Michael M. Hayes’s Reviews

Michael M. Hayes

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.

    I spoke to several Attorneys prior to Mr. Hayes. He was always very receptive and kind and answered my calls promptly. He was kind, honest, and provided the necessary information I needed and what to expect from the process. He was also willing to workout a payment plan. Would definitely recommend.

  2. Highly recommended for OWI

    Posted by Rob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mike Hayes did a great job for me at trial on the issue of whether my BAC was .15 at the time of my offense in Racine County Circuit Court this month. We met many times prior to the trial to explore all of the possibilities and determine the best course of action. There were many evidence issues that Attorney Hayes was able to spring at trial as presented in the legal pleadings addressing intricacies in the evidence. Prior to trial we had thoroughly reviewed all the various scenarios that could occur in court. We were certainly well prepared and we prevailed. The judge granted our motion for a directed verdict at the close of the prosecutor’s case despite the fact that the prosecutor had a state expert at the trial. Mr. Hayes was able to present the case without the considerable expense of having our own expert testify at trial.

    When we started out Mr. Hayes took the time to understand that avoiding the Ignition Interlock Device requirement was a professional imperative of mine. Mike helped me make the best of a bad situation and when we finished I understood what a fine attorney I had hired.

  3. Highly Recommend

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thank God my husband hired Mr. Hayes when he was charged with felony OWI 2nd offense with a minor passenger causing injury in November 2013. He could have gone to prison for 12 Years. Mr. Hayes filed a motion to strike the injury allegation and was successful in getting it dismissed. My husband was only convicted of a misdemeanor with a short Huber sentence. Mr. Hayes did more for my husband than any other lawyer, especially the lawyer we hired for his first OWI offense.

  4. Grateful client.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What a relief to get my OWI charge amended to reckless driving. In July 2012, I was arrested for operating under the influence and for having a prohibited alcohol concentration. For the next two years there were 4 or 5 trial dates scheduled. Mr. Hayes assured me that this was a case that should be fought and I believed him. He was right. In July 2014, the case was resolved with an amendment to reckless driving. This was particularly important for me because of the effect a conviction would have had on my Illinois driver license.



    Grateful client.

  5. Painless experience for first OWI

    Posted by Jeremy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In early 2014 I had an OWI case in Waukesha County with a BAC of .21. I did not want to contest the case but I didn’t want to be under a one year Ignition Interlock Device requirement which would have gone into effect if the judge found that my BAC was .15 or above at the time of the offense. I hired Attorney Michael M. Hayes who hired an expert to prepare a report showing that while my BAC was .21 when tested at the station, at the time of the offense my BAC was under .15. Attorney Hayes was then able to negotiate with the prosecutor to conclude the case without the Ignition Interlock Device requirement. I was very pleased with his professionalism, down-to-earth manner and quick handling of the situation. He was also willing to negotiate a payment plan with me that was convenient and reasonable.

  6. I vote for Hayes

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After serving my short jail sentence for my 3rd owi offense in Waukesha I am even more convinced that Michael got me through it with as short and fair a sentence as possible. I met many others with longer senteces. All of the coaching and advice he gave along the way took alot of pressure and anxiety away from me and provided a clear path for me to follow. I would recomend him to anyone looking for an experienced and thorough attorney.

  7. Honest and Successful

    Posted by Matt, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I was ticketed in a rural area for a large speeding ticket in a small municipality. Michael explained the process, explained what would happen, risks, and costs. He was able to achieve the ideal outcome, and I am very happy. He was great in terms of initial response time, keeping me updated, professionalism, and attitude. Again, very happy.

  8. Michael M. Hayes

    Posted by Kevin in Germantown, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Following a one person motorcycle accident on the Milwaukee expressway I was shocked to learn that I was charged with operating under the influence of an intoxicant. I had never been accused or convicted of anything like this. Mr. Hayes told me that fighting the case would be very expensive and that I would have to appear in court many times, but that I had a good case that should be fought. He was right on all counts. More than 18 months after I was arrested and after 7 court appearances with 3 scheduled trial dates, the case was amended to reckless driving. There was no suspension or revocation of my license, I wasn't required to do an assessment or counseling. I wasn't required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed, and - this is the best part- I don't have a conviction on my record for operating under the influence. I am grateful to Mr. Hayes for all his hard work which included securing records and testimony from EMTS and the hospital showing that I sustained head trauma in the incident. I strongly recommend Mr. Hayes.

  9. Mr. Hayes is an amazing attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Hayes has been very instrumental in the success of my family due to his outstanding achievements on our behalf. My husband has been utilizing Mr. Hayes’ services for over 20 years. As a professional driver with a CDL it has always been very important that any tickets my husband received needed to be amended to a no point violation. My husband has received several traffic tickets; speeding, driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control, etc. over the years and Mr. Hayes has NEVER disappointed us. He has always been able to amend the tickets to zero point violations in order to keep my husband’s CDL out of jeopardy.
    Recently my son received a ticket for speeding 37 over. When we contacted Mr. Hayes we explained that his boss threatened his job and the schooling his employer had agreed to pay for. My son also, lost all driving privileges for all of his employer’s vehicles. Mr. Hayes resolved the ticket for speeding 37 over with an amendment to no license on person. A zero point violation! My son’s employer reinstated his driving privileges and sent him to school this fall.
    While we realize that Mr. Hayes primarily represents clients charged with drunk driving and criminal cases, we have had nothing but success with our traffic tickets and with Mr. Hayes negotiating a great settlement for our daughter when she was bit by a dog.
    My family can’t thank Mr. Hayes enough for the outcomes of our matters. Our son can now continue his schooling as planned in addition to keeping his job. Mr. Hayes is a fantastic attorney and we are always impressed by what he is able to accomplish. I can’t express our gratitude to Mr. Hayes. We have referred Mr. Hayes to several of our friends and family and they too have had nothing but success stories. All of us will continue to inform our friends and family about him.
    In closing, I would like to reiterate the admiration our entire family has for Mr. Hayes. He is a man of integrity, honesty and reliability. He is very respectful of his clients and will do what it takes to get the results his clients hope for.
    Client in Eagle, Wisconsin

  10. 1st OWI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Hayes.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Getting an OWI was a frightening and stressful experience for me. Mr. Hayes never made me feel judged but gave me specific and thorough information regarding my options so that I was informed and prepared throughout the process. He worked diligently with the prosecutor on my behalf and I didn't even have to go to court. He took care of ALL of the paperwork as well as gave me instructions on what to expect, how to obtain an occupational license, and how to complete my assessment and classes prior to my knowing I had to do these things. I am a graduate student and was concerned about payment. His fees are absolutely affordable, especially considering the level of service you will receive, and he was flexible in making a payment schedule with me. He also is very consistent in his communicatoon with his clients. He responds quickly no matter what your question or concern may be. If you have gotten an OWI, I highly recommend getting a lawyer, specifically Mr. Hayes. I was truly impressed with the results and could not be more appreciative of his work.

414-405-5678