Richard L. Williams’s Reviews

Richard L. Williams

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Gene, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I would, and have recommended Mr. Williams to several people. He served me well when I needed to help my Grandson out of some serious situations. If I had to trust my Grandson's life to someone it was important to me that it be someone with a genuine concern for his life. I have always felt that to be the case. Mr. Williams is a peoples person which is a good thing. It enables him to help YOU in the process. Over the years I have had to know more lawyers than I care to think about, but I can honestly say that Richard Williams is the man I'd want on my side and sad day for many when he no longer practices.

  2. Makes all lawyers look bad!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Williams is a liar, and doesn't know law. You would think 36 years of experience would allow him enough time to learn what a lawyer should know.. The fact of the matter, most graduates coming out of law school have a better understanding on how the world works than he does.

    Responsive? Shows up late for all of your court dates looking like a mess. He doesn't know how to properly dress or groom himself.

    Knowledgeable? All he knows how to do is scam you out of your money. He just "shows up" to your court dates and that's it.. doesn't actually do anything.

    Keep me informed? If you mean, having his secretary call you 24 hours before each court date, then sure. Don't expect a phone call from this man unless you plan on getting charged $500 per hour (20 minutes for him=1 hour).

    Overall... worst lawyer I have ever met, and that includes court-appointed attorney's. I'm really surprised this man is still practicing and hasn't been disbarred yet.. I'm sure people have turned him in before.. There is no way anybody had a good experience using him as their lawyer.. Do yourself a favor and HIRE SOMEONE ELSE!! Mark my words, you WILL regret hiring this "man"!

  3. No, No, No!! Hire someone else!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I've seen better results come from a court appointed attorney.. After he explained to me that a plea bargain was my best and only option, I fired him and hired a real lawyer. My new lawyer had the case thrown out in a few weeks. This man does not listen to his clients idea's and only looks out for HIS best interest.. Waste of money.. I wish I could have that money back so I could do something to "pay it forward" to someone who actually needs the money. This man takes more vacations in a year than a normal person takes in a lifetime. There are many great lawyers out there begging for work.

  4. BEWARE! DON'T HIRE!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Two words.. STAY AWAY! I hired this man and all he cared about was a plea deal. He took my money and left me at pre-trial and withdrew from my case. I hired another attorney (pro bono actually) and told him about Williams.. he was disgusted and took my case for free.

    Long story short.. Williams has no idea what he is talking about. He's a has-been, push-over who pretends he knows more than he does. He uses every trick in the book to get you to hire him.
    BEWARE!!!!!!

  5. You won't be sorry

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Dick is a GREAT OWI attorney! He helped me out of a really bad situation in Ingham County. I HIGHLY recommend this guy!

  6. I Couldn't Have Done It Without Him

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Williams represented me back in 2007 on two felony charges in Eaton and Ingham Counties. My life was a messed up hell back then. I was addicted to vicodin at the time, and was writing bad scripts in several different pharmacies. I got in trouble again while he was representing me, but he never gave up on me. He helped me get the proper treatment to get me off the pills, and he kept me out of prison. I honestly believe he went above and beyond for me.

    Why did I wait so long to write a review? I don't know... I was just thinking about my life back then, and decided to Google him. I think more people need to know that there are good, honest attorneys out there who are willing to help. I would most certainly hire Mr. Williams again if I ever needed his help, while I pray to God that will never happen ;)

  7. Happy and Content

    Posted by Doug, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Williams had me attend a MADD panel and receive an alcohol assessment review in preparation for my case going to pre-trail. He counseled me as to what was going to take place
    in my pre-trail as well as my sentencing. He prepared me as to how I should appear and what to say in my sentencing. He has an acute awareness of how the court system operates and prepared me so that I could make a strong impression. I greatly appreciated having Mr. Williams as my lawyer.

  8. A great attorney that saved my career

    Posted by Joe, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was a first year law student when I was arrested for DUI. Dick managed to get the charge reduced to reckless driving and saved my law career. He is truly an excellent attorney and power advocate for his clients.

  9. Definately a man that cares, and isn't afraid to fight.

    Posted by Greg, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Williams.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Williams may have, currently, a very bad website, but don't let this fool you. This man knows his stuff! I had a case where I was told I was going to jail by a high priced attorney. I hired Mr. Williams for 1/4 of the cost. He got it reduced to "faulty winshield equipment." I pled guilty to a civil infraction, paid $65 and was on my way. A great man not just in his dedication to his work, but in and of all his other qualities and compassion.