Brian R. Laxton’s Reviews

Brian R. Laxton

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Stellar Professional Who Provides Realistic Expectations and Peace of Mind

    Posted by Robert, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very nervous going into the character and fitness process. I knew that I needed an attorney that would understand my circumstances, who was intimately familiar with the process, and could best prepare me. Brian was the best choice: he provided me with superior quality insight and strategy derived from years of experience, as well as invaluable peace of mind. I could not have gotten through the process without him!

  2. Brian Laxton: Fantastic attorney and a great person who gets results when you most need them.

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Licensing matter.

    I had the privilege of being sworn in to the State Bar today and it would not have happened without attorney Brian Laxton's counsel and representation. After graduating law school I knew that past issues would likely require further investigation and--ultimately--approval within the State Bar's character and fitness process. When discussing these issue with trusted law school faculty and a number of Michigan attorneys, I was invariably told that I should talk to attorney Brian Laxton. I took their advice, and it was the best decision I could have made.

    For those with character and fitness issues, the process of navigating that requirement to obtaining a law license is anything but intuitive and can be a significant source of anxiety. Considering what hangs in the balance, having an attorney like Brian in your corner makes every difference in the world. He explained to me the inner workings of the process--with whom we were working and where they fit in the larger picture. He drew on his years of considerable experience to explain what was important to those persons making the decisions affecting my future and why they were important to them. What's more, Brian Laxton thoroughly and objectively reviewed every detail of what was a fairly complicated case and provided an honest appraisal of strengths and weaknesses. He was very knowledgeable. And when my hearing came and attorney Laxton advocated for me, I knew I put my trust in the right lawyer.

    Beyond the above, the way Brian Laxton services his clients is impressive. He returned every phone call and email in very short order. He would take time out of his personal life to answer questions, and he would always stick with me until my questions were answered to my satisfaction. Weekends, evenings, whenever...he always responded promptly and in a way that was helpful. They way he treats his clients ought to be a model for other attorneys. And lastly, beyond his expertise and knowledge in a rather esoteric area, Brian Laxton is just a genuinely good person who really cared about my success and truly wanted to help me become an attorney. I can't thank him enough.

  3. Brian Laxton-Fantastic Attorney!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.

    Brian did a great job representing me through the process of Character and Fitness with the Michigan Bar. He was always prepared and knew what was necessary to help me prepare for the district committee hearing to ensure that I would receive a positive recommendation. He understood my case file inside and out and knew how to handle every detail. He paid close attention to my case as it went through the different committees up to the Board of Law Examiners and made sure that I was being represented appropriately.

  4. Fantastic, dependable, and trustworthy attorney

    Posted by a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.

    Mr. Laxton is a fantastic attorney. He guided me through the complex Character and Fitness process with a firm resolve and an impeccable attention to detail. I would strongly recommend Mr. Laxton.

  5. Excellent attorney for bar admission cases

    Posted by a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.

    I retained Mr. Laxton for representation in a Character & Fitness matter before the State Bar of Michigan. Mr. Laxton came highly recommended and lived up to his reputation. He was knowledgeable in the applicable facts and procedure and proved a zealous and articulate advocate. Moreover, he was always available to answer any and all questions and, on a personal level, was able to put me at ease on several occasions during a very stressful and lengthy process. I also found his fees completely reasonable considering the length of time and effort required. Ultimately, his representation proved successful and I would, without reservation, recommend Mr. Laxton to any attorney or prospective attorney in need of representation in ethical or bar admission matters.

  6. A very good experience.

    Posted by Brian, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Not being your average law student, I’m fifty-five years old, I completed law school rather than simply retire from my government job; I knew that there were events in my life that might raise an eyebrow in the Character and Fitness process.
    Attorney Brian Laxton was recommended to me as someone both knowledgeable about the Character and Fitness process and as understanding that his clients are human beings with all their frailties.
    When I contacted Mr. Laxton he was prompt in returning my call and after hearing my situation confident in a positive outcome. It was clear that Mr. Laxton was indeed knowledgeable regarding the rules and processes in the Character and Fitness portion of the Bar application.
    Because of my odd work hours Mr. Laxton made himself available in the evening and on weekends to discuss my questions and our presentation of the facts of my situation.
    When it was time to appear before the local Character and Fitness committee Mr. Laxton attended the hearing with me to provide support and bring forth pertinent information. I would, without hesitation, recommend Brian Laxton as a very qualified and caring attorney and counselor

  7. Brian Laxton

    Posted by Rob, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Laxton was always prepared, always responded to my questions, and did an excellent job with my professional responsibility matter. I would recommend him to anyone in a heartbeat. He responds to emails on Saturday nights!

  8. Extremely Thorough and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Anonymous, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Brian was of great assistance in representing me throughout a recent MI Bar Standing Committee Hearing that I had to endure. He was extremely thorough and kept me highly informed throughout the entire process. When I first contacted Brian, I was scared and truly thought that I might never be able to practice law within the State of Michigan. Brian was a calming presence, and constantly assured me that I would make it through the process unscathed...and he was right! I strongly recommend Esq Brian R Laxton

  9. Brian Laxton - Attorney and Counselor

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I retained Brian's services after learning my application to practice law in Michigan was denied due to believed shortcomings in my character and fitness to practice. I had made mistakes in my past, and I needed to rehabilitate my image and reputation to convince those in charge of the decision I deserved the honor of being called an attorney. I knew finding the right attorney to help with this process would be one of the most important decisions I'd make. I did my due diligence, and asked countless practicing attorneys who they recommended. Brian's name came back time after time.

    Brian was confident in my case, and we worked together to achieve a positive result. We discussed many possible strategies, and he provided his expertise. He has been through countless Character and Fitness hearings, and knew the important points to focus on. We came up with what we believed would be a successful defense. Brian was sure to make clear any final decision would be mine to make.

    Anyone who has gone through or is going through a licensing problem for any profession requiring licensure understands the process is embarrassing. Brian understands this, too. He knows it is easy to get down on yourself in embarrassing situations. Accordingly, he encouraged me to focus on the future, not dwell on the past. Above all, Brian counseled me throughout the process. He demonstrated to me one of the most important parts of being an attorney is acting as a counselor to your clients.

    I was successful in my appeal, demonstrating I possessed the requisite character and fitness to practice law in Michigan. I am thankful for Brian's services, and would recommend him to anybody going through a similar situation. I have been practicing law now for a few months, and try to keep with me the lessons I learned from Brian. I hope to be as good a counselor to my clients as Brian was to me.

  10. A true credit to the legal profession

    Posted by S. Wesley Compton, Attorney and Counselor at Law, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Laxton.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first met Mr. Laxton in the spring of 2009 and was immediately impressed with his credentials and professionalism. It was these traits that brought me to hire him as my personal attorney in 2011. Mr. Laxton was courteous, polite, and didn't dance around the issues. As my case came to conclusion, I was most impressed with Mr. Laxton's preparedness. He took great measure to be certain that nothing was left to chance and that I was aware of all my options at all times. He also did so around my schedule, meeting with me at often late hours and on weekends. I'm not certain if he even knows how much this was appreciated. For all these reasons, I would personally recommend Brian Laxton to represent anyone in need of the services of a true legal professional. He is an incredible attorney and human being.