Anthony D. Cotton’s Reviews

Anthony D. Cotton

Average Rating

Based on 44 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If you're in trouble, call Tony

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Tony handled a particularly challenging case for my family member. She was charged with one of the largest marijuana cases in Wisconsin history. This was exacerbated by the fact that both the Wisconsin Circuit Court and the Eastern District Court were prosecuting her simultaneously. Tony represented her in both matters and was the right lawyer for the job. From the initial consultation all the way through the completion of the case Tony demonstrated his legal knowledge, creativity, and determination to get the best results on her case. Ultimately, he was successful in getting the State case dismissed and the Federal case reduced to time served.

    I highly recommend Tony to anyone, but especially those with difficult cases who need someone who thoroughly understands criminal law and will fight to ensure the best possible result!

  2. A role model

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-6 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My teenage son was arrested along with a couple of friends for the possession of small amounts of controlled substances. He was lucky enough to get into a deferred prosecution program, the completion of which would have resulted in his charges being dismissed. He got himself kicked out of the program 2/3 of the way through. Prosecution was going to proceed. A potential felony conviction would have been catastrophic for him due to his immigration status, and devastating for our entire family of five. He would have had no place to go in a country that is now alien to him.

    We hired Tony to represent my son. He worked out a deal with the prosecutor to give my son a 3rd chance. The requirements were more rigorous than those of the original program, but they were perfectly fair. My son successfully completed them this time, and the charges were officially dismissed.

    The way Tony handled the case was exemplary. His intelligence, expertise, network, work ethic and responsiveness are amazing. He devised a solution, struck a deal with the prosecutor in no time, introduced us to the people my son had to work with. He was always available to us during the 6-month process, even at the craziest hour of the day, and provided us with reassurance and a peace of mind during the most difficult times of our lives. We felt his presence, that he cared, all the time. Without him, our family would have fallen apart. He is not just a great attorney, but also a role model for us.

  3. The best of the best.

    Posted by Printiss Williams, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was on trial for one of the biggest and most unique Drug Conspiracy cases in Wisconsin history. I found Anthony Cotton on AVVO while researching attorney's, he had a rating of 10. I didn't know what to expect from him because he is so young and I thought I needed someone with more seasoning or experience. I am so glad I misjudged him because he saved my life. He fought for over 2 years for my innocence and finally got the charges dismissed at trial after a favorable jury verdict. For the duration of that case he was always available when I had questions and was very thorough and concise. His preparation, knowledge and litigation prowess far exceed his reputation. Tony's exemplary skills as an attorney can never be overstated.

  4. Five Stars

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had almost given up on the legal system. I was convicted of a crime I did not commit, truly. My family and I appealed the conviction, the judge vacated the sentence. The DA's office appealed the sentence being vacated. After winning in the Appellate Court, I was re-charged with the crime. Anthony Cotton was then hired to defend me. He is an upright man, who cares about his clients. I cannot say that we agreed on everything, but he respected my choices, and allowed me to share my voice. In the end, I received a dismissial because of his commitment, hard work and dedication. He was a ray of hope, at a very dark time in my life. Thank you, Anthony.

  5. Looking for an 'Outstanding Lawyer' then hire Tony Cotton

    Posted by Glen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Years ago attorney Tony Cotton represented me out in Waukesha County. He was a referral from another parolee who utilized his services. I was facing revocation for rule violation(s) and Atty; Cotton helped me through the entire process. Due to Tony's hard work and legal expertise I was able to have 7 1/2 years cut from my probationary sentence. Without this level of representation, professional decorum within the Court room I know for absolute certain the Judge would never have reduced my time period. I give Attorney Cotton an 'excellent' rating and highly recommend him to anyone who needs the help of a highly trained, legally knowledgeable hard working lawyer.

  6. Anthony Cotton is #1

    Posted by Fred, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Where should I start, I was being charged with (3rd) OWI, Possession of Paraphernalia, Possession of THC, and Refusal to take test for intoxication. I had so many thoughts going through my head, that I was screwed, I was always worried about the outcome of how this would effect me for the rest of my life. It was hard times at that point. I was referred to Anthony Cotton through my brother, it was one of the best decisions I have made to hire Anthony as my lawyer. On first impression when I met Anthony he was right on point, very knowledgeable, and laid out how the process was going to happen. After my first meeting with Anthony I knew he was the right lawyer for me and hired him on the spot.

