Shayla Dawn Blankenship’s Reviews

Shayla Dawn Blankenship

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Child Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I wish she had been more aggressive. The results were not what I wanted.

  2. Peace of Mind

    Posted by Lacey, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shayla helped me out with a messy custody battle with my ex. She was very up front and direct with me which is always helpful when emotions tend to interfere. She always laid out every scenario for me so I knew what to expect from the beginning. She has given me peace of mind when it comes to my rights and expectations as a single mother.

  3. I would recommend Shayla

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shayla is very up front and direct, which I appreciate. I was looking for someone to NOT beat around the bush with me. Her fees were fair and we got things done quickly - she also recommended ways for me to save money - for example to email her instead of calling. I appreciated the honesty, Shayla really instructed me as to what to expect and helped me look out for myself when I would have just rolled over just to get the divorce over with.
    Thank you Shayla!

  4. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In the past year, I have recommended Shayla Blankenship to many other people. I went to Shayla when I felt no one was going to be able to help me in my divorce case. She made me regain some hope and I never lost faith after gaining her help and support. I felt as if I was always a priority and was extremely well informed every step of the way. Her knowledge was invaluable. If I needed to contact her, I received a rapid response. Whatever the outcome, I knew Shayla and Erin gave me their best. I will continue to use their services with confidence.

  5. Shayla Blankenship

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Blankenship represented me in my divorce and custody case, and is again representing me for parenting time issues. She is knowledgeable and professional, and is willing and capable of going to trial if necessary (as it was in my case). She is realistic in what one should expect to obtain. In addition, she has very reasonable rates. I've has three different attorneys, and have met with several others, and she is the only one I have felt comfortable with as well as the only one I have felt actually cares about the outcome of my case.
    I woud highly recommend her as an attorney.

  6. Satisfied client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Blankenship is an excellent attorney. She handled my divorce quickly at a reasonable cost.. I'm really glad I had her on my side!

  7. Client

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shayla is a decent lawyer and was good about keeping me informed. However I did not find her very compansionate. In addition at times she was rude and did not explain the process very well. Lastly I also had concerns regarding her billing practices.

  8. My disabled fathers divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My father was disabled from a stroke 2 yrs ago. He had remarried in his 60's
    after being widowed. His wife of 7 yrs decided she didn't want the bother of
    having a husband to care for and dropped him at our doors. Shayla had us
    bring him in and was wonderful with the situation of interviewing him. He has
    speech aphasia and can't talk or respond consistantly. Being a very emotional
    time for him and us (my sis and I) she walked us through all the info. and
    always had time for our questions and re-explaining things to us. The process
    went very smoothly for us and her knowledge and compassion will always be
    treasured by us. We would recommend her to anyone!

  9. On the contrary to previous!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Blankenship is a wonderful lawyer. My husband retained her over two years ago for his ongoing custody issues. We could not ask for a more qualified lawyer. She is very conscious of how costly things can get. She recommends e-mailing as it takes less time (therefore less costs), and one month even gave him a break when he paid bill off at end of month, etc. She is very caring and very trustworthy! She is very sharp and knows her stuff! She has defended him and his concerns/interests in his case extremely well! I think that prior review is crazy!

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shayla Blankenship.
    • I hired Shayla more than 3 years ago.
    • Shayla handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would use extreme caution with retaining her for counsel. Of course during the consult she came across very articulate and passionate, however once I retained her, I found her work less than acceptable and her fees doubled in comparison to what she initially quoted me. Her communication skills were poor and I constantly had to go over things that I previously discussed with her. I found her to be very unprofessional and a waste of money. A total bust.