I was on probation for 5 years my term is up October 20th but my po sent a probation violation for not paying it all off within that time, will I go to jail on my court date what will happen
It probably depends on the judge you have. In most counties you probably wouldn't be facing jail time or at least, little jail time if your only violation is you haven't paid your fines and costs. However, facing a PV in Oakland County is unlike facing a PV anywhere else as they are notoriously harsh and frequently give sentences that are far more severe than most other places in the state.
If you have made some steady progress throughout probation and just came up short, that's a lot better than not paying anything or paying very little.
You need to take this very seriously. I would suggest consulting with some criminal defense attorneys that regularly practice in Oakland County because they have a well earned reputation for being tough. Being on probation in Oakland County is unlike being on probation anywhere else. Definitely don't go in there unarmed or with no money. It would probably help your case and violation tremendously if you could come up with some money that you owe toward your balance. Beg, borrow (don't steal) to get the money if necessary.
AVVO and Google are great places to begin your search for a lawyer. Many offer free consultations so take advantage.See question
Im 31 from michigan. I recently rcvd a dui, was arrested didnt take a breathalyzer. I have never been in trouble a day in my life. I have one speeding ticket 5 mph over the limit and it was 8 years ago. I got a lawyer who met with the prosecutor w...
I agree that something isn't quite right here. You must be confused or mistaken about what happened. You have to be convicted before you can be placed on probation. You can only be found guilty if you plead guilty or are found guilty at trial. Otherwise, you could not have been placed on probation and lost your license if you pleaded not guilty. That's just not possible. Sometimes while the case is pending the judge may make you do random or scheduled drug tests as a bond condition. What you describe isn't legally possible. I strongly suggest you consult with a lawyer about your case to determine what is going on.See question
One felony only!
Michigan doesn't have the authority to grant that, only the trial court in Illinois you were convicted in. I know from speaking to colleagues before that Illinois has a couple different procedures for setting aside a conviction. They are different than Michigan. You need to speak to a criminal defense lawyer in Illinois that regularly does expungements for more information. AVVO and Google are great places to start your search. Good luck.See question
If a woman won't stop hitting a man and he defends himself by groping her chest, is this sexual assault and can he be convicted?
You are legally entitled to use a reasonable amount of force necessary to defend yourself if being attacked. However, I agree with fellow counsel in that I don't know how groping breasts could ever be construed as self defense to propel an attack. It sounds like a flimsy attempt at finding a way to justify a sexual assault which almost assuredly that is how it would sound to most judges or juries. Just letting you know.
If you have been charged or are being investigated for an assault, do not speak to the police or give any statements without first consulting with a lawyer.See question
My child was sexually assulted. How long do i have to film a civil suit. My child needs to go back into counseling
I agree with fellow counsel. You need to contact a civil attorney that specializes in personal injury type cases such as this. They can help you decide if the statute of limitations has tolled and what you will need to prove your case. AVVO and Google are great places to start your search.See question
Arrested for violation of PPO. Sent to jail pending trial. Judge asked if I had $1000.00. Said no. Jedge set bail at $1000 cash. Went to court around July 6 . Got time served. Court still holding bail.
First of all what is your question? You merely made declarative statements. Secondly, you cannot have a bond returned to you that was never posted. You would only get your bond back or a portion of the unused bond back after your conviction as your bond would be applied toward fines and costs. Even if you posted bond and you were found not guilty or the matter was dismissed, many courts will still hold 10% of it for administrative costs. If you posted bond through a bondsman, you won't get any of it back because that's how they make their money.See question
I have a business for which I will be registering a web domain, business email address, and several support email addresses (e.g., sales, help, admin @ company.com). Do I need to register these with the police before activating them? Not a big ...
I would advise that you err on the side of caution. The SORA case was a federal judge interpreting state law which is persuasive precedent and not binding on a state judge. That means that a trial judge in state court would not be bound or compelled to follow the judge's decision in the federal case. Some provisions only provided to the particular plaintiffs as state in the case decision. The legislature will probably come up with a "cure" eventually to circumvent the ruling which is typical in cases like this. Until there is something definitive from the either the state or US Supreme Court, I would proceed with caution.
It would be a good idea to set up a consultation with a local criminal defense attorney that does a lot of SORA violations and SORA removals to make sure you are acting in full compliance.See question
I am how do I find a good criminal defense attorneys in west Michigan not someone looking to make a quick buck .
You've come to the right place. AVVO has a great Find a Lawyer search tab so you can narrow your search by practice area and location. Look for a lawyer that makes criminal defense a primary focus of his or her practice. This is far too serious and too much of a specialized field to go with a general practitioner or a dabbler. One that is familiar with your particular court is a good bonus, but not required. Ask for referrals or client testimonials. Make a list of qualities that are important to you and look for those traits in the attorneys you talk to. Most offer free consultations so take advantage. Google is another great tool to find a lawyer as well as the state bar referral. Judge's clerks are good to ask because they see tons of lawyers everyday- good and bad.See question
How long is the Statute of limits for disorderly conduct in Michigan? Me and a cashier got in a verbal fight at a store, and she called the cops after I was gone. Can this be tracked back to me? Warrant? What happens next?
The prosecutor has six years from the date of the offense to file charges. However, there are some things that can toll the statute of limitations meaning the clock is stopped which gives the prosecutor longer to file charges.
They will have to have some way to ascertain your identify and trace this incident back to you before they can file charges. If the police or anyone else asks you about this incident, SAY NOTHING and speak to an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately.See question
I am 24 years old with a daughter and made mistakes a couple of years ago. I'm trying to provide for my daughter and the jobs I apply to don't hire me because of my record. I'm not eligible for expungement yet but do some judges make exceptions? C...
You can file a post conviction pardon request, but your chances of it being granted are slim. The judge does not have any statutory power to make an exception. There is no way around the waiting period. Sorry.See question