Sean William O'Neill’s Reviews

Sean William O'Neill

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. "No Job Too Little"

    Posted by Ben, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean < 1 month ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    When making my decision as to how to handle my violations, I asked myself if it justified hiring an attorney, or would the attorney fees negate potential reduction/s of penalty. They didn't negate themselves Not only did Sean net me a significant savings, but he did it in a very helpful, professional manor. Throughout the pre-trial and judgement process Sean made extra effort to keep me informed; such as paper trail details, and whether I needed to worry about contacting the DA for pre-scheduled telephone appointments (which he conveniently did [all of] them for me). I have a busy lifestyle and Sean making everything convenient for me was intensely appreciated. In hindsight, I'm glad I made the decision to hire him, and will do so if/when future situations arise.

    In January of this year (2014), I was pulled over for speeding, and when the police officer ran my license and returned to my vehicle, I was shocked to learn that my license had been suspended for 3 years. I was issued two tickets that day. When I contacted Sean, he told me right away what he believed he would be able to do for me. I thought it was lofty, but he seemed confident. He did, however; also let me know that some things wouldn't be in his control, so no guarantees. Leaving out the details, he was able to mitigate so that one citation was dropped entirely, and that the second was reduced significantly. My decision to hire Sean saved my in penally payment and points on my license, and what more could I ask for, right?

  2. Quite pleased

    Posted by John, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 6-12 months ago.
    • Sean handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Mr O'Neill helped my wife and I with a dispute regarding our security deposit. We had great success in recovering the entire amount in court. Like some people we had never been involved in a court case and were somewhat apprehensive of the proceedings. But we found ourselves in capable hands with Mr. O'Neill. He kept up with us in weekly correspondence so when the court date finally arrived we had a good working knowledge of the event. I hope we never have to go to court again, but I know if we do that we will use Mr. O'Neill again as our legal counsel.

  3. Truly Amazing Job

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 6-12 months ago.
    • Sean handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mr. O'Neill to handle my divorce case. Being a high-income earner, with an almost twelve year marriage, and a child from that marriage, my wife had filed for divorce and was almost literally asking for the moon. There were many complexities to this case: claimed disability, co-habitation, impending re-marriage, constant deceit and outright dishonesty. The stakes were very high for me financially.

    Sean worked very hard to pull the actual facts of the case out of this mire. Before the case even went to trial, Sean had laid down a very convincing set of arguments in my favor to the judge. When the trial finally occurred, I was extremely pleased with the outcome; I honestly could not have asked for a better result. Not only did Mr. O'Neill get my child support reduced, he was able to reduce my alimony payments to a near trivial sum, expiring completely in one year! In all fairness, my ex-wife made many mistakes of judgement which helped my case, however, that does not detract from the excellent job Mr. O'Neill did in presenting my case and fighting for a fair decision based on the facts. I actually felt like justice was served; rare in our court system.

    He is very straight forward, very honest, very hard working and I felt he truly cared about me and the outcome. While I have never worked with a lawyer before, I find it difficult to believe that this combination of personal attributes is anything but extremely rare!

    Divorces are a painful process. However, Mr. O'Neill made the entire process much more bearable.

    If you are looking for a great lawyer to handle your divorce case, I would look no further. While divorces can be an expensive process, it was the best money I ever spent and well worth it. During my initial phone consultation with Mr. O'Neill, more than a year ago, he had made the statement: 'You get what you pay for'.

    How right he was...

    1. Sean William O'Neill

      Sean O'Neill

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was a great trial win. Very happy with the result.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  4. Absolutely a Awesome Attorney, Highly Recommend Sean.

    Posted by Ryan V., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sean O'Neill is a extremely knowledgeable and experienced Attorney. I was facing several serious charges and a felony charge that could have altered my life permanently. Sean listened to me, looked at all the facts and then used every resource needed to provide the needed evidence to clear my name. What's more is I really felt I had someone who was in this with me. When I felt beaten he was there to remind me that I have rights and that I had to stay the course. In the end I think of Sean not just as an attorney, but as a friend. Sean provided better service than some big name firms and charged me reasonable fees when every other Attorney refused my Case. Highly recommended as long as you are open and honest Sean will make sure you are given the best possible outcome. Thanks Sean.

  5. Follow through!

    Posted by John C, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sean went out of his way to communicate with us every step of the process. We were confident that our legal dispute with a land lord was resolved quickly and in our favor. Proud to be his client

    1. Sean William O'Neill

      Sean O'Neill

      Lawyer Comment:

      Some Landlords pretend they are God, just because they are renting or have rented to you. Please be aware of your rights. I have 16 years of Landlord Tenant experience and represent both landlords and tenants. But nothing makes me more satisfied than taking down an unjust landlord a few pegs. Great result.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  6. My Experience

    Posted by Haven, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was really worried when I had my traffic "issues". I actually had a "hit and run" that turned out to be pretty serious. I'm very conservative and don't get into a lot of trouble.
    I called Mr. O'Neill. He assured me that it was going to be ok and then he simply made them go away. Or so it seemed. It was simple and painless. I will go back to this office in a heart beat if I run into trouble in the future. Mr. O'Neill makes something scary into something you can understand, you can realize that it's going to be ok. You will feel better after speaking to this attorney.

  7. La Crosse, WI Criminal Case 2013

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sean O'Neill helped me very much after I put myself in a bad situation while visiting La Crosse. To make things more complicated, I needed to handle this criminal case long-distance due to living 4 hours away. Because of Sean's work I only needed to make the trip to La Crosse once for an initial appearance. Sean was very knowledgeable and trustworthy about the facts of my case and kept me informed throughout the entire process. As a result of hiring Sean I received a favorable conclusion in the case and avoided a criminal blemish on my record. I would highly recommend Sean O'Neill if you need criminal defense. From my experience he has high integrity and treated me well.

  8. David & Rosa Mooney

    Posted by Dave & Rosa Mooney, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We have hired Mr. O'Neill on several occasions for family and business matters. He listened to our problems and was very knowledgeable on the legal problems in which he represented us. He was also very personable and friendly and always answered our questions. On one of our family cases he went above and beyond what was required to do to help us. If the need arises we will continue to use Mr. O'Neill in the future, because he has served us well in the last 10 years.

    1. Sean William O'Neill

      Sean O'Neill

      Lawyer Comment:

      Long time quality clients. Appreciate their endorsement.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  9. The best experience, for such troubled times. Thank you so much .

    Posted by Ross,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This was my first time getting into a serious pickle. Sean was very comforting and straight forward. Which made me happy to have him help me out. No bs just the facts and his things would possibly go. Very professionally handled.

    1. Sean William O'Neill

      Sean O'Neill

      Lawyer Comment:

      This case was a perfect example of government overreaching and sexism when it comes to domestic calls-- the man always being the "primary aggressor". Look I know in most cases that is true but the police have to look on every case objectively and not just assume. In this case the facts obviously showed that the woman was to blame. But of course they hall away my guy and charge him with felonies (strangulation). I literally told the prosecutor either drop this or we go to trial and I make you look like a fool. Dismissed.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  10. Helped me when I needed it most!

    Posted by Steven Haas, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean O'Neill.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He had cleared up the confusion of my case and pointed me in the right direction with confidence. Responded to a message I left with his assistant promtly and an over-all straight forward advisor.