Michael M. Hayes’s Reviews

Michael M. Hayes

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Painless experience for first OWI

    Posted by Jeremy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In early 2014 I had an OWI case in Waukesha County with a BAC of .21. I did not want to contest the case but I didn’t want to be under a one year Ignition Interlock Device requirement which would have gone into effect if the judge found that my BAC was .15 or above at the time of the offense. I hired Attorney Michael M. Hayes who hired an expert to prepare a report showing that while my BAC was .21 when tested at the station, at the time of the offense my BAC was under .15. Attorney Hayes was then able to negotiate with the prosecutor to conclude the case without the Ignition Interlock Device requirement. I was very pleased with his professionalism, down-to-earth manner and quick handling of the situation. He was also willing to negotiate a payment plan with me that was convenient and reasonable.

  2. I vote for Hayes

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After serving my short jail sentence for my 3rd owi offense in Waukesha I am even more convinced that Michael got me through it with as short and fair a sentence as possible. I met many others with longer senteces. All of the coaching and advice he gave along the way took alot of pressure and anxiety away from me and provided a clear path for me to follow. I would recomend him to anyone looking for an experienced and thorough attorney.

  3. Honest and Successful

    Posted by Matt, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I was ticketed in a rural area for a large speeding ticket in a small municipality. Michael explained the process, explained what would happen, risks, and costs. He was able to achieve the ideal outcome, and I am very happy. He was great in terms of initial response time, keeping me updated, professionalism, and attitude. Again, very happy.

  4. Michael M. Hayes

    Posted by Kevin in Germantown, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Following a one person motorcycle accident on the Milwaukee expressway I was shocked to learn that I was charged with operating under the influence of an intoxicant. I had never been accused or convicted of anything like this. Mr. Hayes told me that fighting the case would be very expensive and that I would have to appear in court many times, but that I had a good case that should be fought. He was right on all counts. More than 18 months after I was arrested and after 7 court appearances with 3 scheduled trial dates, the case was amended to reckless driving. There was no suspension or revocation of my license, I wasn't required to do an assessment or counseling. I wasn't required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed, and - this is the best part- I don't have a conviction on my record for operating under the influence. I am grateful to Mr. Hayes for all his hard work which included securing records and testimony from EMTS and the hospital showing that I sustained head trauma in the incident. I strongly recommend Mr. Hayes.

  5. Mr. Hayes is an amazing attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Hayes has been very instrumental in the success of my family due to his outstanding achievements on our behalf. My husband has been utilizing Mr. Hayes’ services for over 20 years. As a professional driver with a CDL it has always been very important that any tickets my husband received needed to be amended to a no point violation. My husband has received several traffic tickets; speeding, driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control, etc. over the years and Mr. Hayes has NEVER disappointed us. He has always been able to amend the tickets to zero point violations in order to keep my husband’s CDL out of jeopardy.
    Recently my son received a ticket for speeding 37 over. When we contacted Mr. Hayes we explained that his boss threatened his job and the schooling his employer had agreed to pay for. My son also, lost all driving privileges for all of his employer’s vehicles. Mr. Hayes resolved the ticket for speeding 37 over with an amendment to no license on person. A zero point violation! My son’s employer reinstated his driving privileges and sent him to school this fall.
    While we realize that Mr. Hayes primarily represents clients charged with drunk driving and criminal cases, we have had nothing but success with our traffic tickets and with Mr. Hayes negotiating a great settlement for our daughter when she was bit by a dog.
    My family can’t thank Mr. Hayes enough for the outcomes of our matters. Our son can now continue his schooling as planned in addition to keeping his job. Mr. Hayes is a fantastic attorney and we are always impressed by what he is able to accomplish. I can’t express our gratitude to Mr. Hayes. We have referred Mr. Hayes to several of our friends and family and they too have had nothing but success stories. All of us will continue to inform our friends and family about him.
    In closing, I would like to reiterate the admiration our entire family has for Mr. Hayes. He is a man of integrity, honesty and reliability. He is very respectful of his clients and will do what it takes to get the results his clients hope for.
    Client in Eagle, Wisconsin

  6. 1st OWI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Getting an OWI was a frightening and stressful experience for me. Mr. Hayes never made me feel judged but gave me specific and thorough information regarding my options so that I was informed and prepared throughout the process. He worked diligently with the prosecutor on my behalf and I didn't even have to go to court. He took care of ALL of the paperwork as well as gave me instructions on what to expect, how to obtain an occupational license, and how to complete my assessment and classes prior to my knowing I had to do these things. I am a graduate student and was concerned about payment. His fees are absolutely affordable, especially considering the level of service you will receive, and he was flexible in making a payment schedule with me. He also is very consistent in his communicatoon with his clients. He responds quickly no matter what your question or concern may be. If you have gotten an OWI, I highly recommend getting a lawyer, specifically Mr. Hayes. I was truly impressed with the results and could not be more appreciative of his work.

  7. Best OWI lawyer in Milwaukee

    Posted by Ed, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In June 2012 Attorney Hayes concluded my OWI case in Milwaukee County with an amendment to reckless driving. After contacting 6 other lawyers that did not want to take my case or took days to get back to me Mr. Hayes answered his phone and i explained the case details to him and he took my case and assured me that he would do his best to get it dropped or reduced. I was arrested for operating under the influence 2nd offense. Attorney Hayes and I discovered that certain details from the police reports from 3 jurisdiction did not match. He filed a motion challenging the right of the officer to stop my vehicle. Attorney Hayes worked really hard throughout the whole case. Things worked out extremely well. Rather than going to jail for 60 days, which is what the State was pushing for, there was no jail. The end result was no more than a traffic ticket. This was important to me because my job depended on maintaining a license and my future professional plans would have been in jeopardy if I had been convicted of operating under the influence for a second time. I want to thank Mr. Hayes for giving me another chance.



    Ed from Milwaukee, WI

  8. Exceptional representation with OWI

    Posted by Jason, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    * 5 STAR OVERALL RATING* I was arrested for OWI in Waukesha County in September 2011 with a reading of .20 . I was sure I would be going to jail for a long time. After I hired Attorney Hayes we kept going over the case looking for a way to at least avoid a jail sentence. Attorney Hayes strongly recomended that we file a motion challenging the right of the officer to stop my vehicle. We did the motion hearing. I did not have to testify. The case was dismissed with no jail and no fine. The interesting thing is that even if we hadn't won the motion, I would have been grateful for all the extra effort that Attorney Hayes took to get me the very best result. He came strongly recommended by a family member and as my case went on I saw why.

  9. Operating Under The Influence 2nd offence

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Despite having the misfortune of being charged with operating under the influence 2nd offence in Milwaukee County after Sheriff Clarke discontinued electronic monitoring, Attorney Hayes was able to resolve my case without any jail time being served in regular jail or the Huber jail. If I ever have any other problems I will definitely call him and if anyone I know needs help I will definitely recommend him. He really knows how to handle these cases

  10. Very trustworhty!

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Hayes has been my attorney for over 25 years. I have recommended him to my entire family when legal situations arise. He is always helpful and very knowledgeable in all aspects of the law.

414-405-5678