Marc J. Shefman’s Reviews

Marc J. Shefman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. horrible

    Posted by a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Animal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ive met this man one time. Very soon, my case will be too old for me to get justice. He NEEEEVVVEEERRR returns calls and he is NEEVVVVVEEERRR available. I have no idea about whats going on in my case and i have been calling him all year. Im praying to find a lawyer who cares. My case is a small case but it still needs to be handled. I will never deal with or recommend Marc again.

  2. Previous auto accident client

    Posted by Carol, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very happy with the service of Marc Shefman. He was on top of my case every step of the way. He kept me informed on what to expect and always called me back. I was happy with his staff as well. I would recommend him to anyone that needed legal help. I also gave his number to a friend that got a speeding ticket and even though he really doesn't handle these type of cases it was an easy case he helped my friend for a very reasonable fee. My friend was very happy too! Need more attorneys like Marc around!

  3. HORRIBLE!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    this guy marc shefman is horrible. I would not allow my worst enemy to be represented by this dude. marc was my lawyer about 2 years ago and dude is wet behind the ears. he acts like he can't take 5 minutes to call me back and he gives off a arrogant vibe. I don't like his style and wouldn't reccomend him to ANYONE!

  4. mix feelings

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While Mr. Shefman did return most of my phone calls, my experience with him is that he is overly self-confident, and often appear to be arrogant. Mr. Shefman expected me to drop everything and do what he wanted. I don’t see how he got as much as he did when I did most of the leg work. All I wanted was common courtesy from Mr. Shefman and not feel inferior and treated like I was asking for a handout. Mr. Shefman also had a bad habit of blaming me for his mistakes, next time I will take my time and not go to the first attorney I see advertised.

  5. do research

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    No client should have to deal with a lawyer who is a pushover, or a lawyer who waits for the last minute to start looking at your file. I wanted Marc to be motivated and unafraid to fight but I was disappointed at his performance, causing me to receive a low ball settlement. Marc is not what I expected, totally sloppy handling and uncaring. I wish I could have gotten a better lawyer but I didn’t know any better.

  6. Bad Attorney

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He seems to never be in the office. It takes him over 48 hours to return a phone call or email. And it takes him days to get a letter out to the appropriate people for my case. I'm having to take a number when he will get so much in the end. I suffered some soft tissue injury in my back causing me to be off work for a couple of months, I feel as though I’m stuck with him now. He is causing me so much stress! This should be the one person I can count on but I can’t.

  7. NO COMMUNICATION

    Posted by JAY, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I suffered some bad injuries so I went to Mr. Shefman. I was not told by Mr. Shefman that the waiting time would be FINANCIALLY DEVASTATING for me and my family. From the beginning Mr. Shefman was evasive with me about the direction of my case, he wouldn't return my phone calls. This law office did not have my best interest and has failed to communicate with me. Getting information about how the lawsuit claims process works was like pulling teeth with Mr. Shefman. Mr. Shefman is rude, arrogant and seemingly either overworked or incompetent.

  8. Young and Inexperienced

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I strongly suggest avoiding Marc Shefman at all cost, getting your award letter is not everything. I personally had a bad experience from the office of Mr. Shefman and walked away feeling mistreated. From the time of my office consultation something told me not to hire Mr. Shefman as my social security disability attorney but I didn’t listen to myself. He treated me as if I was a number and had no concern for what I was feeling, it was like my case was routine for him and I was just another poor soul applying for disability. Mr. Shefman doesn’t seem to be experienced in litigation or being personable with clients. I feel like my file was neglected because I would have to constantly remind Mr. Shefman of simple things I had already told him. Maybe in a few years he will learn to drop the I know it all attitude, until that time I suggest going to someone more compassionate and experienced.

  9. Proud Client of Marc J Shefman

    Posted by Kristine Sobocienski, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marc Shefman is not only a Great Attorney he is a good man that CARES ABOUT HIS CLIENTS. Mr. Shefman kept me informed every step of the way during my appeal & Trial for Social Security Disability, if I had a question he made sure he was giving me the correct answer. When I needed to speak with him I left a message at the office and he would get back to me with in a couple hours depending on his schedule and then he still made time to always call me back even when it was not important. Mr. Shefman not only get’s the job done!! HE CARES ABOUT HIS CLIENTS.

  10. run fir the hills

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Shefman.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    i had this lawyer for social security disibillite and he is very lazy and don't return calls i would not recomend him