Michael J. Nichols’s Reviews

Michael J. Nichols

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Open Container

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.

    A few weeks ago I received a misdemeanor for open container. Unfortunately, this was not my first offense. I expected the worst, as my last alcohol related offense resulted in 6 months of the worst probation of my life. Once Mike was assigned to the case, he and his staff immediately kept me very informed. Not once did I have to call/message more than once, and usually got a text from him within the hour. They were very swift with submitting everything needed by the court, while also sending me copies of all documents along the way. Long story short, the case got reduced to a civil infraction and I actually got $50 back from the bond I posted! If you need a lawyer for alcohol related offenses, you'd be stupid to go anywhere else!

    1. Michael J. Nichols

      Michael Nichols

      Lawyer Comment:

      The key here was the fact that I tried even "low-level" misdemeanors like minor in possession (mip) in that court and it was clear to the prosecutor that it was beter to resolve it than to push my clients around!

      Posted 24 days ago. Flag

  2. Outstanding results, outstanding service

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I wanted to share my experience with the Nichols Law Firm and Mike Nichols specifically. I hired Mike and his firm to help with an OVI charge not my first unfortunately. Mike's knowledge of the law the local district and circuit court was impeccable. Mike held my hand throughout the process and my wife's and was able to obtain the best possible outcome. His firm stayed on top of all the correspondence and kept me informed throughout the whole stressful process. I would recommend the Nicholas Law Firm to anyone in need of help!

    1. Michael J. Nichols

      Michael Nichols

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is an awesome story. I really felt on this case where understanding a little twist got us a very good result all things considered.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  3. Best Lawyer in the Lansing Area

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for Drunk and Disorderly Conduct. I was referred to Mike by a friend who had retained him in the past. From day one Mike was there for me. He put my mind at ease once I retained him and was able to get my cased dismissed to a Civil Infraction with just a small fine. I highly recommend him to anyone who finds themselves in any legal problems especially related to alcohol crimes. He is a little pricey but its worth it if you are trying to avoid a criminal conviction on your record.

  4. Without Reservation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I fully endorse Mike Nichols without reservation. Unfortunately, I have needed the services of several dui defense attorneys in the last 1.5 years. As a doctor with many high powered attorneys for friends, I chose my representation from the cream of the crop. Of the 4 attorneys I collaborated with, Mike was the most thorough, professional, and knowledgeable.

    Because I was headed to jury trial, I needed a calm, personable attorney who was capable of persuading people. I needed a polished orator. This is where Mike clearly outshines his colleagues.

    Mike also has extensive knowledge of the science behind blood alcohol testing. He can sit in a room of chemists and doctors and participate fully in the scientific discussions. This allowed him to look through my case with a fine toothed comb and identify numerous errors during the collection and processing of my blood sample. He is also uniquely able to convey these difficult scientific principles to less educated jurors.

    I was very impressed that at one of my preliminary hearings, Mike took the time to confer with me and double check all his notes as the court room sat in silence, waiting for him to get frazzled and sit down. Every time he neared finishing with a witness he would take his time to make sure he had covered all of his bases before he dismissed them. All eyes were on him; everyone wanted him to move on, but he stayed calm and owned the floor.

  5. Look no further

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you're looking to retain an attorney to represent you for DUI/OWI case, look no further because Mike is your guy.

    I have never been in legal trouble before, so when I was arrested on the night of the incident and was subsequently charged with an OWI, I was extremely flummoxed and lost. Due to my inexperience with hiring attorneys, I was unsure as to where to even begin to fight the charge. After conducting some substantial research and consulting with other attorneys, I came to a firm conclusion that Mike was the guy to hire, and I have not regretted my decision through out the whole stint

    Not only Mike is an intelligent, caring, experienced, and adept lawyer, he is very familiar with the East Lansing 54-B court and its staff. I also have no doubt that he is well known in other jurisdictions. He will educate you with your legal rights, and he will work his magic to produce the best result for you.

    My BAC test indicated .14, which is almost twice the legal limit. Despite the absurdly high BAC test, Mike used his legal acumen to plead down my OWI charge to Reckless Driving WITHOUT probation and community service. This is a phenomenal deal considering my high BAC result and it's a result that only an experienced attorney like Mike can obtain.

    If you're currently facing an OWI charge, do not panic and just call MIke to set up a meeting. If you decided to retain him, make sure to relax and focus on your other priorities in life because Mike will take care everything for you.

    Worrying about the case is not going to solve anything but Mike will.

    Thank you for everything, Mike. You have been absolutely fabulous, and I have learned a lot from you. I wish the best of luck to you and your future endeavors.

    1. Michael J. Nichols

      Michael Nichols

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for taking the time to write this - it made my day!

