’s one thing when a divorce litigant is out of his league, but completely shocking when you hire a lawyer that charges $250 by the hour and you find that he is in way over his head and should have spent more years as a law clerk really learning the legal system and how to properly conduct a case. I don’t expect a lawyer to charge me lots of money to “prepare” for my case when he should already be prepared from law school and years of practice.

    He tried to help me in my case but he just seemed too inexperienced, unfamiliar with the law and too busy with multiple cases to give my case the attention and service I paid for. I was nickeled and dimed to death and my retainer fee was quickly used up. I am surprised that he has so many high ratings over a very short time period. They don’t seem to describe the same lawyer. I wish I would have had the same level of service, compassion and honesty as some of the other clients. I wonder how he decides to treat some clients great while other clients are very dissatisfied, it all seems suspicious. I think that unless you have ALOT of money he will not help you out as much.

    I recently read an article that discovered some lawyers post “fake reviews” on their profile to gain higher ratings or to bolster their rankings after actual clients post real negative comments. Please be very careful and ask lots of questions about the number of trials won, number of trials settled, communication style, honesty and integrity and ability to deal with hostile cases before you hire this lawyer. Be careful and don’t rely solely on website ratings to pick a lawyer. If this guy had done what he said he would do and delivered even remotely what I expected I would be writing a very different review.

    1. Christopher Matthew Banas

      Christopher Banas

      Lawyer Comment:

      We have reviewed this comment and believe it was not posted by a former client, rather a disgruntled opposing party. Banas Family Law, P.A. disputes this review as patently false.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  8. One of the best decisions I ever made . . .

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Going through a divorce was the most painful experience of my life, probably because it wasn't what I wanted. All the things that were important to me were up in the air. I didn't know what would happen to my kids--that was the worst of it. But there was more. I worked all my life to buy a nice house, put away some savings and a college fund, establish good credit. I was beside myself with anxiety.

    At first I tried to represent myself, but it didn't take long to see I was out of my league. I knew I had to get a lawyer. After a great experience, one of my closest friends recommended Banas Family Law--Chris had negotiated joint custody and the kids were really thriving. They got to spend time with both parents, and nobody was being bankrupted by child support debts.

    It's hard for me to overstate the difference Chris made in my life. I have a physical disability and I was worried that a judge might not understand that it has no bearing on my relationship with my kids. Chris was able to convey to everyone--including the judge and the other lawyer--that my disability doesn't define me. He met me early for hearings--he always made sure getting inside and through court security was a non-issue--and then that I had a good place to sit in the courtroom, where I could see and hear everything. He was never condescending to me, and as someone who has traveled through this world with a disability, I can tell you that is unusual. If anything, he has a terrific sense of humor, which defused some difficult situations and bitter feelings.

    During the first part of the proceedings, it looked like we were going to have to go to trial. My ex was being incredibly unreasonable, insisting on exclusive custody of the kids, excessive child support, etc. Chris chipped away at this over time. He regularly contacted the other attorney and began to negotiate--I could see he didn't have any difficulty working with the other side, or even standing up to the judge when he had to. I got to read all the legal papers he drew up, and they seemed intelligent and well-written, and there were lots of references to cases and laws--which he explained to me, because I'm no lawyer!

    At the same time, he prepared for trial. We went through the whole nightmare together--pretrials, depositions, mediation, you name it. Chris was always calm and reassuring when I was a wreck. He was very knowledgeable about the law and explained everything to me in a way that I could understand. I always felt fully informed about everything--not just the case, but also the way I was being billed.

    In the end, we went to the courthouse on trial day, and Chris was able to settle the rest of the case without actually going to trial. I know Chris was ready for trial, but he did what was best for me. We were able to work out a fair settlement, and I never thought that would happen. Are my kids having to adjust to their new life? Sure. But they are also doing great because they get to spend so much time with both of their parents. The financial settlement was definitely a compromise--I got some of what I wanted, and I had to give in on some points. I admit it stung a bit, but it was also fair.

    Chris isn't the type to toot his own horn, so I will do it for him. If you're looking for a courteous, knowledgeable, professional lawyer who isn't a cold-hearted shark, he's your man. If you're looking for a lawyer who isn't always watching the clock and waiting for the next client, but actually cares about you AND your kids, hire Chris. If you want a lawyer who won't put you in the poorhouse with exorbitant bills, call Chris. If you want someone who can try your case OR settle it, contact Chris. If you want a lawyer who knows the law, understands his way around a courtroom, and isn't afraid of anyone--hire Chris. You won't be sorry.

    1. Christopher Matthew Banas

      Christopher Banas

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for taking the time to tell your story. Banas Family Law, P.A. works hard to earn the trust of our clients. We strive to establish this relationship with all our clients. Thank you again for such a glowing review.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Very Dissatisfied Customer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Banas to represent me in a divorce case. At first he seemed very knowledgeable and familiar with the court system. I later realized he puffs his abilities and experience up to attract clients. Once you hire him, he does not deliver. He showed up at court unprepared and clearly unfamiliar with the details of my case. He did not have a clear strategy for my case and seemed to use a cookie cutter approach. I am very dissatisfied with his service. I will not recommend him to any of my family or friends in Minnesota.

    1. Christopher Matthew Banas

      Christopher Banas

      Lawyer Comment:

      We have reviewed this comment and believe it was not posted by a former client, rather a disgruntled opposing party that populated our website and on-line review sources with fake reviews. Banas Family Law, P.A. disputes this review as patently false.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  10. Great Attorney in Family Law

    Posted by Sharon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Banas.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Banas represented me in a family matter this year. He answered all of my calls personally, even nights and weekends. He answered all my questions expediently via email or phone. He definitely works hard for his clients. He is very honest and wants the best for his clients. He comes highly recommended in any family or custody matter.

    1. Christopher Matthew Banas

      Christopher Banas

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for Banas Family Law, P.A. We work hard to be available for our clients; it's not unusual for us to take calls, answer emails, and texts well beyond typical business hours. We appreciate your trust in us.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag