Ann S. Rothstein’s Reviews

Ann S. Rothstein

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Absolutely the best!

    Posted by James, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-6 months ago.
    • Ann handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I normally don’t write reviews for anything but I felt like I needed to after I read the review that says she makes her clients do all the work.  I’m a little in awe as to where this person is coming from.  No one knows your case better then you and no one should care more about it then you.  Ann genuinely cares about helping you but you need to care as well.  She might ask you to type something up or make a phone call.  Big deal.  She keeps her operating costs down so she can pass the savings on to her clients.  It sounds like this person didn't care enough to get off their lazy ass.  It’s your battle with your ex, if you don’t want to fight it then no one will be able to help you.  If you actually care, Ann will help make the best out of a bad situation.  She’s the best guide/ally one could hope for.

  2. Works for you, not for your wallet

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann more than 3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I foolishly allowed my ex to have primary physical placement of our children in an attempt to speed up or divorce process. I paid her child support for over 5 years and only got to see my kids every other weekend. With Ann's help, I built a successful case against my ex and won primary physical placement 5 years ago.

    The review before mine complained about having to do work themselves and that you should hire a lawyer that will be "in your corner." Ann tells it like it is without sugar coating; she will not waste your time and money filing motions that will be a dead end. So what if you have to correct a typo? So what if you have to make a phone call on your own? I've got kids to raise and they come first; I'll gladly make a call on my own time rather than paying another lawyer $300.00/hr to do it just to pretend they're "in my corner."

    Ann has been a blessing to be and my family since Day 1. She meets us at odd hours, calls and emails on the weekend, and genuinely wants to help her clients instead of being out to get every penny she can. She knows the law and abides by it, an asset that my ex's attorneys could benefit from.

  3. Makes her clients do all of the work, Waste of time & money

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-6 months ago.
    • Ann handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ann Rothstein appeared to have good reviews; so I hired her. I recommend that you do your homework first, on the lawyer that you are hiring. She never did anything to help us. She wanted me to do all of the work. Working with her was so absurd. It is a total waste time and money, find yourself another attorney, pay the extra cost and hire an assiduous lawyer, that will be in your corner. It will be in your best interest in the end.

  4. Awesome Attorney

    Posted by Scott, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann more than 3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Child Custody matter.

    Ann handled my case for additional placement when my daughter was five, 8 years later, based on the agreement she helped me win, I have a healthy relationship with my daughter, and I'm a big part of her life.

    She was clear, concise, and handled the case with a ton of respect and patience, and ultimately was a major reason reasonable I have a great relationship with my daughter today.

    Thank you Ann!

  5. Ann Rothstein Gave Me My Life Back!

    Posted by Bruce, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Child Support matter.

    Over the past 8 years, I have seen the inside of a court room many times. Each time seemed like the last.....a decision was made and my case was closed without fairness, justice, and my voice was never heard. My hopes were gone because it was the same thing each time; I was sure I would never see fairness but, I always did what the court documents said I was suppose to do. I honestly forgot who I was talking to but, I was told about Ann, given her number, and wasn't sure if I could go through this again. Then I figured I had nothing else to lose so I called her, received counsel, and finally had a lawyer who saw that I was doing the right thing all along. She worked around the clock on my case, was by my side every step of the long way, made sure I knew what to expect.......good or bad, and made sure my voice was heard. Ann stood up for me, she knew I did the right thing and clarified that! I can honestly tell you.....................Ann Rothstein gave me my life back!

  6. The Best in Southeastern WI!!

    Posted by Pamela, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Words cannot say enough about how wonderful and supportive this woman has been. The best lawyer I could've found, and I still thank God for that. Not ridiculously priced either. Amazing communication, always kept me in the loop, gave great advice, stayed on top of the situation. We've won are last several court hearings which would not have been possible without her extensive knowledge. Very knowledgeable and highly impressive. I recommend her with all I have, definitely give her a visit.

  7. You Can Pay More for Less, But Why Would You?

    Posted by Tom , a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ann is amazing. I chose Ann after a failed attempt at collaborative divorce. The whole collaborative process had left a bad taste with lawyers who charged me a retainer and then for hours and hours of meetings that did little to nothing to move me toward divorced. Ann cut through all the baloney that I was getting from the other attorneys and helped move me from frustrated to divorced. She doesn’t have a swank office that you visit and get charged for every moment you are there. She doesn’t have staff that answer her phone and charge you when they send a fax. Ann simply tells you where you stand, what you should do and gets things done. Listen to her. The first weeks working with her she laid it out simply for me and over the following months I took her lead and I ended up with shared placement and custody of my son (which my former wife was adamant that I would NEVER have). Everyone knows Ann in the courts. She is tough, she is usually right and she is fair.

  8. Disorganized, forgetful and falls off the map

    Posted by Trayvon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ann had fantastic reviews here so I hired her. She never did anything she promised to do. She wanted me to do everything. It was ridiculous. Then she just dropped off the map and it took 2 weeks to get a hold of her. Another reviewer on here said her problem is she gives more attention to some clients than others. I guess I fell into the category of not getting attention. She made me miss hearings and pissed off a judge's staff which I'm sure contributed to the fact that I lost my case. Her law firm is named after her dad I think, and I think her dad must have been a much better business man and lawyer than her because she trades under his name and not hers. I do not recommend Ann Rothstein at all. Stay far away. Pay the extra money, it'll be worth it in the end since she does nothing for the money you do pay her.

  9. Quick to settle. Not patient, but underneath the toughness she has a good heart.

    Posted by Divorcee, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann more than 3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you want someone focused and ready to do anything to help you further your case, I would not suggest Ann. If you want someone who knows the law, is available at all times and flies by the seat of her pants, hire her. Note: She is disorganized. She carries your files in a manila folder in her Louis Vuitton bag. Not good with paperwork, rarely signs docs on time. She has a pretty good memory, though. She will speak up in court and has a good unstanding of the law. Some clients get more of her attention then others. Hope you're not on the short end of the stick. If your a guy, she sees things from a man's point of view and the law. That is a plus if you're a man looking for an attorney.

  10. Ann Rothstein

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Rothstein.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ann Rothstein is an extraordinarily diligent, detailed, and professional lawyer who really cares about her clients. Attorney Rothstein keeps you informed, reviews items, and is there with you every step of the way! She is wonderful!