Colleen M. Markou’s Reviews

Colleen M. Markou

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Colleen gets your job done!

    Posted by Maggie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 6-12 months ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After a complete lack of representation from my first attorney I hired Colleen and she willingly picked up the reins. She worked continuously to rebuild the lack of trust I felt towards attorneys in general. She returned calls, e-mails, and responded To legal correspondence immediately. My case was settled in mediation within 6 months of hiring Colleen. She walked me through the process, gave good advice, gave me much needed support, and represented me to the BEST of her ability. I would recommend Colleen for ANY family law needs and I am happy to now call her my "friend". I am blessed to know that she will continue to represent me in my custody case as it evolves.

  2. Colleen works for you!

    Posted by Theresa, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 6-12 months ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Colleen is a go getter! She was recommended to me by a good friend who got tired of listening to me complain about my previous attorney. From my consultation to today, I have been extremely happy with her services. Because of Colleen's expertise and her passion for helping people, she was able to get the appropriate parenting time for my daughters and me. Colleen has given me the confidence to go after what is right. I highly recommend her to fight for you and your family!

  3. Child Custody Case

    Posted by Ray and Laura, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 6-12 months ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Colleen Markou is an amazing Lawyer. She was able to help my husband get sole custody of his son and also helped get the parenting time we wanted. Colleen is extremly trustworthy, hard working, honest and confident in her abilities to get the job done. We could not have asked for a better lawyer!!

  4. Amazing and Professional

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • Colleen handled my Family matter.

    I hired Colleen to take care of several matters for me. One was dealing with a collection dispute. The other was working with FOC to reestablish and review my current child support order. In both cases I was very glad that I had Colleen on my side. She was professional and efficient. My cases were handled promptly and I was kept informed of where I stood each step of the way. If I had any questions, either Colleen or her assistant were available to answer them.
    Working through legal matters is never fun. However, Colleen made the process much easier than I had thought it was going to be. I would recommend Colleen to anyone who needs legal counsel. She's worth her weight in gold.

  5. shenanigans!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    used tactical delaying so paperwork had to be rewritten (and re-billed) several times; charged thousand$ for negotiating child support when F.O.C. would have done it for free-it's based on both party's income; I ran out of money because it took so long to get anything settled- when I was unable to make payments (because ex didnt have to give me a dime for months while "mediating") she did not properly represent me or counsel me; ended up filing bankruptcy while ex made 6 figures and he got the house

    1. Colleen M. Markou

      Colleen Markou

      Lawyer Comment:

      Chantall, it is with regret that I have read your statement. Unfortunately, I was not representing you when you elected to mediate your matter and further you were unrepresented when you agreed to a modification of custody. When you finally came to me for assistance, we had to make the best of the agreement you had entered into without counsel. I truly wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Extremely committed individual -- Colleen Markou

    Posted by Stephanie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Colleen picked up on a case that was pretty much a mess and got up to speed immediately. I have complete confidence in her abilities and her commitment to her clients for the best outcome possible.

  7. Colleen Markou was amazing!

    Posted by Michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Markou handeled my divorce case and did an amazing job! Colleen was tasked with a situation where there was a conflict of interest with my case and the judge in the county where my divorce case was to be heard. Ms. Markou, immediatly contacted the SCAO (State Court Administrative Office) and had them assign the case to another county which worked out much better. I would recommend Colleen Markou and the staff at Stancoti and Associates to anyone with any legal needs.

  8. Do Not Hire

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired this attorney to file my divorce papers, things got messy and she basically let things slide after that. Her process server got assaulted by my ex and the process server was mad and she rather keep her process server than work on my custody case. She also did not file papers to freeze specific assets right away allowing my ex to wipe out 22 years worth of my contribution to the family's wealth. I would not recommend her to anyone.

    1. Colleen M. Markou

      Colleen Markou

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have combed through my files to try to figure out who you are, to no avail. I have asked my process server if he was ever assaulted while serving papers for me, he has told me no. I can not determine who you might be. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you relative to your complaints. I fear you have me confused with someone else.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Colleen if fantastic!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Colleen is an outstanding lawyer, and I would strongly recommend her to anyone who has to walk through the divorce process. She is trustworthy, knowledgeable, and very compassionate. More importantly, she is extremely honest and fair. Whenever I had questions, needed paperwork completed, or had to meet with her I knew that everything would be taken care of immediately. My ex has often said he wished he had hired Colleen before I did! :-)

  10. Best divorce attorney

    Posted by Stephanie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Colleen is extremely knowledgable and wonderful to work with. She was very compassionate and understanding. Additionally, she is very responsive. She understands the laws and the legal process as well as the emotional process of divorce. She made it very easy and I would highly recommend her to anyone considering divorce.