John M. Murphy’s Reviews

John M. Murphy

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Worst choice in a family lawyer you could ever make

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.

    I would have to agree with the other people who rated him poorly. This guy is very unprofessional. He doesn't answer calls, acts without consulting you first, pads charges and overbills you, and is never prepared or knows what's going on. He is very arrogant and callous especially considering the nature of family court that is not the type of lawyer you want working on case. He is only worried about his payment and not about fighting for what you want as a client. If you want a lawyer who doesn't know if you have a court date or not even after he himself cancelled it, this is your guy. If you want a lawyer who will charge you thousands of dollars, but will not get you a signed court agreement even though both parties are in agreement, hire him. if you want a lawyer who does not call you back, is not actively involved in your case, but charges you ungodly amounts of money to do nothing, this is definitely your guy.

  2. Too insensitive for such a sensitive thing as child custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Never calls you back. Unprepared, Seems disconnected and detached as a person. Doesn't or wont fight for what you want, and will try to pressure you to settle. Just in it for the paycheck, Had I known he was this way I would have hired someone else. Custody battles are bad enough, this guy just made it a nightmare. D

  3. Don't hire this guy

    Posted by James, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    i hired this guy for a family case, all was good upfront he talked a good game. He is very unorganized and forgot about a hearing for the case. Then he never and I mean never returns your calls, I called him 20-30 times over 4 months. He is non agressive and just will go along with anything in court to get to his next case.
    He cost me over $10,000 because he never presented the paperwork I gave him in court.

    I think he could do a good job if he cared but its clear he doesn't

    This guy basically took my money showed up in court for 5 minutes and never called me back

  4. Something Wrong

    Posted by Mrs. Hanke, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In this day and age of critical debt issues, we hired John to represent us in an important matter to avoid/delay bankruptcy, and garnishment. Initially, all was well, but when things get complicated, he wont return phone calls, and has never responded to emails. So far he's cost me over $500 in fines due to lack of response. Its clear he isn't interested in finishing the job he agreed to do.

  5. Best lawyer for everything

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John helped me with my divorce and many other court related issues, and he is wonderful, I have recommended him to many friends, and will continue to do so. He kept me informed through all the procedings and had reminded me when he had seen me that I had yet to fill out my Will so I did so,eventually.

  6. Saved my house and children

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John really did a lot of work to save my house and family. When my spouse tried to take the kids away, and the house that I worked so hard to get, Johnreally went to bat for me. He spend lots of time working with me and handled my case expertly. It was a hard case and it took a lot of time, but there is no other lawyer I would every use again. John Murphy is the one.

  7. GREAT FAMILY LAW ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very impressed with Attorney Murphy. He handled my divorce and I found him to be excellent in communicating with me and he was great in Court. Got a great settlement!

  8. A less than enjoyable experience

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Murphy talked a good story up front, however, during the case, he was not agressive, made some huge mistakes in discovery then blamed me for not catching his mistake. He seems a bit too busy or lackadasical and ill prepared. I think he has the ability but his work ethic and concern for me as a client was not there. This was a very disappointing experience for me having him as an attorney.

  9. Not impressed whatsoever with him

    Posted by a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For the initial meeting before hiring him he sounded rather impressive. Once hired it went down hill from there. First, to get ahold of him is next to impossible. I left dozens of messages and never got a return call. He never informed me of what to expect in court and rushed me to settle just so he could go to his next court appearance. Now that my case is closed I have to live with what he forced me to settle for. If I could take it all back, I would of spent my thousands of dollars on a lawyer who would of cared what about the outcome of my case.

  10. Awesome Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Murphy.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Was the best lawyer I ever had, very knowledgeable, dependable, kind, trustworthy, & seemingly caring. Always called back in a timely fashion and informed himself with all aspects of my case, past & present at the time. Lost him due to a conflict and it made a short term difference in my case:)