Michael H. Cutler’s Reviews

Michael H. Cutler

Average Rating

Based on 51 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Do not hire for anything but a divorce

    Posted by Michael,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Cutler.

    I hired Michael Cutler to handle a property case. He not only failed to file the proper paperwork with the court, but I also received several $40 charges to "review" emails I had sent him about this.
    ( Namely one to two sentence emails about something HE negligently forgot to do when filing the case) I addressed this matter with him, and he said to speak to his secretary about these charges. I spoke to his secretary, and the next week received another bill with more of these "review email" charges ! I immediately terminated his services and may file a complaint with the attorney grievance commission.

    1. Michael H. Cutler

      Michael Cutler

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client hired my firm to file a suit against a corporation. The Complaint was prepared, reviewed by the client and processed, per his direction. Unfortunately, this client failed to reveal accurate information which was later revealed when the Defendant filed a Counter-Complaint. Following a flurry of meetings, we were able to reduce Defendant's allegations from five claims, to a single claim. The case is manageable at this point,
      There were no overcharges to this client's account. The only question asked by this client relating to his fee statement was answered to his satisfaction. As Client's are not charged for simple e-mails or telephone calls, as an established practice of this law firm, several charges were nullified as a courtesy to this client.
      You should also know that this is the third occasion of this client retaining our services, which speaks well of our professionalism and his satisfaction of the representation provided.

      Posted about 20 hours ago. Flag

  2. Thankful for such a cool head during my divorce

    Posted by Vicki,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.

    Michael helped me during a tumultuous divorce that ended up involving a personal protection order against my soon to be ex. Michael patiently listened to my questions and concerns and was able to help me keep perspective and a cooler head. I felt he was in control each time we went to court. He brought humor into a very tense situation and offered advice when asked. Always shop around until you find an attorney that you are comfortable with, you trust, and that matches your style. I believe Michael Cutler did that for me in both my divorce and PPO cases.

  3. Michael Cutler is a knowledge professional who cares about his clients

    Posted by Andrea, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cutler has displayed the highest level of professionalism. He has solid grasp of the law and combines this with a caring and sensitive disposition. I would not hesitate to recommend him as attorney and I can not thank him enough for his caring, patience, and support.

  4. Responsive, trustworthy and unwavering

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cutler was my third attorney through a lengthy divorce process. He was professional and reassuring throughout the process. I appreciate his ability to bring things together at just the right time, and to ensure an appropriate and fair result.

    I would not hesitate to recommend Michael Cutler if there is a need for legal assistance.

  5. A Consumate Professional

    Posted by Steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Michael Cutler is a consummate professional.

    His steady guidance through the entire process, has patience in answering questions, his ability to help me stay focused on what was important, and his empathy towards my situation were all exemplary.

    Highly recommend, with no reservations.

  6. Highly talented and extremely fair attorney

    Posted by R. Stephen, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael Cutler came highly recommended and he did not disappoint. Although the reputable attorney who recommended him did so because he assumed I was facing a matter which ultimately - and fortunately - I did not have to address, Mr. Cutler, because he was already contracted by me, settled our agreement expeditiously and fairly. I will not hesitate to retain Mr. Cutler's services in the future should the need arise.

  7. Example in profession.

    Posted by Dubravko, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    In this unfortunate case of divorce Mr. Cutler was very professional explaining every step, not rushing me toward decision and being very protective. He knew every answer that I asked him, provided possible solutions and eliminated nonsense. I would definitely recommend him to others. Personally he become great example to myself regarding professionalism.

  8. Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Steven,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.

    Michael did a tremendous job handling my divorce. He was personable and professional throughout the process. He was always updating me on the the status of my divorce and explaining the next steps. Michael always made me feel comfortable and confident I chose the right attorney. I highly recommend his services.

  9. Mixed feelings

    Posted by Jeanne, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.

    I have mixed feelings about Michael. He has handled several things for me. Most of them he has done very well.

    But recently I asked him to handle a situation regarding a family estate situation and I felt that his heart wasn't really into it. I told him what my issue was. My brother stole my father's computer after my father passed away and I had personal intellectual property on it that I wanted back. It was 3 years worth of my work. It was proprietary information and also included sensitive client information and I did/do not want my brother to have that information. So what I needed was access to the computer so that I could remove my personal information off of it. I also wanted some music files of my Dad's and my Mom's recipes. Michael wrote a letter to my brother's attorney requesting the information, but he only asked for a copy of my Dad's files and my Mom's recipes. I felt as though he hadn't even listened to me about how important my own personal property is to me. Later he told me that I should just go to small claims court to get that information from my brother and implied that my 3 years worth of work is not worth enough to warrant anything more than small claims court. I still do the same kind of work today and command a 6 figure salary for it, so I felt that Michael just didn't want to work with me any more and decided to insult me on the way out. I also felt that he had somehow been "gotten to" by my brother and his attorney and was working for them instead of working with my best interest at heart.

    I'm baffled by Michael's behavior because we had previously had a very good working relationship and I don't understand why he turned on me the way he did.

    If you had asked me a year ago, I would have recommended him highly, but after this latest experience, I can no longer recommend him.

    1. Michael H. Cutler

      Michael Cutler

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was a situation where I advised the client that her case was not economically practical. She initially wanted to secure copies of photographs, recipes, music and a computer program from another family member's computer. Following a few letters and telephone discussions, the photographs, music and recipes were secured. A copy of the computer program was also secured, however the client demanded that the other family member's computer be expunged.

      As the amount of attorney fees to be incurred far outweighed the fair market value of the item, I advised the client against further legal action. I BELIEVE THAT AN ATTORNEY SHOULD BE CONSIDERATE OF THEIR CLIENT'S HARD EARNED MONEY, and that a case should not be taken if the client's desired results cannot be achieved. The client was advised of her legal options and the file was closed.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  10. Thank you Mr. Cutler

    Posted by Mohammad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cutler.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I decided to hire Mr. Cutler based on reviews on this site. I am so thankful that I did. I have consulted with a few lawyers before talking to him, and non offered me the solutions he offered. I have wasted my time with previous lawyers, He was straight forward, responds in timely manner, and very knowledgeable. Thank you Mr. Cutler for a job well done.

Contact us today for an appointment or consultation.

248-489-8780