John L. Gormley’s Reviews

John L. Gormley

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great family man and knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by Doug, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I would recommend John to anyone looking for an attorney. I've known John Gormley for over 15 years, both professionally and personally. Of the many attorneys I've dealt with in my 44 years of being in business, John ranks at the top of the list. John is a helper, always willing to assist you with any aspect of most any problem you may have. I don't need to tell you he is knowledgeable (he will tire you out with details if you want to listen), thorough and always on top of his game. Most importantly of all, having known him for many years, I can say he is a man of personal honor and integrity. I've recommended John to many people over the years with not one person being disappointed with his services.

  2. I would recommend John to my friends

    Posted by Joyce,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.

    i have used John in the past and would highly recommend him to my friends.Always professional and friendly but aggressive when needed in court.Doesnt waste your time or money on things that are not needed or if he doesn't think is worth everyones time.Will let you know if you can handle a case on your own and will give guidance to do so or let you know if an attorney is needed.I appreciate that.

  3. Divorce

    Posted by Denise, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired John to handle my divorce, based on a recommendation from a friend of mine. I must say John was upfront and honest with me from the start. He kept me informed of all developments. In unfortunate circumstances such as divorce, John made the transaction as painless as possible. Thank you John for all of your hard work, and for a favorable and fair outcome of my case. I will recommend you and your firm in the future.

  4. John Gormley is an excellent attorney!

    Posted by Pete, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.

    John has been my personal attorney/counselor at law for nearly 20 years. John is exceedingly knowledgeable in all aspects of the law, and its application. John is what I consider to be an "industry professional" and is a man of high ethical and professional standards. I have personally recommended friends and colleagues to John, and the results have all been outstanding.

  5. Perfect Transaction

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Gormley and Johnson Law Offices to prepare my Estate Package. They did a wonderful job in every aspect. John is an honest and trustworthy attoroney. I would highly recommend him to anyone! THANK YOU Gormley and Johnson for a job well done!

  6. Matters not handled in timely manner

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We have had an estate open for over 5 years, we had to turn in paperwork multiple times and things still weren't getting done. We finally just started splitting up the money left over and hoped it would start getting things done but 9 months later we still weren't any closer to being done.

    1. John L. Gormley

      John L. Gormley

      Lawyer Comment:

      These are the unfortunate cases where the beneficiaries of a will do not understand where the problem lies in closing up the Estate. The Attorney has no control of the file independent of the Court Appointed Personal Representative (PR or Executor). The Attorney can prepare all the paperwork for the Estate, but if the Estate's PR refuses to execute it for some reason, then the Estate does not close. I believe I know this case and if it is the case I am think of then this is what happened here. I actually had to file a Motion to Withdraw, because the PR would not do what was required and would not communicate with my office. I understand the beneficiaries concerns, but their frustration is misdirected at the attorney, when it should be directed at the PR.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

    2. John L. Gormley

      John L. Gormley

      Lawyer Comment:

      I should also point out the attorney has no control over the funds of the Estate either. The Estate's money is strictly handled by the personal representative ("PR") of the estate. The PR of the Estate must provide an accounting of the monies he or she spent on behalf of the Estate, in order for the attorney to close the Estate. Without this information, the Attorney cannot close the Estate. The accounting must balance and be specific as to all the money being spent. If it does not balance (each beneficiary did not get the proper share accorded to each per the deceased's testamentary instrument), then the Court will not approve the Estate. The Probate Court has a very specific form for providing the accounting and the PR must attach all the bank statements and other supporting evidence to back up his/her accounting. A separate accounting must be file for each year the Estate is open. If the PR cannot provide that court required information necessary for the accounting, then the attorney is powerless to close the Estate and must instead move to withdraw.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  7. Chapter 7 attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Gormley handled a Chapter 7 bankruptcy for me last year, and now I recommend him to any family and friends that need help with their financial situation. The office staff is helpful and friendly. Mr. Gormley was very knowledgeable and professional about the entire bankruptcy process, yet he made the whole process easy, and kept it light-hearted. I did not feel embarrassed after our first meeting, and I feel like my case was handled very well. I would recommend him to anyone who may need help with bankruptcy or any other legal matter.

  8. very helpful

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    he told me things about my pending divorce that i didn't want to hear or accept; but he was absolutely right on target with what the court eventually ruled.

  9. Excellent and Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by Anne, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Gormley has been my personal attorney for over 15 years. He has handled both my divorce and bankruptcy and I would strongly encourage him for your legal matters. In both instances, my cases were handled with the utmost professionalism and integrity. I found Mr. Gormley's staff to be knowledgeable, caring and courteous. My questions and concerns have always been fully addressed in a timely fashion.

  10. Local Atty

    Posted by Timothy, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gormley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John is a great lawyer that works long hours and does everything legally possible for each and every one of his clients. He worked miracles for me, as well as a couple of friends of mine.
    I will always go back to John Gormley. One of the most fair and honest attorneys i have ever dealt with.

Call now for a free consultation.

517-223-3758