Kevin Bessant’s Reviews

Kevin Bessant

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Success

    Posted by Paul, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin < 1 month ago.
    • Kevin handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Kevin Bessant was extremely responsive and knowledgeable about my problem. E-mailed several times and each time, received a prompt reply with accurate instructions on what was needed. He is very easy to talk to, as he actually listens and when you talk. He installs confidence with his words. He is definitely a fantastic person to have on your side.

  2. Great Attorney

    Posted by Terry,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    One of the best decisions I've made to this date was to hire attorney Kevin Bessant. When I first contacted Mr. Bessant on the phone and explained my situation he was very thorough and forthright. After being on the phone for nearly 45 seconds explaining my case he then took about ten minutes to describe some of the things that could occur if I went into court without legal representation. It was not a scare tactic nor a tactic used to pump out his chest and say hire me. He wanted me to have all of the information that I needed before hiring an attorney or deciding to choose him. I spoke with other attorney's who made my situation sound like doom and gloom and if I hired them I would have the best representation. I never felt comfortable with the others I spoke with so I decided to go with Kevin. Best decision I could have ever made. Kevin was there the entire process. When I called, emailed or text he would get back with me in a timely fashion and explain what was going on with my case. When it was time to go to court Mr. Bessant was able to work with the local prosecutor and get my case reduced to where it wouldn't go on my record and I didn't have to go to jail. During the process, Kevin was always very professional, knowledgeable and honest about what I was facing. He truly did a great job the entire way and now and I can go ahead and concentrate on my life and not worry about the legal cloud that was over my head. In closing I would recommend Kevin Bessant to anyone looking for a great defense attorney.

  3. Thank you Attorney Bessant-

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 1-6 months ago.
    • Kevin handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a native Detroiter who moved out of state a few years ago and left behind a legal matter that turned into a warrant for my arrest. I thought that it would be in my best interest to hire an attorney in Michigan to handle my case. After retaining (2) different lawyers within (1) year of absolutely (0) results, I decided to sever my agreement with the second attorney and start all over again. After many calls and consultations, I found Kevin Bessant's website and decided to contact him. From our initial conversation, I felt confident that he was quite knowledgeable of my type of case (unemployment benefits fraud) and knew exactly what steps to take to help me get it resolved. After retaining Attorney Bessant, he quickly got me a court date and arranged to have all of the court matters, such as the arraignment, pre-trial and sentencing to occur on the same day- which saved me the time and expense of traveling back to Detroit multiple times. Upon appearing in court and meeting him, I observed that he is very well-respected and “connected” in the courtroom. My case was satisfactorily resolved within 8 days of our initial conversation!!! I am so grateful to Mr. Bessant for being there for me at a time when I was literally in tears and in fear of entrusting another lawyer. His services are top-notch and he is a true professional and pleasure to work with. I sincerely and whole-heartedly give my highest recommendation of Attorney Bessant's firm and legal services. He is simply the best!!

  4. LOOK FURTHER, IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A REAL LAWYER

    Posted by ciearl,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Bessant.

    I call Mr. Kevin about representation about a warrant I had
    From 2006 and I spoke with him he sounded like he didn't care and said he would call me back and never did after 2 days so if this the lawyer your looking for stop looking and GET A REAL LAWYER WHO WILL CALL BACK

    1. Kevin Bessant

      Kevin Bessant

      Lawyer Comment:

      Hello Ciearl, I first want to apologize to you if I or anyone else in my office came across as being lackadaisical or non-interested in your situation when you called, as I strive to give every client and potential client the respect and attention they deserve when you contact my office concerning a legal matter.

      Furthermore, I find a failure to return phone calls as being completely unacceptable as we attempt to return all customer calls in a quick and timely fashion, usually within 24 hours or less. I will be sure to look into this to prevent this in the future.

      If by chance your 2006 Warrant is still active, and your situation remains unresolved, I invite you to contact our office again as soon as possible as I will look into your matter promptly, provided I have all of your personal information to research your warrant in an effort to reach a favorable outcome for you. You can also email us at kbessant@criminaldefensedetroitpllc.com.

      Thank you again for your input and hopefully we will have a future opportunity to serve you!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  5. Retaining Mr Bessant is THE best thing I could have ever done!! GREAT at what he does!

