David R. Heyboer’s Reviews

David R. Heyboer

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. would not recommend

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.

    Paid him $1500.00 retainer five years ago last May to simply change two warranty deeds from quick claim deeds and have not received one document but the first bill. Will not give my retainer back upon several requests nor will he complete the task. I have no proof he has even lifted a finger to do anything for the money paid. I am considering talking to the police about possible theft charges because he has had my money for five years and has not sent me one email, or returned one phone call, or shown any evidence of working the task he was paid to do, other than verbal acknowledgments something was being done. All of which has not been supported.

  2. Makes up evidence, doesn't correct it after being advised of it, and impossible to contact.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Never returned calls after repeated attempts. Missed appointments, misfiled motions, didn't consult me on the content of motions before filing, and worst of all: MADE UP EVIDENCE that he submitted in a motion to the court. I never told him anything relating to a key paragraph in a motion he filed on my behalf. Even after calling and advising him that I had NFI where he got the information from since I didn't tell it to him, and his promise to correct it, he NEVER refiled the motion to remove that false paragraph. Ridiculously terrible attorney, with highly questionable ethics.

  3. Doesn't need a phone

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Been calling him to finish final thing from my divorce.... Hasn't returned a call in 25 days. Made 2 appointments and he has cancelled both. Thanks for nothing

  4. Beyond Worthless

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    "lost" my father's will.... refused to provide a copy of the will to my mother, and forced us into costly probate court. We have spent thousands of dollars, due to this attorney's negligence, and I question his integrity as a human being....

  5. AWFUL Experience

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He went into court unprepared I paid him to represent me and ended up representing myself. He did not return phone calls for 6 months and even after I fired him I still have yet to receive the money out of my retainer he owes me.

  6. great lawyer - got my child in a custody battle

    Posted by Carl, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    makes valid and hard arguments and wins cases with aggressive class.

  7. Second to none!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We needed a lawyer who was knowledgeable, trustworthy, and able to see us right away. Mr. Heyboer was that lawyer. He made us feel comfortable and instantly took a huge weight off our shoulders just by talking to him.

  8. My Divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was my divorce lawyer in 1997. I had no complaints whatsoever.

  9. He put me in Jail.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Charge and convicted on negligent homicide. Fatal traffic accident. No prior record. Told me to go to trial. Did not object to pre-sentence hearing. Receive jail time and 3 years probation. Lost my license, job. kicked out of school. Life destroyed.

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend David Heyboer.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.