Donald J. Chewning’s Reviews

Donald J. Chewning

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Professionalism is outstanding.

    Posted by Robert L., a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald 6-12 months ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Excellent job, pleased with personal attention given to my case. Recommended for anyone struggling through a disability claim, he and his staff returned calls and answered questions.

  2. Awesome

    Posted by Stephanie, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Don Chewing handled my case and I couldn't have asked for any better. He kept me informed every step of the way and answered any and all questions honestly. I felt comfortable and I had every confidence in him. He is more than professional, helping me in every way possible. He is just awesome!

  3. Great Help through difficult time

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a difficult case for SSI benefits due to my age. Mr Chewning still took my case and was able to secure a winning out come. He always answered my questions with an honest answer even if it wasnt what I wanted to hear. Even with a short time span to the hearing he was able to help me. I would and have suggested friends and family in the same situation.

  4. Straight forward and compassionate

    Posted by Debra, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had tried to obtain social security on my own. When I got the first denial letter, I decided to find a lawyer to represent me. I had seen Attorney Chewnings commercial on tv, and decided I would call him. Our first meeting, he was very honest and straight forward, explaining that because of my age (49) we may have a tough road ahead. I appreciated the honesty greatly! I could mentally prepare for the journey. He kept me fully informed on the status, and helped me to understand the letters from Social Security, and their proposed ammended date. I have now had a favorable decision from Social Security, and will be getting my payment soon. I liked Attorney Chewning because he explained the steps very clearly, and always made time if I had questions. I would definately reccomend him to anyone I knew who was looking for a disability lawyer.

  5. Excellent Representation

    Posted by Kelly, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Don is a straight forward and knowledgable attorney who will help you through the red tape involved in Social Security Disability. Don and his team will keep you informed every step of the way and they will answer any questions you may have. Disability can be a daunting task but Don made it easy to wade through the waters. I would highly recommend Don for your disability needs.

  6. Excellent attorney for disability cases

    Posted by Harriet, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had been unable to work for a few years. Social Security had denied me twice. I asked Mr. Chewning to handle my case. He agreed and got me the benefits that I was entitled to. Without Mr. Chewning and his staff I would probably still be going through the denials. He took a big weight off of my shoulders by handling the case for me and literally save my house from foreclosure. I would recommend Mr. Chewning to anyone who needs the help in receiving their disability funds. He is a very knowledgeable attorney in my opinion and he keeps you informed all of the way through. If you have a question he is quick to get back to you with the answer.

  7. Best Lawyer Ever!

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Donald Chewning gave me my life back! Him and his staff were professional, curteous, and sincere. From the moment I met him I was amazed at how thorough and quickly he worked for me. It was so refreshing to feel like someone finally understood what I was going through and did their best for me. These days its hard to find quality service like theirs. If you are looking for a lawyer and you want to see results Winter, Chewning, and Geary are top notch. I can breathe again and I can get back to taking care of myself instead of worrying all the time. I cant say enough great things about them!!!

  8. Attorney had for my Social Security..

    Posted by Christine, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would personally recommend Don Chewning and his staff to my friends and family for sure!! When I meet with Don the first time and explain the whole mess to him that my previous attorneys handling my case and they totally messed it up; he was able to help me out and was very polite, showed me and treated me with respect and made me feel like a person. He is a very knowledgeable guy, is honest, on the ball with all the legal process and he makes you feel comfortable when you talk to him about your case, shows you he cares about his client. He answered all my questions I had, and his staff was wonderful in helping me with any unanswered question I had that come up as we went along. He keep me totally informed throughout the legal process, and gotten me fast results, without his help I would not have won me case. Mr. Chewning is very professional and very knowledge, and would greatly recommend him and his firm to anyone who needs a social security attorney, they are great and I’m very thankful to him and his firm for handling my social security case, and winning it for me. Thank you.

  9. Well Prepared

    Posted by Denise, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dear Don Chewning, Thanks for all the amazing throw down show down work you did on my ssd case. You are the reason that I won. You are amazing. Denise Farmer.

  10. Wonderful experience

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Chewning.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The staff was very helpful and knew the right questions to ask, and were highly knowledgeable. I hardly called their office because they would call me and update information and inform me of the latest. Don was very nice and a pleasure to meet. The final result was positive only because of their professionalism and experience.