    Posted by jennifer, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 1-6 months ago.
    • Kevin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was so nervous for a long time about my case. I called Mr. Bessant and told him about my case. And he told me what he wanted to do with my case in court and told me his retainer fee (extremely affordable!) If you ask me he should charge more for what he does for people! I retained him and he told me what to expect in court and what he would do for me and on the day of my court date he did exactly what he said he would do. I had a VOP on a major charge, he got my probation closed and he got my hyta status retained. I am no longer facing prison time, and my criminal record is clean. Seriously Mr. Bessant is an amazing lawyer and I would recommend him to anyone facing the courts or legal troubles. He is very good at what he does and he does what he says he's going to do. I can live an anxiety free life now and I don't have to look over my shoulder everywhere I go anymore! If you read this Mr. Bessant , THANK YOU again for what you did for me and my future!!

  6. Excellent

    Posted by Jon, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 6-12 months ago.
    • Kevin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Very professional. I could not have asked for a better outcome given the circumstances.
    I will refer Mr.Bessant to anyone who need legal representation in the city of Detroit.

  7. Best Crimininal Defense Lawyer in Michigan!!!!

    Posted by F, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I found myself facing charges I was quite lost. Took to the internet to find attorneys as I knew none. Spoke with about half a dozen lawyers and had a couple appointments set up before I reached Attorney Kevin Bessant.
    First I received his voicemail and left a message, doubting I'd hear a response. I don't think a full 10 minutes passed before he called me back. He listened as I explained my predicament and when I was done he started firing questions.
    He was immediately interested and invested.
    I immediately knew I was in good hands, I honestly felt better. So much so that right after we hung up i cancelled all the other appointments and was in his office the next day! He knew what to ask, knew what the processes and laws were, knew the prosecutor and judge and their habits pertaining to cases. It was clear this was not his first rodeo and that he was passionate about his craft. He made sure he had all the information and understood the case correctly, and did not bring up payments until the end of our meeting.
    Upon leaving his office I felt like I had made the best decision and that I was in the best hands!!
    He didn't disappoint or make false promises. Everything went as he said it would when both him and I did out parts (him as my attorney and I as a defendant).
    I was facing Retail Fraud to a 3rd degree.
    He got my case Dismissed on pre-trial, and provided me with valuable information on how to get my fingerprint and arrest card destroyed (other attorneys charge for this) so that my record is cleared.
    This man is very good at what he does and you feel a certain sense of relief every time you speak with him knowing that "He Got This"!
    One of the best decisions I have made in my life was hiring him.
    If you have a criminal case contact Kevin Bessant, If he tells you he can help you. HE CAN and WILL if you let him!

  8. Expungement Case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.

    After waiting 5 years to expunge my record I found myself in search of a educated attorney to handle my case. I can honestly say I could have not found a better attorney. Mr. Bessant was not only professional and well knowledgable on the expungment process but was honest and displayed exceptional communication skills. In all I am very greatful to Mr. Bessant for giving me a fresh start with no hassles or delays. The process was straight forward and did not take long at all. He is your attorney and your in good hands.

  9. Expungement that was contested by prosecutor

    Posted by Rob, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Attorney Bessant after a prosecutor protested my expungement. He is very knowledgable
    about expungements. I'd gone from being a professional without a record to a person
    who was picking up trash just to make ends meet due to my record. Attorney Bessant Saw through that and treated me with respect and dignity. He comprised a payment plan for the service I needed. It was worth the cost. He comprised a plan that allowed my record to be expunged and now I no longer have a criminal record. Praise God for Attorney Bessant. He's a person that is real and you can trust his professional abilities. I'd refer him to any one.

  10. GLAD WE HIRED ATTORNEY KEVIN BESSANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by Shera, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Bessant.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Having never been in trouble for anything my entire life, I was dumb founded to find myself in the crazy situation I was in. Having been locked up in jail for defending myself against my attackers, and have little to no faith in our "justice system & police", I was in need of a good attorney to protect me in this situation.

    Because I was accused as being the aggressor in the situation against two people, I was charged criminally and was treated by the police like a criminal when I was the victim. Even being the innocent party in this situation the foreseeable outcome was not looking good with the charges I faced.

    It really opened my eyes to when the system thinks you are a criminal. The police and prosecutors will pursue you as such and only believe the story of the alleged "victims", even when the story being told is one of lies. At that point I knew my life was on the line.

    Thankfully I had one of the best attorneys on my side. Attorney Kevin Bessant was able to get me the best outcome for my situation. I did not get any jail time, and I was able to keep my job along with maintaining my reputation. Even though this was a situation I should never have been put in, I am grateful that I had Attorney Kevin Bessant on my side.

    So if you are ever in need of a great Criminal Defense Attorney, he's the one to call. He really works for you, because this "justice system" is designed to lock you up if you choose the wrong attorney.

Contact Attorney Kevin Bessant for a FREE 45 Minute Consultation

313-658-8159