Rhonda B. Ives’s Reviews

Rhonda B. Ives

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Got me a second chance

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 6-12 months ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Rhonda was very professional and handled my case with care and dignity. With out her I would've missed my son being born and missed my daddy daughter dance. She got me out if jail time with just a few months of probation. Thank you Rhonda

  2. Excellent, Knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Rhonda to help with a drug charge. I had all the proof showing I am not a user and that all the evidence found belonged to my then husband. Rhonda was very knowledgeable and worked with the prosecutor to get me a lesser sentence and probation. While I still had some consequences for not stopping my husband from the acts I do believe Rhonda did her best and if I had to do it all over again I would hire her again. Rhonda is a great attorney and knows the laws and is always looking to gain more knowledge.

  3. Knowledgeable & Competent, would recommend

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I called Rhonda after finding out I had a legal obligation to take care of from a city I was not a resident of. I had called a couple different law firms throughout the afternoon, and Rhonda was the only one to pick up and take my call, which I appreciated.

    From the start Rhonda was very knowledgeable and made me feel confident that my case was in good hands. Rhonda walked me through the process in the beginning, and would the take time to call me back if I had any questions.

    With regards to pricing, I thought what Rhonda charged me was reasonable and fair. I'm sure if I looked harder I could have found a lower rate, but I was more interested in getting my case resolved than finding the cheapest lawyer.

    After officially retaining Rhonda as my lawyer, she worked out a deal with the prosecutor that I agreed with. The deal required work on my end, that was my responsibility to take care of, which Rhonda had explained to me. After I finished the legal obligations assigned to me, Rhonda fulfilled her responsibilities and my case was successfully dismissed.

    To recap, I thought Rhonda was extremely knowledgeable, competent, and offered her services at a fair and reasonable price. As she was my first lawyer, I cannot compare her to her peers, but I do think that she provides services above the industry average. She successfully resolved my case which I appreciate, and recommend her as a lawyer to any prospective clients.

  4. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! You are APPRECIATED!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rhonda was very helpful to us in our time of need of help with the legal system. She was very easy to talk to and shows true concern for her client, She is also very knowledgeable with the law area that we needed and gave good advice. I would highly recommend Rhonda!

    Thank you very much, Rhonda:):)

  5. Divorce/ custody

    Posted by Ron, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I first consulted with Rhonda Ives in Dec. 2009 when due to events at home I was looking at the need to consider filing for divorce from my wife of thirty years. The dilemma that I had was that the home environment was becoming unsafe for our daughter, to be around her mother. She was becoming fearful of her mother. Her mother had multiple health problems and deteriorating mental health problems. The challenge was that I would be seeking sole legal and sole physical custody. Generally unheard of in our county and Rhonda was honest with me from the start that it was unreasonable to expect that I would be successful in my plight. I had done my research on attorneys as I had expressed to her and I had attended court sessions to see the attorneys in the court. I felt that I needed a female attorney representing me and my daughter. I have to admit that I did not care for any of the attorneys but I did not have a good opinion of lawyers before but also never needed one before. Rhonda was the only one that I chose to meet with. She was very business like and i felt that she was cold, but soon changed my opinion. I soon found her to be caring, compassionate and very detail oriented. Once she has the details she remembers them.
    When I met for a consultation she was very forward in the challenges that I would face especially dealing with the mental illness issues. I then left and things continued to deteriorate. In Mar 2010 I met again with Rhonda, retained her services for divorce. She still seemed doubtful but knew that my only concern was my daughter’s safety and welfare. She took my case and as she learned all the background and met my daughter she was wonderful. She was successful in gaining an Exparte Order for sole legal and sole physical custody and exclusive use of the marital home. Rhonda was professional, competent and addressed ALL my issues with the court. As she dealt with my wife changing attorneys, going in and out of hospitalizations, my inability to pay consistently, she stuck with me and completely dedicated herself to the best interest of my daughter. As we encountered motion after motion after motion after motion we finally made it to court in October 2011. The anticipated 2 hour trial became a two day ordeal but the best part of the whole process was to see how Rhonda put the case together, research, planned and strategize. She was always asking for more information, details, details and more details. I would lose my temper and think she did not care at times but only to find that she was far ahead of me and I was not keeping up. Then she would express again that I expected too much, I believe that she was only checking my resolve. We went to trial and then in November opinions were issued and they kept filing motions, because the Court granted me sole legal and physical custody. Finally in February 2012 the JOD was signed and within five days they had filed an Appeal with the Michigan Court of Appeals. I did choose a different attorney at the Appellate level however Rhonda provided all necessary information and consulted with the Appeals Attorney. That was heard on November 14th and the Defendants Appeal arguments were rejected. The only thing remanded back was an issue on spousal support that had to be rewritten due to legal requirements that we had not contested. The appeals attorney had indicated that it ended up an easy argument as a result of the case that Rhonda had prepared, argued and the decision of the trial court. I have decided to retain Rhonda for legal advice in future motions because I know they will happen. Rhonda was nothing less than a total Professional, thorough researcher, surprising strategist and presented a solid case. She attended the Gerry Spence Trial Lawyers College in Sept 2011 just prior to trial which I appreciated and that will benefit all her clients. Michelle in her office has also been very helpful throughout and a very patient person.

