Skip to main content
Tajara Dommershausen
Avvo
Pro

Tajara Dommershausen’s Answers

2,304 total


  • Can an employer who hired you and after you signed an acceptance letter reject the offer based on parole or probation?

    I was offered a job to which I am very well suited. I passed the drug tests. They had me sign a letter accepting the job with wage and insurance. The background check came back and I am on parole or probation, they took there offer back, 3 days be...

    Tajara’s Answer

    No they can't unless the charge is substantially related to a job duty. As an example, it is a theft charge and you would be handling money or be in people's homes that could have property taken. Then the employer is able to not hire you as it would raise their liability.

    See question 
  • My work is posting my flat rate hours for all to see, is that legal?

    I am a mechanic, I am paid by flat rate/piece work. My employer thinks it's a good idea to post all our flat rate/booked hours on a board for all to see. This is what I'm paid off of. Is that legal for them to do? I might as well just give peo...

    Tajara’s Answer

    why wouldn't it be? an employer can tell anyone they want what your income is as it is not confidential information.

    See question 
  • Being sued

    I am being sued my my ex landlord for unpaid rent. I am a single mother of 3 on foodshare and child care and wic assistance. Can the court take my car and only means of transportation for the unpaid rent? And I moved in February. And he hasn't ret...

    Tajara’s Answer

    you can be sued and a judgment entered. if you are below the federal poverty guidelines (which is likely given that you are on assistance), your wages cannot be garnished and your car cannot be seized.

    See question 
  • Do I need a employee rights lawyer

    I was let go because I was wanting to transfer to another location and get a higher paid positions that I was qualified for.

    Tajara’s Answer

    WI is an at will employment state which means you can be fired for any non protected reason, Discriminatory reasons are based on race, religion, age, gender etc. Otherwise you can be fired if they don't like your tie, your shoes or your attitude or any other reason.

    See question 
  • What is the legal age to move out in Wisconsin??

    im about to be turning 17 and the conditions of my relationship with my parents is terrible. And I'm just trying to figure out when's the earliest I can leave without being considered a run away

    Tajara’s Answer

    18 is when you ca move without parental permission

    See question 
  • I was wondering about the details of Romeo & Juliet laws/ statutory rape laws for the state of Wisconsin

    If and 18 year old boy and his 15 year old girlfriend have sex, what trouble could they get into and what would it take for that to happen. (Who could press charges, etc.)

    Tajara’s Answer

    It is sexual assault of a child which carries a penalty of 40 years and life tme registration as a sex offender. Anyone can report it and tge state decides if you are charged

    See question 
  • If my husband wants to file for sole custody of his son, is a lawyer required?

    His sons mother is hiding the child and refuses to let him live here.(even though the mother does not have the child right now.). The mother gave the child to my husband's ex-wife. The ex-wife told the mother that she "will protect the child and m...

    Tajara’s Answer

    if paternity is already established, you can file a motion for contempt if she is violating the terms of the order (you can also see if the police will help but most of the time they aren't going to do much). If paternity has been established but there is not a placement order, you need to file a motion for placement.

    See question 
  • Can I tell the hospital I don't know the father when my baby is born?

    I DO know the father.. He is an abusive deadbeat. I don't want him having any rights to my child. Can I just tell the hospital I don't know who the father is? Can my sister be put on the birth certificate as the 2nd parent, instead of the father?

    Tajara’s Answer

    You have no obligation to put the father's name on the birth certificate. You can list as unknown. Your sister cannot be listed as the other parent.

    See question 
  • I won my judgment in court for money owed to me. How do I collect my money from the other party? The case is docketed also.

    The other party has no job and is on welfare. If they do work it is for cash.

    Tajara’s Answer

    it is unlikely that there is any money to get from them, it sounds like they are uncollectible.

    See question 
  • My ex wife and mother of two of my children was killed. When the driver was drunk and she fell out of a truck and was ran over.

    My daughters are age 7 and 20. Now I'm a single father completely broke. And I don't know how I'm going financially take care of my children? What amount of money can I sue the driver and his insurance company? Can someone please help?

    Tajara’s Answer

    your girls have a claim against the driver. Get a personal injury attorney asap. Also it is likely that the minor could get social security for her mom.

    See question