Hal G. Ostrow’s Reviews

Hal G. Ostrow

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I highly recommend Hal

    Posted by Brad, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Hal. From the minute Hal was hired he provided valuable information on the expected timeline, the expected approaches, and the expected outcome. He worked aggressively, yet professionally, to ensure my best interests were protected. He was available day and night for consultation and provided timely status updates. Most importantly, Hal achieved the results that were originally hoped for when he was hired.

  2. A very good choice...

    Posted by Jack, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.

    In the midst of business negotiations, who ever says to you "that was a really good contract" - and means it?

    This is the feedback I've received from many different CEO's to whom I have proposed business partnerships using the contract Hal produced for me. It is emblematic of the attention to detail, broad applicability and minimalist legalese Hal expertly combines to produce what can only be described as, well, "a really good contract."

    This is not the first legal work Hal has done for me, and it certainly won't be the last. In the past, when I was embroiled in senseless civil litigation, I could count on Hal to assertively protect my interest while engaging the other side or producing masterful legal briefs.

    His understanding of the system and the nature of his adversaries, as well as his obsession with getting things right the first time make Hal a very good choice of attorneys to have on your side. I would recommend him without reservation to anybody looking for solid legal advice or representation.

  3. Excellant Service

    Posted by Joseph, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal more than 3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Hal Ostrow has been our (iRule LLC) lawyer for over a year. He is always highly responsive. He has the "Get-it-done" mind set. He is a deal maker and proactive. Always there to help and advice.
    Although he is in Grand Rapids and we are at the Compuware building in Detroit, we meet monthly and work very closely.

  4. Great comfort having Hal in my corner

    Posted by Patrick, a Partnership client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Partnership matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hal has handled company formation for several companies I've founded. As things get more complicated, he's always there to answer questions for me.

    I realized recently what I comfort it is - a relief, even - to know that I have a reliable lawyer like Hal in my corner. I'm very happy to be working with him.

  5. Excellent Small Business Lawyer

    Posted by Mark, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hal has helped us put together legal documents for our business, for our clients, and for our team. His knowledge, availability, and helpfulness has been just what we have needed!

  6. Great subscription plans!

    Posted by Kyle, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hal is a good guy and great attorney. His startup subscription plan is just what startups and small businesses need to get started and keep going. Plans include 3 basic startup documents and if you need other basic startup documents beyond that they are a flat fee. If you are already covered on your basics then those 3 documents can be used for other needs that arise. Rates are reasonable for other services and the "no charge for quick questions" is for real... I've never been invoiced for an email or phone call.

  7. Efficient & Wise

    Posted by Dave, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We have used Hal on several projects over the last year. Hal has been an excellent advisor and confidante through several important issues. Hal is a deal maker and I highly recommend him.

  8. Great Service, Unique Model

    Posted by Daniel, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hal has been a great partner for me and my firm on several deals. His unique subscription model for startups and small businesses sets him apart from other attorneys, providing consistent, predictable legal costs and tremendous value. Hal is knowledgeable, detail-oriented, and very responsive. Highly recommended!

  9. I recommend Hal

    Posted by Jon, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal 1-3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hal has been very effective with the issues we've brought to him. His counsel was wise, and he was very prompt and responsibe and understood our concerns.

  10. Clear & Helpful

    Posted by Samuel, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hal Ostrow.
    • I hired Hal more than 3 years ago.
    • Hal handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hal gives clear advice, prompt service, and predictable (no nonsense) billing. He advocates for his clients every chance he gets including recommendations and introductions to his many contacts throughout West Michigan. You can count on Hal to do everything he can to make your venture a successful one.