Walter A. Piel Jr.’s Reviews

Walter A. Piel Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter 6-12 months ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My case was very complex, and Walt was a good choice to represent me. I worked with him over a period of nearly 2 years, and the results were positive. The first attorney I hired wanted me to enter into a plea agreement right away. Thankfully, I obtained a second opinion from Walt! Walt was able to get results when the first attorney didn't think I had a case. Walt knows the law and will work relentlessly to put you in the best position possible. Walt is a straight-shooter and does not sugar coat the issues, and his price is reasonable as compared to other larger firms. His secretary, Connie, is also a top-notch communicator and was very helpful each and every time.

  2. Excellent Attorney!!

    Posted by Tyler, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter 6-12 months ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Hello, I recently received a owi in northern WI. I am so impressed with Attorney Piel already that i just felt i had to say something. Connie is kind and extreamly helpful. During my initial consultation Attorney Piel was very upfront and honest. I am very confident that Mr. Piel will do everything he can to win my case. I would recommend him to anyone. He understands everyone dosn't just have a ton of money laying around and is willing to work out a payment plan. No matter what the outcome of my case is i feel better having Attorney Piel in my corner. And in the future if i need legal assistance i would go back to him in a heart beat. Thank you Mr. Piel!

  3. Very Satisfied Client

    Posted by Nancy, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter 1-3 years ago.
    • Walter handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Walter represented me in municipal court and was successful in having my speeding in excess violation reduced to a lesser charge. He made me feel very comfortable and did a great job.

  4. Great Experience!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Walter was very knowledgeable and provided myself with accurate information regarding a previous DUI. I felt that Walter and his staff was timely in their response and would recommend them for future counsel. Although he was not my personal attorney for the specific encounter he still provided guidance as if he was.

  5. Second to None, Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter more than 3 years ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After being arrested for a DUI, I thought that my professional and financial future was in great jeopardy. I have family members who, in a similar situation, hired the cheapest attorney they could find and suffered the consequences: DUI convictions, ignition interlocks in their cars, occupational licenses that restrict where and when they can drive, huge increases in insurance premiums etc., etc. After thorough research I hired Walter Piel as my attorney. His record is second to none and his fees are reasonable. He was very realistic, didn’t promise miracles and kept me well informed throughout the whole process. To my great surprise the charges were eventually amended to reckless driving. I didn’t spend one single day without my driver’s license, no DUI conviction on my record, never had to appear at court, no huge insurance premium hike.
    Thank you Attorney Piel for an amazing job and thank you Connie for excellent communication!

  6. Up front and honest

    Posted by JR, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter more than 3 years ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Walter Piel was my attorney and represented me with an aggressive no quit attitude. He took charge and never misrepresented what he was willing to do or could do for my situation. I was blessed to have him for an attorney.

  7. Broken Promises

    Posted by Cliff May, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter more than 3 years ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    worked for ramond law office, made some claims (like what i wanted to hear)(spacifically we can settle your case for the $5000.00 its only first offence and you where not driving and no keys in the ignition.)and took my money but did nothing I couldnt have done myself well except for getting $5000.00 from sombody for doing nothing!except for requiring me to pay $2000.00 more forthe appeal= nothing. numerous phone calls to him with no response finally I find out he left raymond law office and when I do get in touch with him he tells me to go after raymond law office for a possible refund??wow! tells me he will review what was done and not done in my case and never calls back or takes my phone calls?? If you are into giving large sums of money away he is your man! Thanks for nothing Walt!

    1. Walter A. Piel Jr.

      Walter Piel

      Lawyer Comment:

      This post is inaccurate and outright false. Unfortunately, you provided your name, Cliff, and thus anyone can go to the WI CCAP system, and determine the truth. I wholeheartedly embrace my ethical duty to my clients, and thus even in your case, I will not stray from such duty. Because of this, I will not respond in this open forum with the specifics of your lies and misrepresentations. Feel free to call me if you would like to discuss further discuss this matter.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  8. awesome lawyer

    Posted by christine, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter more than 3 years ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Awesome lawyer very helpful and responsive definetly recommend.

  9. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Nicholas Rockweit, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Walter Piel.
    • I hired Walter more than 3 years ago.
    • Walter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent communication, handled the case very professionally, attempted every thing possible to get me the best outcome for my particular case and in the end the case was dismissed.