    He always showed up to every court date and was always on time. Unlike lawyers in the past where they would send someone from their firm to cover without you knowing, Tony made sure he was there with you through the process, just like holding your hand. I was very impressed how Tony would present himself in court always on point and one step ahead. If you had any questions or concerns you could email or call him if he didn't answer, he would get back to you within a reasonable time. I was very impressed with how well Tony communicated and responded to your needs, he was there to be your friend and to fight for you all at the same time. He would even encourage you to hire a private detective to get all details of what happened that night and get witness statements.

    The outcome of my case was something I thought would never happen. At the motion hearing, Tony fought for me and was defending me in every accusation which leaded to a dismissal of my case. The officer stated he stopped my vehicle because I was leaving the apartment complex that he was responding to a domestic disturbance. The officer reacted on a hunch, without having any reasonable suspicion to stop my vehicle which is also a unlawful stop. After that was presented Tony fought for me and was able to dismiss all charges. Till this day I still communicate with Tony and he will always be my friend and lawyer. The only encouragement that I could offer you is if you are in a serious bind or don't know where to turn, Anthony will be there for you, he is a fighter, and will back you 100% of the way. I have no regrets!

  7. The ONLY lawyer who phone number I keep

    Posted by Andy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Anthony Cotton was a name I turned too when facing a felony drug conviction and 2 misdemeanors in Waukesha county. I had an officer harassing me at my job to put pressure on me to admit to charges. After I explained my story, Mr Cotton put a stop to all the BS around me and set me on a course to fix my life. Together, we built a case to show my recovery and my cooperation and slowly but surely put a stop to the conviction. Waukesha does not have a history of dropping felony convictions, but Anthony Cotton made it possible. At every appearance, he told me what was going on, what I needed to do, and what the outcomes could be. Every phone call and email I sent was replied to within 24 hours. Every motion that Mr Cotton wrote was researched and well written and gave us more ground to stand on every appearance. I trust him, we communicated clearly, he gave me every outcome and every option and recommendation and relayed the information to me always. I have had experience with other lawyers and the service was night and day difference. I recommend Mr Cotton to anyone who needs a great lawyer in Wisconsin. I always keep his card in my Wallet and his phone number saved in my speed dial. I cannot thank him enough for the outcome he got me that saved my jobs, my freedom, and my life.

  8. Thank you

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.

    Tony did a great job handling my case. He was able to find a loophole for me that kept me from having to serve any jail time. I appreciate all his hard work.

  9. Committed, educated, reliable...

    Posted by Shaun, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Attorney Cotton had represented me for a number of years. My particular case was complicated, and flooded with bureaucratic nonsense. Atty. Cotton was committed to getting favorable results, whenever possible. Atty. Cotton effectively took on the WI-DOC and their OLC (Office of Legal Counsel), in a Writ of Habeas Corpus. Additionally, he was able to convey enough of a threat to make the system comply, resorting to attempting to have the respondent incarcerated for contempt. If there is a situation, and I need an attorney, I would not hesitate to hire Atty. Cotton immediately.

  10. BEST LAWYER IN WISCONSIN!

    Posted by Nick, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Cotton.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Violent Crime matter.

    Mr.Cotton has helped me several times and eatch time has been successful to drop my charges or atleast get me into a better situation than I was headed in. My first case I was getting charged with attempted armed robbery (felony) and Mr.Cotton got my charges dropped to a non felony theft charge witch resulted in no jail time and little amount of probation time. Later on I hired Mr.Cotton to represent me in a Case where I had my second possestion charge of THC witch is a felony in Wisconsin after your second charge , and Mr.Cotton went to the police station and talked to the officers and got my charged dropped into just a ticket instead of the felony charge. In another separate case for an OWI and another possession charge Mr.Cotton was successful into getting my felony possession charge dropped also after talking to the district attorney. Overall Mr.Cotton has been sucesfull all three of my times ive hired him. I've never had to sit a day in jail with any case after I hired Mr.Cotton. Anthony works hard and does extra work behind the scenes that many lawyers arn't willing to put the time into doing.