Colleen M. Markou’s Reviews

Colleen M. Markou

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing and Professional

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • Colleen handled my Family matter.

    I hired Colleen to take care of several matters for me. One was dealing with a collection dispute. The other was working with FOC to reestablish and review my current child support order. In both cases I was very glad that I had Colleen on my side. She was professional and efficient. My cases were handled promptly and I was kept informed of where I stood each step of the way. If I had any questions, either Colleen or her assistant were available to answer them.
    Working through legal matters is never fun. However, Colleen made the process much easier than I had thought it was going to be. I would recommend Colleen to anyone who needs legal counsel. She's worth her weight in gold.

  2. shenanigans!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    used tactical delaying so paperwork had to be rewritten (and re-billed) several times; charged thousand$ for negotiating child support when F.O.C. would have done it for free-it's based on both party's income; I ran out of money because it took so long to get anything settled- when I was unable to make payments (because ex didnt have to give me a dime for months while "mediating") she did not properly represent me or counsel me; ended up filing bankruptcy while ex made 6 figures and he got the house

    1. Colleen M. Markou

      Colleen Markou

      Lawyer Comment:

      Chantall, it is with regret that I have read your statement. Unfortunately, I was not representing you when you elected to mediate your matter and further you were unrepresented when you agreed to a modification of custody. When you finally came to me for assistance, we had to make the best of the agreement you had entered into without counsel. I truly wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  3. Extremely committed individual -- Colleen Markou

    Posted by Stephanie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 6-12 months ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Colleen picked up on a case that was pretty much a mess and got up to speed immediately. I have complete confidence in her abilities and her commitment to her clients for the best outcome possible.

  4. Colleen Markou was amazing!

    Posted by Michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Markou handeled my divorce case and did an amazing job! Colleen was tasked with a situation where there was a conflict of interest with my case and the judge in the county where my divorce case was to be heard. Ms. Markou, immediatly contacted the SCAO (State Court Administrative Office) and had them assign the case to another county which worked out much better. I would recommend Colleen Markou and the staff at Stancoti and Associates to anyone with any legal needs.

  5. Do Not Hire

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired this attorney to file my divorce papers, things got messy and she basically let things slide after that. Her process server got assaulted by my ex and the process server was mad and she rather keep her process server than work on my custody case. She also did not file papers to freeze specific assets right away allowing my ex to wipe out 22 years worth of my contribution to the family's wealth. I would not recommend her to anyone.

    1. Colleen M. Markou

      Colleen Markou

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have combed through my files to try to figure out who you are, to no avail. I have asked my process server if he was ever assaulted while serving papers for me, he has told me no. I can not determine who you might be. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you relative to your complaints. I fear you have me confused with someone else.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  6. Colleen if fantastic!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Colleen is an outstanding lawyer, and I would strongly recommend her to anyone who has to walk through the divorce process. She is trustworthy, knowledgeable, and very compassionate. More importantly, she is extremely honest and fair. Whenever I had questions, needed paperwork completed, or had to meet with her I knew that everything would be taken care of immediately. My ex has often said he wished he had hired Colleen before I did! :-)

  7. Best divorce attorney

    Posted by Stephanie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Colleen is extremely knowledgable and wonderful to work with. She was very compassionate and understanding. Additionally, she is very responsive. She understands the laws and the legal process as well as the emotional process of divorce. She made it very easy and I would highly recommend her to anyone considering divorce.

  8. Go with Colleen!

    Posted by Kristen, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Colleen is a loyal, reliable down to earth realistic lawyer. What I enjoy most about Colleen is her direct approach and her honesty to me about whether or not I'm being realistic. If you want a 'yes' lawyer don't go here, if you want honest advice, someone who will represent you, your family, the trust and with the upmost integrity - GO WITH HER! I HIGHLY recommend Colleen to anyone!

  9. I Highly Recommend Colleen

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was recommended to seek the assistance of Colleen from another attorney whom I've known for many years. As you can imagine, going through visitation and custody disputes can be overwhelming, difficult and stressful times. At my initial consultation, through Colleens experience, knowledge, honestly, and compassion my concerns were addressed and my mind was put at ease.

    Since my initial consultation back in 2003, I've chosen to hire Colleen over the years because, unfortunately, raising kids with an "ex" can't always be a smooth and cooperative journey. I have been repeatedly pleased and satisfied with the results. On two particular occasions, I was in need of immediate action and Colleen did not disappoint.

    Over the years, Colleen has always been well prepared, tactical, and respectful in her approach. She genuinely cares for her client's best interest and will fight for fair and just results. Colleen has always and continues to exceed my expectations.

    I strongly recommend Colleen to anyone who is going through the unfortunate situation of custody/visitation disputes - such can be stressful times not only for you but family members and your children. Colleen has always looked out for the best interest of my kids and helped my family and I along the way.

    Thank You

  10. The lawyer to go to for family law - Honest, Trustworthy, Accessible and Aggressive in winning the case

    Posted by Christina Brown, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen Markou.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I had to fire my first lawyer for not having my best interests in my case I had zero faith in the legal system or a lawyer. I went to Colleen and she was like a breath of fresh air. She tells me the truth about my case and what I should do even when it's not what I want to hear. She is accessible when I call or she calls me back, instead of the last firm where all the advice I got was sent to me through the legal assistant. She bills me honestly and fairly for her time. She displays thorough knowledge of all areas of child custody/divorce. She is aggressive in the court room and does not back down to shady lawyers. One of the things I really liked about her is that she would try to resolve things before going to court when possible, instead of pushing for court to bill extra time like other lawyers do. My court case was a tough one with an ex who retained a shady lawyer and takes me to court constantly. Colleen has fought against them agressively and saved me thousands of dollars by not allowing frivilous items to go to court. I have recommended Colleen to friends of mine because I believe she is the best lawyer in the area and they too have been happy with her representation.