Michael J. Olson’s Reviews

Michael J. Olson

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A great lawyer for one of the worst divorces on the century.

    Posted by Wayne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike has a desire to be successful in his services and representing myself. This was first demonstrated to me when Mike did his research on me to determine if I was being honest with him in the beginning. When he was certain that he was given all the correct facts, he took on the case. I really appreciated this, because when he accepted my case, he was committed to it and to me. Mike would review every aspect with me and explain the alternatives including the potential cost impacts with the various options before proceeding. Mike dealt professionally with everything that needed to be addressed. He discussed the issues with me and listened to what I had to say without making any pre-judgments. Mike would summarize the issues well and keep to the facts even though the other party attempted to “rabbit trail” at every opportunity. My “after-divorce” problems continued for years as the other party would continually challenge the final order. Even in this, Mike dealt professionally and worked to keep my interests protected. Mike is a professional individual that is first looking for a mutual agreement in a divorce but when a mutual agreement is not obtainable, he worked aggressively for my interests.
    I truly give Mike my highest recommendations.

  2. Understands the Emotions - Clearly Provides Your Options for Resolution

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had an ugly divorce and (1) year after the judgment was final…it got worse. I selected Mike to replace my original attorney. What a great decision! Mike stepped in and helped us through the unresolved issues and battles. He provided great legal counsel and shared wisdom that resulted in solving problems others had been unable to conclude. Since the divorce, I have worked with Mike on a couple of business matters, with the same result. I would recommend Mike to anyone needing an attorney that understands the emotions involved and will help you see your options for resolution. I will continue to work with Mike in the future and I count him as a great business associate and a member of my “legal team.”

  3. Top Notch

    Posted by Jeff, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Olson is a profeesional in every sense of the word. He is knowledgeable, prepared, practical, and personal in all respects of his practice. Mike provides insight on legal issues beyond most attorneys I have worked with in the past.

  4. very sharp divorce attorney

    Posted by nicole, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mike for my divorce attorney and was very satisfied with his services.He came highly recommended from another local attorney and I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of an attorney.

  5. Long-term Health Care Coverage Continuance

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My lawyer represented me in my challenge to get a health care premium paid by my ex-husband as part of his responsibility from our divorce decree 3 years ago. He had been paying it before he retired and we were divorced and decided to discontinue paying after two years. We proved that it was still to be part of his responsibility, not mine, and the judge ordered that he must continue paying it. If I hadn't brought the problem forward and had Mike's help clarifying it, I don't think I would have won the contest. He was concise and swift in his argument and I appreciated his expertise and help.

  6. Professional

    Posted by Ray, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am a CFP that has worked with Mike on several cases. He has consistantly showcased his professionalism and ethical characteristics on each of the cases I have been involved in. He takes the time to really learn about the client and seek the best solution.

  7. Outstand Results

    Posted by Renee, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have worked with Mike and Matecun, Thomas and Olson PC for approximately 6 months now. Mike and his team are very professional and I enjoy doing business with them. I was going through a possible foreclosure on my condo and Mike and his team assisted me in preventing it. I was confused, frustrated and at my wits ends with my mortgage company. I called Mike and his team for their help and was calmed down and reassured that they would assist me and take care of what was going on. A letter was promptly written to my mortgage company that day advising them to work with me on a loan modification. Because of Mike and Matecun, Thomas and Olson PC, I was able to obtain a loan modification with my mortgage company and keep my condo. Mike and his team made me feel like they were on my side and would do whatever it took to help me. I am forever grateful to him and his team! I will recommend them to everyone I know who is looking for a honest and professional attorney.

  8. I recommend Michael Olson

    Posted by John, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Michael has been very helpful and responsive in his handling of my divorce. I have been particularly pleased with the level of sensitivity with which he has addressed matters with both myself and my ex wife.

  9. A lawyer with a heart

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When you’re dealing with the legal system, you often feel like you’re just another case number. But Mr. Olson is a lawyer with heart. He expresses his compassion for your situation and wants to help you win. He has the local experience necessary to navigate the local courts. He will keep you informed and explain how each step of the process will take place.

  10. Business and personal

    Posted by Scott, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Olson.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Fantastic experience working with Mike and all of MTO Law. Experienced and helpful on both business and personal matters. Have worked with them on several matters and always have been knowledgeable and informative with me and my company.