Gerald R. Lykins’s Reviews

Gerald R. Lykins

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Jerry and my DUI

    Posted by Pete, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jerry was very straight forward regarding strategy as well as preparing myself as to my role within the strategy. He was clear in explaining the situation and potential outcomes in my case. At the end he managed to get my case in the best outcome that he explained at our initial meeting.

  2. One and Done!

    Posted by Cassie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After interviewing several Attorneys, Gerald Lykins gave me the best confidence that we could win my license back the first time around. Lykins cares about his clients, and goes the extra mile to give you a thorough plan and all of the necessary steps you need to take in order to have a successful license restoration. He stayed in contact and answered all of my questions and concerns promptly. After 3 years of having a revoked drivers license, Gerald Lykins made it possible to win my first and last DAAD Hearing, and I have been granted a drivers license again. Great Attorney, He knows what he's doing, I wouldn't trust anyone else.

  3. Lykins Review

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    From the first meeting, Mr Lykins was very detailed, informative and kept in constant communication. Explained exactly what the charge was and what to expect over the weeks come. Always available for questions and was there from start to end. Always showed a true concern in representing his client. Thanks Jerry

  4. Great Lawyer, Gets Results!!!!

    Posted by Katy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jerry Lykins is Great Lawyer and he definitely got incredible results in my case. I hired Jerry 3 months ago to help me with a driving under the influence of drugs, a possession of marijuana and an accident. Jerry was very helpful right from the the beginning by explaining to me everything that was going to happen and providing me with very personalized attention. Jerry made sure I understood everything I needed to do to make my situation the best it could be.

    As the case progressed, Jerry and his office staff kept me up to date as to everything that was going on. If I had a need, I could text or call him and he was quick to get an answer or the information I needed. Jerry was simply great with communication.

    The end game for me were the results. I started out with 3 charges. I ended up with 1 charge of Impaired Driving. Wow, was this great given the issues I was facing in the beginning. I truly thank Jerry Lykins for his efforts and attention to my case and appreciate his caring approach. I would recommend Jerry to anyone in a similar type situation.

  5. Hire Jerry Lykins For Results!!! Save My License Privileges

    Posted by Joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Jerry Lykins after meeting the many other DUI attorneys. I was looking for a honest attorney who would work with me to save my license after I was arrested for my 2nd Drunk Driving. Jerry told me that he had plan and that if I did what he asked he felt that he could save my privileges.

    Well after almost 4 month and various legal motions,
    Jerry delivered and saved my license from being revoked. I cannot express the debt of gratitude I have for Jerry and his efforts. I was told by several other attorneys that there was nothing that could be done and I would just have to deal with the almost permanent loss of my driving privileges.

    Now, I have another chance and I have been counseled that I must be careful moving forward. Thank you Jerry!

  6. Jerry Lykins is a Fantastic Attorney Who Cares about his Client!

    Posted by Bryan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired attorney Jerry Lykins just over a month and half ago to help resolve and defend me in several old cases I had in two separate West Michigan Courts. I found Jerry based upon a referral and doing some on line research. I contacted Jerry and knew from our conversation that he was the right person to help me. Jerry was direct, honest and provided me with answers to my questions.

    Since I had moved back to the Detroit area, I did not want to come back to the Grand Rapids area unless necessary. Both of my cases involved theft, one was a Shoplifting and the other a Larceny. Jerry handled everything for me and negotiated great resolutions so that I had to only come over from East side 1 time to handle everything. This type of management of my files and his communication with me and my family was very impressive and simply demonstrates his commitment to helping his clients and keeping them up to date. There were many times that I or my parents would have questions and we could call or text Jerry after hours or on the weekends and he would get right back to us. We really appreciated this type of access and his efforts to keep us up to speed.

    I would highly recommend Jerry Lykins to anyone who might be facing a criminal law type issue. Jerry is a great lawyer and caring person. He always went far beyond the call of duty in helping us. Thanks Jerry!

  7. OWI 2nd Great Attorney

    Posted by Corey, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was recently charged with my second Drunk Driving case in October, 2013. I called Jerry after being referred to him from a family member. Jerry was very forthright, direct, honest and provided me with all the information I need to understand the case against me and what my options were going to be moving forward. I decided to hire Jerry and we moved forward.

    In the end, there was no wiggle room in the charge, but at each step of the case, Jerry was there for me working hard and keeping me informed. Jerry is honest and hardworking. I would recommend him to anyone facing this type of offense. Thanks Jerry

  8. License Restored After 5 Years!

    Posted by edmundas, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired attorney Jerry Lykins a little over a year ago to help me with trying to get my driving privileges back. I had lost my privileges 4 years before because of a 2nd drunk driving. At the time of my 2nd drunk driving, my thoughts were only on the issue of jail time, fines and costs. But as time went on, the clear issue of losing my driving privileges became the big issue. Not being able to drive meant that I had to have my wife, family members and other drive me to everywhere.

    So, when I was finally able to seeking my license I was unable to make sense of the process. I would request the paperwork and simply put it aside and never move forward. Then about a year ago, I got serious. I contact numerous lawyers and scheduled meetings. After meeting with Jerry Lykins, I felt comfortable he was the right lawyers to help me.

    Jerry was knowledgeable about the process, he had a plan and structure program which helped me understand what I needed to do and what he was going to do in terms of preparing for my license hearing. The process took time, but we moved forward and a year ago we had our first hearing. Jerry was skillful and prepared me for the hearing and I was granted a restricted license with a Interlock system. For the next year, while I used the Interlock I had a number of situation which required me to contact Jerry. He was always there for me, and we were able to keep my privileges.

    Last week I had my final hearing with the Secretary of State. Once again, I had Jerry's help and when the hearing ended I was informed that I was getting my full license back. What glorious news for me and my family. I made bad choices many years before, but now, with Jerry's help I was free again. Thank you attorney Jerry Lykins

  9. Gets the Job Done!

    Posted by Randall, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired attorney Jerry Lykins after having another attorney handle my case for about a year. I had a number of old Housing Code Violation misdemeanors which were pending in Grand Rapids. I had left GR almost 3 years earlier and no longer owned the property. The outstanding Housing Code cases continued to cause legal issues even though I was no longer living in Michigan.

    Jerry was worth every dollar I paid his firm. He was responsive and understood what I needed to resolve the case. In the end, the misdemeanors were amended to non-criminal cases which will permit me to remain conviction free, very important in today's job market.

    I would highly recommend Jerry to anyone searching for a very good criminal attorney. Jerry works hard and knows the system. Thanks Jerry!

  10. Great and Caring Attorney

    Posted by Andy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Lykins.
    • I hired Gerald 6-12 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I called attorney Jerry Lykins after reading reviews on the internet and then speaking to him. Everything that I had read about Jerry from his prior reviews was accurate. I found Jerry extremely responsive and he made room in his calendar to meet with me prior to my leaving Michigan to return home to Colorado. Jerry and I maintained contact after I returned home and he was able to resolve my case and permit me to return to Michigan for only 1 court appearance. I thank Jerry for his professionalism and knowledge. Jerry made this experience much easier for me and I would recommend his services looking to hire an attorney in the area of Drunk Driving or a criminal type case. Jerry had a very good working knowledge of the Courts and their staffs. Thanks Jerry

616-456-5457