  6. An Attorney with a Heart

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was charged with a crime that I did not commit. Attorney Ives believed my side of the case and she worked extremely hard on my case. I was impressed with her openness and willingness to consider and listen to my input on the case. She was not arrogant but confident. My case was not just another job to Attorney Ives but she truly cared that Justice was done. My case was dismissed and I was able to get on with my life. I highly recommend Attorney Ives to anyone facing a legal challenge.

  7. Honest, Caring and very knowledgable

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Miss Ives represented me in a very emotional and difficult case for me. She worked with me on how to how to deal with the situation, and put me at ease with her knowlege and expertise in the law. She knew exactly what to do and handled my case suburbly. She is a winner and fights for you. I know that first hand. I would reccomend Miss Ives in anything you need dealing with the law and the court. I will alway be indebted to her for her help. Thank You so much.

  8. Creation of Land Contract, Will, Power of Attorney Papers

    Posted by Gracie, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very conscientious, personable and knowledgeable. Miss Ives kept me focused on the details to be covered. This is extremely important, because I would have rushed the visit and just signed the paperwork, but Miss Ives stressed the importance of my understanding what I was signing. She provided professional service that left me knowing she had my best interest at heart. She also presented me with a variety of ways and scenerios to consider as she framed the language for my will and durable power of attorney. I enjoyed the office visit and would say I had fun. The atmosphere was professional, but relaxed and the staff was great.

  9. Give her a chance, she's worth it! Best lawyer for the job.

    Posted by Annie, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda 1-3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I had given up hope of being able to help my boyfriend, Ms.Ives was there to reassure me that she would do all she could to help him. Ms.Ives had 4 days in which to prepare words and use actions that would benefit him in a court matter and we couldn't of been happier with the outcome of what she was able to do in those four days. Ms.Ives was a big part of why my boyfriend was able to walk away from court with a minimal sentence, and for that, I am very thankful that I hired her to stand at his side while he went to sentencing. Please do not hesitate to call Rhonda Ives and seek her help. Everyone deserves a chance until proven wrong, so please give her a chance to help you in your situation.

  10. child custody

    Posted by Paul Byrd, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rhonda Ives.
    • I hired Rhonda more than 3 years ago.
    • Rhonda handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Rhonda Ives to assist me in a case to gain custody of my son. Ms Ives provided excellent representation to me during this difficult case. She kept me informed throughout the entire process and and provided guidance in my dealings with court and DHS. She is a very professional and exceptionally knowledgeble in court proceedings. She had a genuine interest in helping me achieve what was best for my son. I recommend her to anyone that has legal challenges.