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  6. Highly Recommend

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mike Nichols and his entire legal team in one word: Professionals. From the minute I spoke to Mr. Nichols, he began to remedy my legal problems. As a young college student who had never been in trouble with the law before, this was a life-changing experience. My arrest for OWI was a difficult event, but Mike was there for me from the beginning.

    My confidence in Mr. Nichols and his team only grew after we met in person. Throughout my experience with the Nichols Firm I have been extremely impressed with his office staff and colleagues. They have treated me with respect, kindness, and honesty. They are always willing to lend a hand in any questions or issues that arose. What has impressed me even more is Mr. Nichols extensive knowledge in OWI/DUI defense. As a first time offender for OWI, I had little knowledge myself, and there can be many myths about laws and procedure out there. Mr. Nichols dispelled many of the common perceptions about OWI offenses and the consequences that come with it. Mike's experience with OWI law was integral to my defense, which was superb.

    As to my defense itself, Mr. Nichols is a skilled attorney who is knowledgeable and proactive. He would always take the time to answer any of my questions and kept me up to date with the latest information related to my case in real time. He is excellent to work with, and as a result, his courtroom presence is amazing. It is clear he has taken the time to foster good relationships with the judges, prosecuting attorneys, and courtroom employees.

    I have full confidence in Mike Nichols and his law firm to represent anyone in a criminal defense matter, especially OWI cases. Mr. Nichols and his law firm are very talented and experienced. You will not be disappointed in retaining his services.

  7. Vindication.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mike just finished representing me in a DUI case that ended with a dismissal. It was a long and arduous process that ended up taking 22 months. The outcome of my case also had an impact on my professional license ( since I am licensed through the State ). Mike did an excellent and thorough job with my case. Mike not only impressed me with his legal expertise and court presentation but also in his emotional support that allowed me to stay the course and realize complete vindication.
    Thanks, Mike.

  8. Gets Results.

    Posted by Wolfgang, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for an OWI and this being the first time I got in any serious trouble I was quite clueless about how everything works. While interviewing other attorneys, Mike Nichols immediately caught my attention with his professionalism and knowledge of the system. I provided him with the information and he worked fast and efficiently to put everything in order, making me feel much more calm and comfortable about the situation.
    He is an outstanding litigator, when in a hearing with the police officer who arrested me I witnessed Mike turn the officer inside out with legal information and facts that left the officer stumbling over his words. When I was arrested I refused the breathalyzer, therefore my license was suspended for one year. Mike immediately obtained a court ordered hardship/restricted license, so not only was he working with my OWI charge, he also handled my driving permit with the Secretary of State.
    When discussing possible outcomes it seemed I would at least receive an impaired driving. Mike was very persistent with the prosecutor and very good at keeping me informed throughout the whole process. I was amazed to find out the OWI charge would be dismissed and it only resulted in a careless driving...with no probation! To say the least, I was very impressed and dumbfounded that these results were achievable, when interviewing another attorney he said there was only a 5% chance of this happening. My confidence in the Nichols Law Firm is extremely high, I trust the decisions he made because I know he always looked out for my best interest. I recommend Mike Nichols to anyone with a DUI related incident, his knowledge and experience is second to none.

  9. amazing attorney

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Overall a great and knowledgeable attorney. Made me feel comfortable through out the case.

    1. Michael J. Nichols

      Michael Nichols

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was great to hear after a not guilty verdict for this oersib,

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  10. Perfection with Desired Result !

    Posted by George, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Nichols.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From the night I was arrested till yesterday, I could not sleep and was restless. I walked in home yesterday hugged my family and heaved a sign of relief. I never thought this day would ever come! Yes I did make a mistake that night however not every attorney I spoke to understood the same after my return from jail on that dreadful night , so on one side my world was falling apart and on the other I had to finalize an attorney prior to the arraignment date . I felt comfortable speaking to Mike right after my first conversation with him (I emailed him and he called me back in minutes and yes it was a weekend!)
    Mike understands the entire system, and especially for me came as a miracle due to my slightly complicated case because of my upcoming international travel and being in US on a non immigrant visa. He and his team worked with me right from day 1 and kept me informed at every stage, understood my problem, visa issues and my inability to go to trial in the limited timeframe. My OWI was reduced to careless driving yesterday (in my pre trial conference)and it was the best Christmas gift ever for me and my family .Thanks Mike we owe it all to you! For everyone out there if you ever get stuck in a DUI situation in Michigan call Mike, he understands the system and works with you to get you out of it because everyone deserves a second chance.

    1. Michael J. Nichols

      Michael Nichols

      Lawyer Comment:

      Pretty awesome story and a great Christmas gift for this man and his family.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag