Martin M. Holmes’s Reviews

Martin M. Holmes

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Good man, Great lawyer

    Posted by Fred,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.

    He is very knowledgeable in law. He know his stuff. He is a very open a honest man. He kept me posted on everything that i needed to do, didn't miss a beat. He also kept me in the loop on every thing that was happening. I would recommend him and his staff to anyone.

  2. Chapter 7 Bankruptcy.

    Posted by Stephanie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin 6-12 months ago.
    • Martin handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Holmes is a Caring and knowledgeable attorney. Helped me in a very difficult time with my chapter 7 bankruptcy. Always responded to my questions and concerns promptly! I would recommend him to anyone!

  3. Very detailed and trustworthy

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin 6-12 months ago.
    • Martin handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My initial consultation was free and was supposed to be around 30 minutes. Mr. Holmes spent over an hour with me answering my questions and really put me at ease. I hired Mr. Holmes and that was a great decision. He is extremely dedicated and trustworthy. Overall a very good experiance.

  4. great attorney.

    Posted by Jodie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He was very knowledgeable. Made my bankruptcy as smooth as possible.
    Very efficient.
    I refer him to anyone needing an attorney.
    I will use him for all of my legal needs

  5. Martin is an amazing lawyer.

    Posted by Frank, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Martin is an amazing lawyer. He is compassionate, honest, and very conscientious. He helped me through a divorce, helped my wife on a serious legal matter- and I recommend him with NO reservations.

  6. Outstanding

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend this attorney for any matter. He will take the time to actually explain things and will work to get the best for you in any situation. When you meet with him he never tries to rush through things just to be done.

  7. A very trustworthy, hard working lawyer

    Posted by Jennifer, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I won't go into any details of my case, due to privacy, but Mr. Holmes worked longer, harder and with more compassion than you could have ever expected from a lawyer. I was and still am completely satisfied with the service I received. I did not even win my case, but that was not at his or my own fault. It had to do with a dishonest system where I was stuck in the middle between two depatments that worked together, but yet against each other at the same time. To my disadvantage the department was trying to cover up their mistake at my expense. Mr. Holmes left no stone unturned and every t was crossed every i dotted. He put alot of extra time and study into my case that was way above and beyond his duty. I appreciate every minute of his time as well as his support. I hope not to need his assistance in the future, however he will be the first call I make. Thank you Mr. Holmes Jennifer C.

  8. Ryan

    Posted by Ryan, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I just recently used Martin for my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. I had a very successful eyeglass company in Portage, Michigan that was moved to Corpus Christi, Texas without warning. I lost everything I had and had no clue what to do with my life. Being very neglectant to lean towards a bankruptcy, Martin guided me through the whole process and educated me on everything that I had to do and what would happen extremely well. I then decided it was my best choice, and Martin took everything in his own hands in a prompt and well organized fashion. My case was recently discharged, and without Martins help my life would still be ten times more of a mess. I would strongly recommend Martin to anyone filing a chapter 7 and 13 bankruptcy. His knowledge in both aspects surpasses 98% of the other lawyers out there and he is a genuine good person to boot...not a conceited money hungry lawyer. Thank you Martin!

  9. Client Review

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Martin was open and honest with me about my chances in recieving SSD. He looked up the exact specifications to receive SSD in the state of Michigan and explained it to me. I have mental health issues and he was patient and compassionate with me when I was falling apart at the seams. He's not one of those arrogant, obnoxious lawyers. His calming presence in court helped me hold together to get through the process. My mom was my main emotion support through this and Martin was respectful of her. For what I needed, Martin was excellent.

  10. Mortgage Branch Manager

    Posted by Jone, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Holmes.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As the economy was deteriorating, my office decided to try to help the growing foreclosure market. To do this I knew we would need an attorney that we could trust people’s lives to if we were going to refer them to an attorney. I personally called several attorneys that specialized in bankruptcy. Some didn't return my phone call; some didn't seem to "measure up" and some I had heard bad stories about from my clients. It came down to 2 attorneys in Muskegon. Between the two, one of the attorneys was going to be hard to access so I set an appointment with Martin Holmes. I then interviewed Mr. Holmes personally.

    Mr. Holmes was my choice and I have never regretted it. He has gone the extra mile for every client I have sent to him. (There have been many) I have never gotten a negative feedback from any of my referrals. Not one, and I keep in touch!

    I cannot fill in the section on “keeping me informed” because he has never broken his clients confidentiality. My referrals tell me they were treated personally, with respect, and with a heart. They have never felt like a number or a paycheck. To me this was important as most people who need a lawyer are in trouble and need help.

    I am still referring people to Mr. Holmes and will probably continue until he quits practice. When my son needed help on a personal matter, I even referred my son to him. Even though his problem was not part of his specialty, he did a GREAT job and we could not have asked for a better outcome.

    If you want an attorney that takes a personal interest in your case, Attorney Holmes would be your guy!

231-744-9439